We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second and last stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt
Ranked #332 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My second stay here, Last time I rated it more favourable but this time the same issues as previous arise with some worse. Foremost, the staff (same as last year) are not pleasant at all. You are not made to feel welcome nor appreciated. This time I was given a room overlooking a small courtyard with no view. The bathrooms while in marble appears grimy. The room air conditioning is turned off during the winter (I was there in November) and it was far too hot (you cannot turn in on as it is centrally turned off). Breakfast was a staggering 25 Euros per person extra (50 euros for two people?). The hotel charged me 3 Euros for callling me a taxi - modern day robbery. My last stay at this hotel. There are far better hotels in Paris for the same price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRONTENACParis, Directeur général at Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thank for your review and we are deeply sorry that your second stay at the Hotel Franklin Roosevelt didn't went up to your expectancy.
For ecological purposes, our air-conditioning is shut off from October 15 to April 15.
For the heating, you can adjust the temperature in your room.
Concerning the taxi fees, we do never charge any, it can happen that during the peak period, for reserved ones that a charge of 5€ may be done.
For the 3€ charges, it may more correspond to the city taxes, at 1.50€ per person per day.
Once again, we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Hotel.

Merry Christmas and all the best of 2013!

Kind Regards,

Mr THOMAS
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 508 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

Old style hotel well located for the "Golden Triangle" and Paris in general. Well located close for metro and bus. Reception staff welcoming enthusiastic and informative. Hotel spotless and well maintained. Bedroom large and comfortable. Good breakfast served until early afternoon. Bedroom overlooked the street and views and noises quintessentially Parisian. Typicall evening noises included diners at the nearby and plentiful restaurants followed by the rubbish truck picking up garbage/bottles followed by the road sweeper followed by "squirty man" spraying water on the roads and pavements. I loved it! but it interfered with our sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuckingtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We popped over to Paris for 3 nights following our Wedding at the end of Augudt this year. We were originally booked into the Sofitel only to find out that our booking had been "bumped" due to refurbishment....so we ended up booking to stay at the Frankin D Roosevelt and upgrading to a suite.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Reception and shown to our suite - "Elanore" - What a wonderful room. Spacious, comfortable and a nice view of the Eiffel Tower. This hotel had a great "feel" to it and you KNEW that you were in Paris. The staff were all friendly and spoke good English too. Nothing was too much trouble.

The breakfast that was included was very good, with Continental breakfast as well as the eggs and bacon etc also available.

We mainly chose this hotel due to its location - it had a good choice of restaurants in the vacinity and was only a few minutes walk from the famous Champs Elysee. Overall a great location.

One word of warning - THE MINIBAR was expensive ( to be expected ) but so was the hotel bar. By the last day we had started to buy water from the supermarket ( 2 mins away ) where you could buy 4-5 litres for the same price a one small bottle.

Overall I would recommend this hotel for its friendly staff, fantastic rooms, and wonderful location. If I was to return to Paris, I would look no further.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite - worth every penny !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adie106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Our second visit to this hotel this time only for a two night sightseeing stay. The room is well appointed and spotlessly clean and all the plumbing works perfectly. There is a lift/elevator which is helpful on arrival if you are on the 4th floor or above. The porter/concierge and reception staff could not be more helpful and whilst all spoke good English they tolerated with good humour my schoolboy French. They do not have a restaurant, other than for breakfast, but this is really not a problem with so many fantastic places to eat just footsteps away. They have a well appointed bar and a discerningly traditionally decorated and furnished comfortable lounge area. Complimentary newspapers are available all day.

The breakfast buffet is surprisingly varied and is refreshingly available from 0700-1200 hours. It is attended by attentive staff who constantly replenish all the buffet items. Fruit, cold meats and fish, cheeses, yogurts, fresh fruit, tinned fruit, prunes, cereals. Hot sausage, bacon, eggs and potatoes, breads, pastries, confiture, coffee, tea, water, juices and........

The location is ideal for sightseeing. Just 7 minutes stroll to the Arc de Triomphe in one direction and five minutes to the Seinne in the other. As you stroll along the Rue Marbeuf or Ave George Cinq you pass restaurant after restaurant offering luring menus at reasonable prices from all corners of the world. The hop on hop off bus stop is just a five minute walk away.

Just one bad note, nothing to do with the hotel, was the taxi driver at the Gare du Nord who charged me €40 for the trip to the hotel when the return journey by taxi ordered from the hotel was just €14. This is a good comfortable hotel and on future visits I plan to always stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GloriousGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed three nights starting August 21. Wonderful location just 5 minutes to the Champs Elysee or the Seine. Front desk team very helpful and accommodating. Rooms clean and well maintained, had a junior suite that was very comfortable. Chez Andre, across the street a great place for dinner. Also, take a right out of the front door and right at the corner - half way down the block on the left is a very good place for an inexpensive breakfast - I think it was called Preta Manger. Fresh coffee, pastries, etc.

Room Tip: Junior suite very comfortable. Had a king bed and nice sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, great location for restaurants and the sights, helpful snd friendly staff. Very highly recommended. We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed it thoroughly. We had a junior suite, decor was a little dated but the room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omerhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed here in June 2012 for one night. Front desk service a little too serious and grumpy. Rooms were nice enough, clean and comfortable however, the noise levels at night are atrocious. Noise from above and below from other guests and at all angles from plumbing. Flushing toilets all around and banging and very loud rumbles from pipes. Think of the worst noise and volume you can hear from plumbing and times this by 100 and you might be nearly there. I think I got about one hour's sleep that night. Rooms are stuck together and too many crammed into corners of the property. The buiding is old so I don't think they can fix this layout problem. I wouldn't stay here again. The most important thing for a hotel to provide is a peaceful night's sleep and a clean room/bathroom. Lets face it, thats all we want a hotel for, right? Location was good, very central, but it's not worth sacrificing sleep over. Look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Room tip would be to find a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinksqb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Claridge
Hotel Claridge
#682 of 1,804 in Paris
287 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Chateau Frontenac
Hotel Chateau Frontenac
#166 of 1,804 in Paris
718 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
#267 of 1,804 in Paris
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Francois 1er
Hotel Francois 1er
#303 of 1,804 in Paris
606 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Rochester Champs-Elysees Hotel
Champs-Elysees
West-End Hotel
West-End Hotel
#44 of 1,804 in Paris
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt

Address: 18 rue Clement Marot, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#158 Business Hotel in Paris
#170 Family Hotel in Paris
#209 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#219 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $191 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located between Avenue des Champs Elysées and Avenue Montaigne, at the crossroad of business and fashion worlds, the Hotel Franklin Roosevelt, is happy to welcome you in a setting combining luxury, charm and tradition.Welcome to the hotel:The hotel Franklin Roosevelt, 48 rooms and suites, in the heart of the Golden Triangle, will charm you by its warm setting and refined atmosphere.This free-stone building dating back from the end of the 19th century, benefits from a unique location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Franklin d Roosevelt
Franklin d Roosevelt Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing