We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great tour of Saint-Germain”

Paris by Mouth Food Tours
Ranked #3 of 159 Food & Drink in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As food writers, it’s our job to devour delicious things and to understand what makes them special. The Wall Street Journal recently called us “the definitive blog on the city’s food and wine scene,” and we’re now using that knowledge to lead tasting tours through the most exceptional shops in Paris. Our tours run every day of the week, even Sunday and Monday, and our prices are affordable.
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great tour of Saint-Germain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I went on the Saint-Germain afternoon tour with three other guests and I loved it. Diane was our guide and she did everything she could to accommodate our individual interests and preferences. She is a very knowledgeable guide who has a warm and engaging style. We were taken to an excellent variety of places, sampling generous amounts of sweet and savoury food, as well as wine. I thoroughly enjoyed the tour and learnt a lot. I will definitely book in for another one when I am next in Paris.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JMadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,263
    54
    12
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic chocolate and pastry tour of St Germain area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a unique and wonderful tour of Paris this morning-- chocolate and pastries in the St Germain area. We started off comparing macarons from Laduree and Pierre Hermes-- the two best in Paris (Laduree won for our group) and then also visited some of the oldest --and best--chocolate, pastry and bread shops in Paris. Not only were the sweets amazing, but we learned a lot along the way. Diane, our guide, was excellent. The tour ended at the Le Grand Epicerie de Paris at Le Bon Marche, where we also spent a short amount of time also talking about cheese. Paris by Mouth also offers a Wine and Chese tour and we will definitely do that the next time we are in Paris!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy1961_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exploring Saint-Germain with Diane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

On a beautiful summer afternoon I toured around Saint-Germain with Diane and six other guests. Everywhere we went we sampled delicious pastries, confections, cheese, charcuterie, wine...the best of the best. Diane, a food writer from New York who's been in Paris for about a year, knew her stuff and seemed very familiar with the area. I find food touring to be one of the best ways to get to know a city, and Paris by Mouth made me feel like an insider! Never would I have stumbled across the places we went to on my own. I would have loved the tour to be extended by an extra hour or so to incorporate a couple more stops, but overall it was a highly worthwhile experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank engella09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great way to get to know the Marais”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband, teenage daughter and I did the tour with Stephanie on 9 July. We unanimously agreed it was one of the highlights of our trip. Stepanie was a delightful guide. The tour provided us with knowledge we would not have obtained randomly but more importantly was an excellant way to get to know this part of Paris. We returned to the places visited later in the week to dine and buy gifts. I would definitely do another tour. I agree that it wasn't cheap (rather than expensive) but blame the Australian dollar and I don't regret spending the money. It was great fun and had the added benefit of the company of interesting tour companions also interested in food. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Il
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A special treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I took the Marais tour June 23rd (Sunday). Catherine was a great tour guide and able to share a lot of interesting information about the various items we tried. We started with Poilaine croissants and apple tart, then went to a cheese shop, charcutier, a French market, an olive oil shop, and Jacques Genin chocolates. We had the opportunity to eat delicious items and purchase some treats to take home. The tour is limited to 7 people due to the small shops that are visited. I loved this tour and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to have a wonderful experience trying the highest quality French foods.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ldonahue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paris by Mouth Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Paris by Mouth Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing