We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sights ahoy”
Review of Hotel Andre Latin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Andre Latin
Ranked #1,146 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel was used purely to visit the sites, it didn't let us done at all as most sites were nearby and a short walk. The surrounding area was pleasant and safe as well. The rooms are slightly on the pokey small side but it is expected in downtown Paris where the the buildings are all over couple hundred years old. It was sufficient for a couple wanting to spend time out and about instead of inside. We didn't spend much time in the hotel, it was a place to sleep and it was nearby all the sites we wanted to see. Probably not worth it as we found better quality hotels nearby on the cheaper side of things and we could of used that money for a few more bottles of plonk.

Room Tip: This one is slightly on the pricey side and I would only recommend it for short says. Any room would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjgalliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 533 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

I arrived to the hotel at approx 00:30 in the morning.
I paid for 2 nights in advance $200 euros.
Local temperature: +- 40 degrees.

The room did not have a coffee maker neither cups to make us a worn cup of coffee or tea. I requested it to the from desk and they did not have cups to support room service. Next day we arrived at 7pm after a long sightseeing and the room wasn't clean nor the sheets changed. The empty - dirty glasses and bottles were at the room since the morning still...
A Few more considerations: no shower soap, the bath top dirty with hairs, no bags in garbage can, wifi internet continuously dropping off, and the front desk couldn't recommend a place to eat on the entire city.

There are better places in Paris for $100 euros a day. Please consider that before booking here.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A-tourister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The nicest thing I can say about this hotel is the bathrooms were clean. The rooms are the smallest I've seen since I stayed in a Formula 1 on the side of an autoroute.

We booked two rooms with two single beds, but arrived to find a double bed in each room, and no other rooms available in the hotel. They gave us free breakfast to compensate, and it was too late to find somewhere else. The rooms were too small to fit another single bed.

Also, why can't wi-fi be free? This hotel has that annoying registration process that drops the connection each time, so you're always logging in. Backward!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just returned from 1night stay with my partner! Very good location and would highly recommend for sight seeing, main metro within 5 min walk!
Rooms small but clean, perfect what needed for overnight stay, but no mini bar or tea coffee facilities in the room,

Best points: location, cleanliness and the receptionist (Caroline)
Bad point: hotel provides wifi but has the worst set up ever, you need to ask for login details at reception and it times out every 2hrs!! Very frustrating

Would def recommend to family and friends

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarahtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Just up the street from the Luxembourg Gardens, and the action of Boulevard Saint Michel, St. Germaine, and the Latin Quarter. French windows overlooking the street. Small, basic room was fine for the $200 USD we paid. The back spiral staircase was a treat, we walked down from the 3rd floor every time. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Hello, my Girl friend (31) and I (29) stayed here for 3 nights before Christmas 2011. We had an incredible time; Paris really is a magical city. However ill try and focus on the hotel and not ramble on about this great city.
I 've read some of the other reviews and can agree that yes, the hotel rooms are very small, there is not really much room to move about with a big double bed and wardrobe, I think anymore than 2 would be a tight squeeze. The rooms however are clean and fresh and the bathroom has a bath and is modern enough. I enjoyed hanging out the window over the railing and watching the hustle of the early morning city life with my cup of tea.
My personal experience of the staff was that they were very helpful, I chatted away to them everyday about rugby, Scotland how to speak French etc. Maybe they were just in the Christmas spirit but then I ve always found the French to be very friendly and don’t think they deserve their bad name. I can’t comment in breakfast because we choose to eat out every morning or get something from the bakery across the road.
I would say that if you are just looking for somewhere to put your head at night after a hard days exploring then this is perfect. Cheap, clean and a superb location for sightseeing however if you looking for a luxurious hotel that you’ll be spending time in (who knows why?) then maybe not.
On another note, I must say that the build up to Christmas in Paris was brilliant, lots of stalls and fairs. I would recommend it - but it is absolutely freezing and that’s coming from a Glaswegian!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kendo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

First time to Paris and found this wonderful hotel via Trip Advisor. The area was excellent and accessible to many things. The staff was very helpful and our room was always services perfectly. Close walk to Luxembourg Gardens (our new happy place!) and shirt walk to Metro. Our stay here made our Paris experience perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Gay-Lussac
Hotel Gay-Lussac
#1,374 of 1,804 in Paris
134 reviews
Hotel des Mines
#928 of 1,804 in Paris
459 reviews
Quartier Latin
Qualys Hotel Apolonia Mouffetard Paris 5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel de France Quartier Latin
Hotel de France Quartier Latin
#1,246 of 1,804 in Paris
249 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
#241 of 1,804 in Paris
343 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
#665 of 1,804 in Paris
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andre Latin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andre Latin

Address: 50 rue Gay Lussac | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,146 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $95 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Andre Latin 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel André Latin*** (HAL for short) takes advantage of its location in the famous "Latin Quarter" in the 5th district of Paris. We are located near the Luxembourg Garden, the Pantheon, and missed streets like the Boulevard St Michel and rue Mouffetard. A beautiful stone building dating back to the 19th century hides 69 rooms with contemporary décor and neat. Every day, daily newspapers are available at the reception. The living room is spacious, the wifi is free and available in all rooms. The left-luggage office is also available 24h/24 to facilitate your start or end of stay. Our staff is available 24h/24 and eager to unveil their expert advice about our capital. Suggest a restaurant, book a taxi, advise an unusual visit or any other things to your liking ... Do not hesitate to contact us by phone or by mail for further information. Welcome to the HAL Paris! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Andre Latin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Paris
Comfort Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing