We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geat little Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Clairefontaine
Ranked #1,316 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of spending 3 nights at the Clairefontaine. This is a small hotel, an easy walk to the Montparnasse stations, and close to a couple of good bus routes. I had a single room with a window opening onto the street. The room was small but still bigger than I expected.
Decor is modern and attractive, bed and pillow very comfortable . Internet is available and quick.
The breakfast room is neat with a serviceable breakfast, Nescafe pod machine delivers a good coffee. As others have mentioned there is a good bakery on the corner of the street, where a coffee and a couple of pastries could be had for less than 5 euros. Staff were more than helpful and reception is manned 24 hours a day. All in all great value for money accommodation in a nice neighbourhood and close to transport. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tez28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Clairefontaine
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 197 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was a nice spot in a fairly quiet neighborhood. Very convenient to Denfert metro station. The hotel breakfast was overpriced, there is a bakery on the corner and several fruit grocers down the street on Rue Deguerres. One plus is that the hotel is next door to a police station. Recently remodeled, nice motif. No air conditioning orphones in rooms, and small bathroom, but was fine for us as we spent most of our time out visiting museums and the sights. Wireless Internet was free and had great, speedy connectivity.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This budget hotel is a good value for the money. We stayed twice there during our 3 weeks vacation in France. Conveniently located in the 14th arrondissment, in a quiet location across the street from the Montparnasse cemetery ( a relaxing place to walk through and get away from the thrill of the big city). It is also about 10-15 minutes walk from the metro stations Denfert-Rochereau or Raspail. Another 15 minutes walk is to the Gare de Monparnasse (train station) and bus station. We rented a car and I specifically searched for a car rental location close to the hotel, not too far from the train station (another 3-4 minutes walk), there was a Budget and Avis, this proved to be very convenient for pick up and drop off the car. We were 4 people with luggage and after trying for an hour to get a taxi from hotel to car rental location, we rolled our suitcases for about 15 minutes walk and we did the same at drop off, without too much hassle. Hotel looks recently renovated, rooms are clean, spacious enough, well equipped bathrooms, clean sheets, flat screen tv. Staff is friendly and helpful with the exception of one guy named Benjamin, probably the hotel administrator who is too cocky and full of himself. We arrived at the hotel around 10:00 am after a 8 hours flight and when we got to our rooms that were facing the interior courtyard, there were some renovations going on for the adjacent building and a lot of noise from a guy that was using a jackhammer. We wanted to relax for couple of hours before we took on the city so I asked Benjamin how long is the construction noise is going to last so I can plan my day around it. He was rude saying that we should get out and visit the city and not spend time in the hotel. I set him to his place and I thought this is the wrong type of attitude for his position as a provider of services. The girls at the reception desk are making some effort to speak some word of English, not Benjamin though, who, at one point when we needed to sort an issue and I switched to English to make myself better understood, he insisted that I continue to speak to him in French. We had buffet breakfast one morning at the hotel for the cost of 10 Euro per person, there is plenty of food like break, croissants, yoghurt, cream cheese, jam, coffee, tea but in my opinion you can get a decent breakfast at couple of bakeries on the street nearby (not the one with the cemetery but the one on the left as you step out of the hotel), a croissant is 89 cents, a big size apple turnover is 1.30 Euro and a café crème is 2.50 Euro. Your choice. Access to your rooms is using the stairs (for first and second floor), no elevator but the stairs are wide enough to move freely with your luggage. There is a good restaurant nearby on the Rue Froidevaux ,the one with the cemetery wall, turn right when you exit the hotel and another right on Froidevaux, about 5 minutes walk to Chez Papa. We ate there twice only to find out that was one of the restaurants recommended by a reputable travel site. I recommend the charcuterie (cold cuts and pate platter) as start-up, the red house wine seemed to be very good but then again, you’re in France ! We walked one day to Eiffel Tower and it was a pleasant interesting walk. Another interesting thing to do if you’re staying at this hotel is to visit the antiques, art and collectibles market close to the entrance of Raspail metro station. The access is through the street running through the cemetery in front of the Chez Papa restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Motznr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I booked 3 nights at this hotel and I can say its a reasonably priced hotel. The hotel is located near Boulevard Montparnasse and Montparnasse cemetery. Its easily accesible by RER from both airports because the Denfert-Rocherau RER/Metro station is 5-8 min walking from there, lovely neighborhood. The room was renovated, clean, modern and well designed.Breakfast is not included, you can have breakfast at the recepction for 10 euros or you can go to Montparnasse area, there are so many cafes and restaurants. My negative points are: there was not A/C so It was hot as hell. Since there was not A/C I opened the windows to get some air fresh and I could hear everything. The reception staff was Ok, but it was not enough even we speak french very well. As I read in of the reviews they are worried about their TV shows. For the price that I paid It was not too bad it all.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denverlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3nights in one of their triple Rooms (211).

Good things about the hotel : The reception staff were friendly (however didn't speak much English - but we expected that) it was Clean/tidy, Modern (although a few finishing touches were needed)!!! The Beds were really comfy esp after a long day exploring Paris.

The Hotel's location was perfect (Even if we did struggle to find it at first) as its just far enough away not to here the noise of everyday hustle and bustle. Plus only an hours walk away from the Eiffel Tower, also we recommend you visit the Tour Montparnasse (which is just round the corner from the hotel) as you get spectacular views of Paris.

Downfalls the rooms could have done with TEA/coffee Facilities + a Hairdryer.

Overall the Hotel exceeded our expectations!!!

P.s. when showering close the shower door before turning it on!! ;)

Room Tip: If going with Friends Room 211 was perfect for 3 people (Double and single bed) Also you walk right...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KimmyHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This hotel is young at heart. A enterprising young family has refurbished part of an apartment building into a hotel, which gives the rooms more space than your typical Paris rooms. Our triple was ample, modern looking, and the bathrooms were completely renovated. However, this hotel still needs to work out the kinks, finish details in the construction work and fine tune hospitality details.
Pos: large room, great shower, close to metro, near Mt. parnassus tower, near restaurants and bakeries.
Cons: no parking, only street or parking structure(15 min away, 30 euro) no elevator, furniture IKIA like, credit card problems, breakfast is very simple (no cheese, meat, nutella or eggs), construction (finishing details)
I would return, since finding a good size room for a family with small children is difficult.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Winepilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank partouchek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Tipi Hotel
Tipi Hotel
#1,582 of 1,804 in Paris
188 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Agenor
Hotel Agenor
#1,373 of 1,804 in Paris
121 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel du Maine
Hotel du Maine
#1,353 of 1,804 in Paris
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Sophie Germain
Hotel Sophie Germain
#522 of 1,804 in Paris
139 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Montparnasse Daguerre
Hotel Montparnasse Daguerre
#852 of 1,804 in Paris
277 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel du Lion
Hotel du Lion
#662 of 1,804 in Paris
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clairefontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clairefontaine

Address: 11 rue Fermat, 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,316 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $96 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Clairefontaine 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Montparnasse and Denfert Rochereau, the 3-star Hotel Clairefontaine stands proudly in the heart of the historic and cultural city of Paris near Montparnasse station. The hotel, which has recently been refurbished in a contemporary decor, offers a warm and personal service. A contemporary, cosy ambiance Whether you are staying in Paris for business or pleasure, book your single, double or triple room overlooking the street or the courtyard. Each of our 23 rooms offer the ultimate in comfort, a Wifi access and a flatscreen TV for a fantastic break in this capital city where peace and harmony go hand in hand. The hotel, situated in a quiet street, reflects all the charm of this Parisian district combining a modern and family ambiance. Montparnasse, the ideal base for exploring Paris Ideally located on the left bank in the 14th arrondissement, the Hotel Clairefontaine is the perfect base for discovering the capital's main attractions. You can start by visiting Montparnasse, a cultural and intellectual district popular for its theatres, cabarets and show rooms. Then you can visit Paris' famous monuments : : les Invalides, Montmartre, les Quais de Seine, le Louvre, les Champs Elysées, Notre Dame...easily accessible by bus and on the underground from the hotel. Are you looking for specific information about a museum, a show, a restaurant or bar? Our hotel staff are at hand to answer your questions and to advise you during your visit to Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Clairefontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing