We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, too noisy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt
Ranked #490 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent location, too noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed here in June 2012 for one night. Front desk service a little too serious and grumpy. Rooms were nice enough, clean and comfortable however, the noise levels at night are atrocious. Noise from above and below from other guests and at all angles from plumbing. Flushing toilets all around and banging and very loud rumbles from pipes. Think of the worst noise and volume you can hear from plumbing and times this by 100 and you might be nearly there. I think I got about one hour's sleep that night. Rooms are stuck together and too many crammed into corners of the property. The buiding is old so I don't think they can fix this layout problem. I wouldn't stay here again. The most important thing for a hotel to provide is a peaceful night's sleep and a clean room/bathroom. Lets face it, thats all we want a hotel for, right? Location was good, very central, but it's not worth sacrificing sleep over. Look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Room tip would be to find a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinksqb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    164
    19
    9
    9
See reviews for
102
165
16
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nabb, IN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

This was my our first trip to Paris and we loved the hotel, rooms were quiet, staff was very courteous and helpful. The location was great and near a metro stop, and all the main attractions. We will definitely stay again when we return to Paris.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We (myself, husband, son 20yrs, daughter 17yrs) stayed for four nights over New Year 2011-12. It is beautifully furnished in a traditional way and fabulously located in the "golden triangle" with exclusive boutiques, hotels and of course, the Champs Elysees a five minute walk away.
Concierge and staff very pleasant. Breakfast great with plenty of options. Beds OK but not particularly comfortable. One downside is the lack of additional food services- no restaurant or room service. It probably doesn't bother most guests as there are restaurants all around but I became unwell and couldn't leave my room and was unable to even get a sandwich or bowl of hot soup in the hotel. For the fitness-minded, or those wanting to rid themselves of the croissant calories(!) the hotel has reciprocal rights to the small but good gym in its sister hotel 10 mins walk away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front, rather than the back, interior of the hotel. The front rooms look o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AD2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Hotel Franklin Roosevelt is five star. The rooms are beautiful as is the foyer. The service is excellent. The location is amazing. The bathroom in the triple room is HUGE, with lots of storage space. We went with our children and had an amazing time.

Room Tip: The triple room was fantastaic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

I love staying at the FDR in Paris, it is in great location and the standards are great with a huge breakfast. But most of all the service is friendly and you instantly feel at ease when you turn up. Thankyou for making my visits to Paris even better.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chanel0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We booked this hotel as we were in town for Roland Garros this week. The funny thing was that this was booked incorrectly as the franklin roosevelt we stayed in before didn't pop up on expedia and we made the assumsition this was the same!!! Lol!

Anyway after are initial shock we settled down into our room, rooms are good sized, bathroom good, can't really complain about anything here.

The only two thing I would like to bring up are the rooms / hotel are old, we could hear word for word what people were saying next door, showers, tolites in the middle of the night ( you catch my drift ).

Second thing was, this is very funny, I was presented with not a key card for our room but a hug key phorb! What a joke, my partner did not feel safe in this room as we had no interior locking system!

Overall stay elese were for this money, location perfect, hotel not so much in this case!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ak_traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRONTENACParis, Directeur général at Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are feel sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at the Hotel Franklin Roosevelt.
The Hotel and the rooms are frequently renovated.
By using a key and not a key card, the locking system is automatic and we do assure that it is 100% safe. The system used with the key card is different and that why there is a security system in the interior of the room.

Staying at your disposal

Kind Regards,

Mr THOMAS
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

I stayed here just for one night but it was quite comfortable. Sleep quality was excellent, the bathroom was nicely fitted out, the breakfast was served in a beautiful little sky-lit parlour.

I was a little concerned at night whether my door locked, because it didn't have any indication either way, but I just put a chair against it and slept peacefully.

The reception staff went out of their way to help me with my web check-in for my flight. I had to use their tiny cubicle for accessing the internet and had more than a little trouble with the placement of the letters on the French keyboard, but in the end, I got the requisite printout from the reception itself!

I was also impressed that one gentleman at the reception remembered each guest's room number perfectly, even after we had been there only a few hours.

Comfort, good service and proximity to the Champs Elysees make this a hotel to rely on.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a balcony facing the street. Mine faced an inner courtyard so I didn't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PriyaPathiyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Chateau Frontenac
Hotel Chateau Frontenac
#260 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Claridge
Hotel Claridge
#557 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
#179 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
West-End Hotel
West-End Hotel
#65 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Melia Royal Alma
Melia Royal Alma
#358 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Francois 1er
Hotel Francois 1er
#140 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt

Property: Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt
Address: 18 Rue Clement Marot, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#159 Business Hotel in Paris
#171 Family Hotel in Paris
#211 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#277 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located between Avenue des Champs Elysées and Avenue Montaigne, at the crossroad of business and fashion worlds, the Hotel Franklin Roosevelt, is happy to welcome you in a setting combining luxury, charm and tradition.Welcome to the hotel:The hotel Franklin Roosevelt, 48 rooms and suites, in the heart of the Golden Triangle, will charm you by its warm setting and refined atmosphere.This free-stone building dating back from the end of the 19th century, benefits from a unique location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Franklin d Roosevelt
Franklin d Roosevelt Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing