We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TASTE OF HEAVEN IN MY MOUTH”
Review of Big Fernand

Big Fernand
Ranked #876 of 17,290 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $12 - $24
Cuisines: American, French, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Big Fernand is a french burger joint in Paris
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“TASTE OF HEAVEN IN MY MOUTH”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Well, I somehow got EXTREMELY lucky and stumbled upon this place! I went to the one on monterguil. The place was lined up outside the door so I knew I was in for a real treat! The people there are SUPER friendly and so are the owners. I got le bartholome and it was amazing!!! The guy outside said he loved the veal and blue cheese burger but I'm more into beef :). This burger was SO amazing it was with every penny and I went back for lunch two days later! I HIGHLY recommend this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bthiessen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    461
    197
    94
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boonton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

If you have had burgers in the US you cannot rate this place any better than average. Sorry.

Americans should better spend their money on local French cuisine since you can eat much better burgers at home.

Helpful?
1 Thank picky_traveler_nj
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lindon, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious burgers in Paris? You betchya!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Big Fernand is a five minute walk away from the Bonne Nouvelle metro stop. There was a line out of the door, but it moved quickly for small groups. Unfortunately, because we were a group of five, we had to wait about 20 minutes before we could order. The waiters are very friendly and spoke a little English. The food is ready almost immediately after you order it. It's really hot inside the restaurant, so it was good that we went on a cold night. The atmosphere is wonderful! Loud with crazy 80's music playing in the background - sometimes you sing along or clap along to the music, it's very fun. I ordered the Bartholome meal - 15euro for a bacon cheeseburger w/ bbq sauce, fries, and drink. It was cooked medium. Best burger I ever had? No. But it was still pretty good. The bbq sauce was vinegar based and had a nice zing to it. I wish there was more sauce because by the time you got to the middle of the burger, there was no seasoning or flavor. Their ketchup is pretty good as well, so I added that to the burger. The french fries were very delicious! Overall, if you're craving a burger while in Paris, I would definitely recommend this place. Money well spent, and anything this good under 20 euro in Paris is a steal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank veektorreeyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice burgers!!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

A trendy place, with happy helpfull people. Nice burgers with options, great fries!! It is a nice option for an american meal in Paris!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim8B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“worth the metro ride”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Well, actually, we walked the half hour it took from the Orsay, and it was still worthwhile, but it is only 2 blocks from the metro Poissonniere. Pretty darn good hamburger, and great fries, cooked to perfection, not tasting greasy in the least, reasonably priced, delivered with a verve and efficiency that is sure to bring a smile to your face. Very popular with locals, there is limited seating, but worth waiting as people get in and out quickly. Dinner starts at 7:30. Really a fun time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lilyvalley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Fernand also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Big Fernand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing