We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Deal in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Marignan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Marignan
Ranked #512 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
El Cerrito, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Deal in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

I have been staying at the Marignan since 1990 and always go there when I visit Paris. I love the location, the affordability, and most of all, the wonderful owners and staff who always go out of their way to make this my "home away from home". I have been recommending the Hotel Marignan to my family and friends for the past 21 years!

Room Tip: If climbing stairs is a challenge for you, request a room on one of the lower three floors. There i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    332
    87
    29
    26
See reviews for
268
151
99
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

My wife and I spent two nights at the Hotel Marignan and were very happy. The service was excellent. Breakfast was great. The room was very clean and we even had a small balcony. The only issue for some might be the stairs we had to climb. It was not a problem for us but it might be for older or physically challenged visitors. The owners go out of their way to make sure everything is great. They were helpfull with local suggestions and really seem to care about their guests.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ridermel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

We loved this place! Roland was so helpful- he even called and booked a rental car at a great price for us in another city. They had tons of info on a bulletin board about everything in Paris, a filling breakfast, great kitchen facilities, and where else can you get FREE laundry facilities? The whole staff was great and we got to interact with some really nice people there as we ate breakfast together or cooked meals. Everything was clean and the room's detailing added some nice, historic charm. Fantastic location, within minutes to all public transportation and some wonderful bistros. We asked for a room high up for the view and to avoid noise from the breakfast room. Roland is constantly thinking of how to improve this place, and we definitely hope to return at some point.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

This was the cheapest hotel I could find with such a great central location. The staff were friendly and helpful and I liked the hostel-like atmosphere - there was a laundry, kitchen, place to leave bags on check-out and breakfast was included. Be warned - there is no lift and there could be a few floors to climb. I would definitely consider staying again. They did have a problem with their room allocation on the second night but put us up in the more expensive Hotel Home Latin next door. Very good if you're looking for somewhere relatively cheap to lay your head in this location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jez C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Rochelle, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

If you are a first time visitor to Paris be aware that this hotel, although good value, has very small single rooms. If you want a view, make sure you request a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the street, away from the noise of the airconditioning vents, the very small stairwell and the early morning kitchen noise.
The hotel is centrally located, has a good breakfast included and accomodates English speaking travellers well. Definately a hotel for the unitiated to Paris.
The staff can vary and it seemed that, according to the manager, it was my problem that my room was noisy. He insisted it was soundproofed which was true, with the windows shut tight. Not well ventilated on a night of 30 degree heat in September.
Don't forget to ask for a room with a private bathroom if you need it, otherwise you get what they offer. It can be impossible, and double your booking price, to change.
A hotel that was a disappointment for a city that has so much to offer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatHen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here. It is located on the outskirts of the trendy Latin Quarter. We arrived earlier than check in and they were happy to offer us breakfast (free) and held our bags until the room was ready.

The breakfast is the same each morning: bread, coffee, tea, juice, etc. It is a European breakfast much more so than an American one. It is good though and will hold you over.

The room itself was spacious. There weren't any frills about the decor but it was comfortable. We had a shared bathroom that was across the hall. The room itself had a sink. This setup worked for us but I believe they also offer private baths if that's more your style.

The staff was very kind and helpful. They spoke to us in English without any resentment. Other amenities included a laundry facility on site, and free internet.

I'd stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrobichaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

This is a barebones kind of place, but we were given a friendly welcome, a clean room and a simple but filling breakfast. The room reminded us of a basic, college dorm room for 2 - but we were a family of 5! However, the bathroom was fairly large, the beds were comfy and this hotel worked well for our two-night stay and helped our family save money to spend on food and entertainment.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melinda997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#170 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#429 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Le Jardin de Cluny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Le Home Latin
Hotel Le Home Latin
#992 of 1,796 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#324 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#190 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marignan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marignan

Property: Hotel Marignan
Address: 13 rue du Sommerard | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#208 Business Hotel in Paris
#303 Family Hotel in Paris
#450 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Marignan 1*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in the center of Paris, Quartier Latin The Hotel Marignan is located in a small, quiet street of Paris, city center on the left bank in the famous "Quartier Latin" district. The hotel is close to Notre Dame de Paris, Sorbonne University, the Pantheon and Luxembourg Gardens (five minutes walking) and is an ideal accommodation for families and international guests visiting Paris. Free services We offer clean and comfortable accommodation for up to 5 people with competitive prices that include many free services: Free Wifi internet PC available for clients Free Continental breakfast Free washing machine & dryer Free use of kitchen equipped with microwave, stove and fridge A library of guide books and novels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Marignan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marignan Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing