We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and price for Paris”
Review of Hotel Massena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Massena
Ranked #1,072 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and price for Paris”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Paris is a really expensive city and I was glad to have found this hotel near metro Madeleine. It's really convenient cos you can walk to all the shopping areas like Champs-Élysées, Rue du Faubourg St-Honoré and Galeries Lafayette. The rooms are a little small but I was fine with it -- it's Paris after all... The toilet was newly renovated so it was really clean, though it had a bit of paint or glue smell (not sure what smell that was but it wasn't that strong anyway). Apparently the hairdryer wasnt installed yet due to the renovation, which was a pity. There are still some renovation works going on cos the stairs were lined with plastic. Breakfast wasn't included though and it was 15€ (wasnt informed about this during check-in). Don't get it unless you need to leave the hotel early and can't find a boulangerie nearby. Overall, it was a good hotel and I'd come back again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Justina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    103
    39
    13
    6
See reviews for
47
59
30
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mequon, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

A nice quaint hotel. Rooms clean and nice bathroom. The location is spectacular. We were close to the Opera House where the Roissy bus which comes directly from the airport, droppped us. We walked to the hotel. We were in close walking distance to everything! Perfect!! WE did not do the breakfast as there is a bakery/breakfast place just down the street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen area
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Just stayed there for a couple of days in a tripple room. The room is small but newly renovated and a nice bathroom. The hotel is situated in the Opera area close to Madeleine Metro Station (lots of shops - rather expensive). The breakfast is okay - though you might have to wait for a table as there is only 6-7 tables. You can also have breakfast at the cafés nearby but the prices are quite high so the breakfast at the hotel is actually good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I had a great experience staying at Hotel Massena and would highly recommend it! The facility is very clean and modern w/ fast free WiFi. I found the room size to be typical for Europe (not large, but spacious enough) and with a huge renovated bathroom. It is on a relatively quiet street so noise was not an issue at all during the day or at night. The Louvre, etc. is about a 15-20 min walk away or one stop on the metro. I loved being so close to the attractions, but then being able to retreat to the non-touristy and quiet area of the Hotel afterwards. A+

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed here in March. I had a room near the top of the hotel, under the roof, facing the street. The room and hotel are perfectly nice! Clean, decently and relatively newly furnished. The bathroom was clean and fine. It did not smell at all, as people have reported. There was no noise from the street (though I didn't open the windows). The receptionists were friendly and helpful when I needed to find a laundry service on the weekend. I will admit that the room I had was on the small side, and it would have been cramped if I had had a giant suitcase. The location is fantastic - you can walk to the Louvre, Orsay, Opera. The metro is 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 212traveler212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I agree with other reviewers - if you are planning to come with someone, do NOT book a standard double - it's far too small, dingy and smelly. There is no place to store your luggage, really. Ask for a "deluxe" it's been remodeled, much spacier, newer, better.
Receptionists are very nice, avoid room service - they do not cook even the sandwiches at the hotel, but some guy brings it after two hours - cold and quite nasty.
Otherwise, the location is excellent and very convenient - right next to the Madelaine, a walk from the Opera, metro is 5 steps away that will take you the Musee d'Orsay in 5 minutes.
Check out a restaurant down the street called Madelaine C - extremely tasty!
Bottom-line: stay here if you value location and budget over comfort.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 4th floor - there was a terrible smell coming from the bathroom - yuck - I guess...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trini69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We got to the hotel on christmas eve and let me say... what a sad christmas eve.....the room was extremely small we could barely fit, we had to leave our bags in the bathroom!! The room was not very clean... and there was a new recepcionist that couldnt do anything!! apparently she said that the bigger rooms were being remodeld and there was nothing that could be done. I mean they charged 195 euros for each night and they couldnt even fix the mini fridge, we had to leave our food outside on the window holder!!! pretty sad. On christmas day we went to look for another hotel and thank god we found one, and with a better price and 4 times bigger.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Royal Opera
#1,353 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Basile
Hotel Basile
#768 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Le Vignon
Hotel Le Vignon
#655 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel du Triangle d'Or
Hotel du Triangle d'Or
#326 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Massena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Massena

Property: Hotel Massena
Address: 16 rue Tronchet, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#407 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Massena 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hôtel Masséna benefits from a superb location right in the heart of Paris, between the famous Madeleine church, the renowned Printemps and Galéries Lafayette department stores and the truly magnificent Opéra Garnier, all a short walk away. Ideal for shopping or sightseeing, we are also near the finance district and have excellent public transport links to all parts of the French capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Massena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massena Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing