We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very mixed reaction to what could be a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt
Ranked #306 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed 8 nights at the Franklin D. Roosevelt hotel. It is in an excellent location, the rooms are small but nice. The WiFi is included and worked great. The daytime staff was very helpful, especially the younger lady at the front desk, but the staff later at night was horrible. One night my wife was running hot water in the sink and discovered it would not shut off. I tried and I could not shut it off, so I tried to shut off the valve to the sink and found that it would not work either. We called the front desk and explained the problem but the man on duty refused to even come and look at it; so we were left with hot water running all night, steaming up the bathroom. We also called one night to have some suitcases taken down and the man on duty refused to come. On other occasions we called the front desk at night and no one answered; I later discovered the man on duty would stand outside in front of the hotel smoking cigarettes. Another problem was with the breakfasts at $33 per person. Both the American style coffee and the espresso were terrible, and the croissants were tasteless and looked like someone sat on them. As a result we bought croissants at bakeries and I would go across the street for coffee, while still paying $33 per day for breakfasts I did not want.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 510 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

Solid location for visitors with convenient access to desired tour sites. Appreciate friendly high level of service provided by staff. Inadvertently left safe open one day, but returned to a clean room with everything intact. This experience speaks highly of the quality of the hotel and its staff. Will not hesitate to return should opportunity present itself.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent two nights in the Roosevelt suite as an upgrade as members of an Odysseys unlimited tour group. All were pleased with their room and we were delighted as we could see the Eiffel Tower and enjoyed the extra room to spread out. Breakfast was excellent and front desk most helpful. Great location!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel was a wonderful find. Air conditioned, clean, well situated, and with perhaps the best staff of any hotel in which I've stayed.

The room is not large, but it is adequately sized - two people can inhabit it without bumping into each other. There is adequate storage space, and a safe. One doesn't go to Paris to watch television, but it would have been nice if one the six English-language channels offered had been entertainment oriented. All six were news-only (CNN International, BBC, etc.).

The staff quickly and politely grasped that my French is non-existant to poor, and effortlessly switched to English to accommodate my wife and me. Every interaction we had with the front desk, breakfast, and housekeeping staff was of the highest order.

The hotel is an easy walk to the Arc d-Triomph, the Eiffel Tower, and the Champs Elysees, and several Metro stops.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel with enthusiasm.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Excellent location, good standard of accommodation, friendly and helpful staff. There were plenty of good restaurants to chose from in the neighbourhood and the location added to the hotel's appeal.

However, I disapprove completely of Trip Advisor's unjustified requirement that as a customer I should be required to write 200 characters. I like the hotel but I hate Trip Advisor's arrogance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Perfect location with many great restaurants in short walking distance, close metro stops, right off the Champs-Elysees with great shopping and restaurants. The room was very spacious for Parisian standards., With a large bathroom and two comfortable twin beds, the rooms are actually a hidden gems among the other blooming hotels. Free Wi-fi are available throughout the hotel. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babyprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Me and my wife stayed in this hotel for 5 days in September 2013. Overall it was a more than just a good stay. Regarding the Hotel by itslef, staff were helpful and friendly, the room was comfy and not too small (considering Paris), the bathroom was clean and well equipped, the breakfast was cozy with a good variety, and the overall decoration of the hotel is authentic and comfortable.
As for the location of the hotel, it is more than excellent; it is not situated on the 'Avenue des Champs Elysées' directly, but a few blocks away (5 minutes walk) which makes it less crowdy and more relaxing, taking into consideration also that the walk towards the Champs Elysées is stuffed with great shopping boutiques and various cafés and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a street view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daff77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Claridge
Hotel Claridge
#675 of 1,804 in Paris
289 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Chateau Frontenac
Hotel Chateau Frontenac
#165 of 1,804 in Paris
718 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
#272 of 1,804 in Paris
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Francois 1er
Hotel Francois 1er
#284 of 1,804 in Paris
607 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Rochester Champs-Elysees Hotel
Champs-Elysees
West-End Hotel
West-End Hotel
#47 of 1,804 in Paris
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt

Address: 18 rue Clement Marot, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#158 Business Hotel in Paris
#207 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#209 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $192 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located between Avenue des Champs Elysées and Avenue Montaigne, at the crossroad of business and fashion worlds, the Hotel Franklin Roosevelt, is happy to welcome you in a setting combining luxury, charm and tradition.Welcome to the hotel:The hotel Franklin Roosevelt, 48 rooms and suites, in the heart of the Golden Triangle, will charm you by its warm setting and refined atmosphere.This free-stone building dating back from the end of the 19th century, benefits from a unique location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Franklin d Roosevelt
Franklin d Roosevelt Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing