We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
Ranked #1,202 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Great value hostel. Close to the metro, and located within the Montmarte district- great location for restaurants. The room was clean, towels were provided and cleaned daily. Shower and basin in room, toilet down the hall way. The free breakfast was wonderful- cereals, bread rolls, croissants, toasts, jams, tea, coffee and juice all provided. One of our favourite accommodations. Drawbacks were the wifi was only available in common areas, and there was no lift, which was fine for us however, being on the ground floor.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 386 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed In a private room with shower and basin, and found the room was a decent size and kept clean. The hostel is in a beautiful area of Paris and with a station only a 5 minute walk away you are able to get anywhere in Paris.

The fact there is no lift was a pain, as we had to lug our huge suitcases up and down two flights of stairs. The shared toilets did not seem to be cleaned each day and were something we avoided using. The wifi is also only available in the reception area, which is a nightmare when your room is two floors down and you have to climb the stairs every time you want to use wifi. It would also have been good if they had channels on the tv in languages other then French!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sp1773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I stayed there for 3 nights, and it was absolutely perfect! First of all hostel is really beautiful and has a touch of a real Monmartr Parisien style, really adorable. I was in 6 people female dorm, and we had our own tiny coridor, room, bathroom and shower, so no noises from outside of our 6dorm could disturb us. The breakfast was quite nice, and lasted till 10 am on weekend, which is cool. Internet is availible in lounge only but I don't think it is a problem. Guy on the reception was a bit strange but very nice at the end. So I could find may be some minorites but so far it is one of best hostels I ever stayed in!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank two_on_the_wing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Me and my son stayed here for 4 nights and it was perfect for us. It was a few minutes walk from the metro station which made getting around very easy. We booked a 2 person room with private bathroom, this included two single beds, a small table with two chairs, a shower and a sink unfortunately there was no toilet in the room. The breakfast which was included was very basic, however it was enough to keep us going till way past midday. To conclude I would recommend this hostel for any one looking for a low cost, clean and easily accessible place to stay in Paris.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chanta0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights after a stay in Prague. The staff at reception let us keep a bag here, as we were in Paris and then to Prague and then back to Paris! So that was handy to not have to lug it around. Check in was easy. Rooms were tiny, we had two big backpacks (6 month trip) and we had to stack them ontop of one another to fit. This also meant that we couldn't open our door properly! Shower that is in room was good, good hot water but water goes everywhere in room. Beds were ok. A little creaky but comfy enough for a 2 night stay. Shared toilet on the floor was always clean, breakfast which was was a croissant. So my partner would always buy something from the patisserie on the corner also.

Easy to find and good location to metro. Beautiful area, which was safe and easy to stroll along at night.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happydays080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This hostel is a truly great deal! Pretty basic, still clean and comfortable.

We were staying in a private room, which was pretty small - but just enough for us to not feel squeezed, with clean bathroom and shower with plenty of hot water. They did not promise we'd have wi-fi anywhere beyond the common areas, but the signal was strong enough for us to get Internet not leaving the room. The view from the window was pretty cool, and the curtains were dark and thick enough to not let the sun wake you up too early in the morning.

3 minutes walking from the nearest metro station. maybe 8 minutes to line 2. indeed like 10 minutes to Sacre Coeur.

I would recommend this hostel to any travellers on a budget.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank ZhuGurragchaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Both my wife and myself stayed here for a couple of nights when we came to watch the final stage of the Tour De France 2013. Perfectly located for easy access to all areas of Paris via the tube (inexpensive) and easy to navigate to from CDG Airport (40 mins).

Really helpful English speaking reception staff, who couldn't do enough to help us.Cant remember our room number but the room was spacious with a clean and fully working shower and basin (toilet was a shared one out in the corridor).

No A/C in the rooms but this wasn't a problem as the is a great old Parisian window to open and look out of over the roof tops of Paris (not suitable for young kids as there is no guard to stop them leaning out and its a long way down).Table, chair, TV and comfy bed all made for a pleasant stay. Breakfast was more than adequate with helpful waitress's, and a nice continental breakfast (great coffee). For a hostel I was very impressed, and would highly recommend it if your on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Thebates22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Plug-Inn Hostel
Plug-Inn Hostel
#1,027 of 1,802 in Paris
459 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#788 of 1,802 in Paris
139 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Perfect Hotel & Hostel
Perfect Hotel & Hostel
#934 of 1,802 in Paris
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Hotel De France
Hotel De France
#1,537 of 1,802 in Paris
77 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#1,559 of 1,802 in Paris
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caulaincourt Square Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caulaincourt Square Hostel

Address: 2 Square Caulaincourt | 18 Arr., 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $33 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Caulaincourt Square Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caulaincourt Square Hotel Paris
Caulaincourt Square Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing