We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel found through Groupon, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt
Ranked #406 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel found through Groupon, great location”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We got the Groupon deal for Two Night Paris Break For Two Including Bottle Of Chablis and River Cruise Tickets for £339 - which was very good value. I believe that the normal value of this would have been £733.
We had a slight hiccup on arrival as the receptionist informed us that we had booked incorrectly. I had booked through the website, as advised when I called the hotel. She did acknowledge that this was their fault rather than ours, but made us feel a little sheepish nonetheless. She eventually found us an available room and said that it wasn't ready but they would call us when it was - which she never did.
Apart from this, our stay was very pleasant and I have no further complaints other than the poor hairdryer and slightly small double bed.
The location is fantastic, the rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful, and our room had lovely Juliette balcony windows opening over a pretty street. The area it is in is also really smart, and there are some good local restaurants and bars.
I would go back here and would also recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Youngtravellincouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    177
    24
    10
    9
See reviews for
122
174
17
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The hotel is overpriced for what it is, but the location is excellent. It is off the Champs-Elysee in a quite and safe side-road, making walking easy. The hotel is elaborately decorated and clean with good service. Politeness of the front-desk is so-so, not rude but not very friendly either. Breakfast was excellent though (food in Paris is generally excellent).

Yes, stay here if you can afford it, as overall it is a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

You can't beat the location for proximity to all the sites. Wonderful, attentive staff, updated lobby and rooms since first visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemoonbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed in this Hotel from 7/23-7/26 2011 with my wife and two teen-aged sons. We booked 1-double room and 1-twin room. The rooms were very large by european/Parisian standards. Our double room faced the street and had a small balcony that was large enough to sit and enjoy a glass of wine after a great day of sightseeing. The room had a the equivalent of a queen sized bed, and a large bathroom with a full tub/shower enclosure. The room was very nicely appointed, the furnishings were in excellent condition.

Satellite TV was provided and many english speaking sports and news channels were offered. Free WiFi is also provided. The Hotel offers a hot "American" breakfast, and a very nice variety of pastries, fruit, cereals and cheeses. The breakfast can be booked in conjunction with your room for a modest charge (recommended), or you can add it on daily at the cost of 25Euro (a bit $$$ by US standards). There are several nice Cafes and Pastry shoppes within 1 block of the Hotel.

This was GREAT way to end a two week vacation to France for our family. I was able to book online directly through the Hotels website and with advance planning we were able to secure an excellent discounted rate.

Finally, the staff was very courteous and professional, always offering a warm welcome, and very thoughtful with their suggestions for dinner and tour itineraries for our family.

We will definitely be back, Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmac16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Hotel lovely, had a triple room (kingsize bed and long length sofa bed, both were very comfortable (rm 49) windows opened onto an internal area, no view but it was very quiet. There was air con and also heating to choose from in the room (it rained the whole week but was warm for walking around in), umbrellas were at the hotel lobby for all to borrow or you could buy one at the supermarket for 4 euros, this store was great for wine, crisps, toiletries, etc - reasonable prices for Paris. Breakfast was continental style, good and plenty of it. do take a french phrase book with you as english is spoken but mostly French. Metro was handy 12.50 euros for 10 tickets or 1.75 euro for one. Taxi from CDG airport was 55 euros to the hotel and same back with another company. Restaurants were quite hard to find, a good, inexpensive meal. D.alsace was on a corner of the Champs Elysee and did a fixed price menu, the food was quite good here but pricey for some I had the rib eye steak (35 euros) and the english menu was more expensive than the french one, ask for both for the translation but the french one for the price, but our best meal was at Bileboude on rue exposition (check on internet correct details) 33 euro for 3 courses, good quality but more nouvelle cuisine sized portions. (this was across bridge from grand palace towards eiffel tower and along 4 streets) but prebook closed on sundays. Icecream across bridge from notre dame is very good Berthillion (looks like normal icecream but had the hazlenut one it was creamy and delicious) La douree bakery on champs elysee is over rated, very posh tea room but just okay. Pauls bakery on Champs Elysee is double the price than the others around Paris and when ordering your sandwich check your phrase book so you know your order as only french was spoken here. (sometimes pointing isn.t good enough). Hotel was an oasis at the end of the day, clean, warm and fresh sheets every day. Well done to the staff here they do a great job and if I am every in Paris again I will be back here.. Free internet in room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

we had a superior room here and was very pleased with the size of the room given the horror stories we had read for other hotels. It was on the back of the hotel so very quiet. Good closet space and a big deep bath with a very efficient shower. The staff were pleasant and very helpful. The breakfast was excellent, with a good variety of fresh fruit and yoghurts as well as cereals, meats, and hot food. The location was great. Two metro stations within 10 minute walk, you are on the Seine within 10 minutes and a couple of minutes onto the Champs Elysees. You are surrounded by restaurants, which was useful given we had tired legs from lots of walking and very wet from all the rain. They are pricey so be prepared. But to explain the area you are in one one corner is a Truffle shop on the other is a cavier shop, next door to the hotel there is a Bordeaux specialist wine shop. There is a beautiful deli, and other good wine shops near by. Apart from the very English desire to have tea making facilities, this hotel suited us very well. It was very civialised with check out by 12pm and breakfast served to 12pm. Would happily return

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolo1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Spent New Year holiday in Paris at this lovely hotel in perfect location, across street from 5 star restaurant, 2 short blocks off Champs d'E...staff reserved, but polite; gorgeous chocolate truffles at front desk! Room dark (faced walls) but spent little time in room - it's Paris, after all! Bathroom very good, great closet space, very clean. Bar and lounge comfortable, cozy library, plush, great place to meet other world travellers. Internet access in cramped old phone booth downstairs. Bountiful breakfast in charming Morning Room, hand-painted garden scene murals. This was booked by my Londoner friend's English agent and I recommend it to my fellow American travellers. Planning to stay at FDR Hotel again this Autumn and make it our special little place in Paris.

Room Tip: Will ask for street view next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdlasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Claridge
Hotel Claridge
#657 of 1,801 in Paris
274 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Chateau Frontenac
Hotel Chateau Frontenac
#193 of 1,801 in Paris
674 reviews
Champs-Elysees
West-End Hotel
West-End Hotel
#42 of 1,801 in Paris
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Melia Paris Tour Eiffel
Melia Paris Tour Eiffel
#327 of 1,801 in Paris
652 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
#211 of 1,801 in Paris
639 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Powers Hotel
Powers Hotel
#590 of 1,801 in Paris
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt

Property: Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt
Address: 18 Rue Clement Marot, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#159 Business Hotel in Paris
#170 Family Hotel in Paris
#210 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#257 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located between Avenue des Champs Elysées and Avenue Montaigne, at the crossroad of business and fashion worlds, the Hotel Franklin Roosevelt, is happy to welcome you in a setting combining luxury, charm and tradition.Welcome to the hotel:The hotel Franklin Roosevelt, 48 rooms and suites, in the heart of the Golden Triangle, will charm you by its warm setting and refined atmosphere.This free-stone building dating back from the end of the 19th century, benefits from a unique location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Franklin d Roosevelt
Franklin d Roosevelt Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing