We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic foodie romp around Aligre market” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paris by Mouth Food Tours

Paris by Mouth Food Tours
Ranked #3 of 158 Food & Drink in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As food writers, it’s our job to devour delicious things and to understand what makes them special. The Wall Street Journal recently called us “the definitive blog on the city’s food and wine scene,” and we’re now using that knowledge to lead tasting tours through the most exceptional shops in Paris. Our tours run every day of the week, even Sunday and Monday, and our prices are affordable.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Fantastic foodie romp around Aligre market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Cathrine was a charming, incredible font of food, history, market and restaurant knowledge - as well as the exciting things going on in the 11th arrondissement. She knows all the vendors (and they smile when they see her coming) and their histories. We heard about the Aligre marché itself, it's role in the French Revolution, the guilds, etc. Our mouths were richly rewarded with pastries, plums, figs, great cheeses, sausage, salted caramels, Alsatian tarte, and sensational chocolate. Four hours of pure delight. Come hungry because you'll go away full! This was our second tour; both were wonderful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThMoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,240
    53
    12
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“delicious food tour of the Aligre neighborhood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were escorted and tasted delicious food in local shops-bakeries,cheese shops, open markets , a chocolate shop and learned about how Paris shops , traditions etc. in a less-visited but up- and-coming neighborhood . Catherine was American and completely bilingual in French as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Invaluable knowledge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I booked the Paris by Mouth tour after a friend recommended it to me as a "must do" and I'm so glad I did. On holiday with my family (mum and dad) for three weeks before settling into Paris to study and live fo 6 months, the tour was the perfect way to get our bearings and the inside info on where to shop for our bread, cheese, fruit and other treats. Our guide, Catherine, was lovely and extremely knowledgable about the producers and their delicious offerings. I highly recommend doing this tour at the beginning of your stay in Paris so that you have time to return to your favourites and further explore what they have to offer.
This information I learnt on this tour has been invaluable and has made moving to a new city a little less daunting now that I know a few of it's best spots!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Foodie Tour of the Latin Quarter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This tour was a highlight of our trip to Paris! There are so many great shops around Paris it's sometimes hard to decide where to go and how to discern if the shop really is worth it. Following a Paris by Mouth tour was a fabulous way to both visit and learn about some of the best food shops in all of Paris. Catherine did an excellent job of teaching us about the food we were eating and those who made it. She took us to, agreeably, the BEST of the best in terms of chocolate, bread, cheese, caramel, cream puffs, plums and wine. It was lovely to be on foot, in a small group, walking at a leisurely pace through the Latin Quarter and in to St. Germain. She also chose just the right distance, number of shops to visit and amount of information to give so that we didn't feel overwhelmed. The tasting at the end was divine. I would never have found out about any of these shops without Paris by Mouth and also wouldn't have discovered my newest favourite neighbourhood! LOVED it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank michele b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Worth the euros”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We did the Latin Quarter tour with Catherine who was very knowledgeable in foods. She has a master's degreee in foods. I read the negative reviews where they said they could have gone to the shops on their own. Yes, but I would not know what cheese to buy or what wine to pair with them.
We had plums in the street market. Then, we went to Laurent Dubois, MOF in cheese, where Catherine purchased cheese for us to taste later. Eric Kayser for the baguette. Patrick Roger for chocolates, another MOF. Henri Le Roux for the wonderful, famous salt caramels and pate de fruits. At each shop, she would give us a brief biography of the owner and his accomplishments. The tour was very informative.
We went to La Derniere Goutte where we sat down to sample the cheeses and chocolates paired with wine. It was a wonderful, tasty experience. I still remember that last piece of chocolate: lemon-basil. At the end, Catherine divided up the leftover cheese among the 4 parties.
We were pretty full after the tasting and did not need to go for lunch. A memorable adventure in Paris.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paris by Mouth Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Paris by Mouth Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing