We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for me...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Ranked #351 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2007

I booked the hotel directly for a Valentines surprise for my wife and based my choice on the TripAdvisor reviews, the hotels location and it's website.

We took the RER from CDG and it worked well with an easy walk from the Luxembourg metro stop.

The St. Jacques reception area was clean, well presented and with a tiny bar area. However, it was a disappointment that the receptionist chose to continue speaking on the telephone as we booked in and we got a very cursory welcome.

I had requested a superior room with bath and balcony and, whilst the room was pleasantly decorated and the balcony was there, we had to put up with a very small shower which had seen better days. The room had a smallish flat screen TV, a sofa and a wardrobe that would struggle to hold more than 3 days worth of clothes.

Another downside of the room (#7) was that the double glazed door to the balcony did nothing to cut out the noise from the street outside.

We had another noise issue from the room above us (#12) and the hotel did not handle this well at all. We totally accept that noise does travel from room to room and sometimes you are lucky and sometimes you are not. However, when it sounds like a herd of elephants are moving backwards and forwards across your ceiling, enough is enough.

We heard the occupant(s) noisily return around midnight on our first night and they disturbed our sleep. I went downstairs to ask the receptionist to ask them to be quiet and he rang the offending room without getting a reply. He did get a reply from another room the family had booked with the lady saying she would turn her TV down....however this was not the problem. The noise above us subsided until we again were awoken at 5:30am as the 'elephants' again began their march across our ceiling.

I went down to reception to complain yet again and found the offending 'elephant' in reception. He couldn't have cared less and gave just a cursory apology with a shrug of the shoulders. Worse still, the receptionist said nothing to him.

Perhaps if the receptionist had made more effort to solve the initial complaint the second incident might not have occured - quite why he didn't think of going up to knock on the door was a mystery.

On reflection I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank MikeLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (993)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Saint-Jacques
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

735 - 741 of 993 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2006

We stayed at the St. Jacques over Christmas. I spent weeks searching for the perfect hotel before finally deciding on the St. Jacques. I am so glad that I did! This was our third time to Paris, and I was looking for a hotel with charm and uniqeness, something very Parisian. It also needed to be within a reasonable price range. The St. Jacques fit all of these perfectly, and it was even better in person than in the pictures.


The decor was above my expectations, the staff were very friendly, and it was very quiet in an excellent part of town.
It was a five minute walk to the Notre Dame, and there are several good restaurants around. The Latin Quarter is a great part of town to stay in. The restaurant next door the Petit Perigourdine is especially good. We also enjoyed walking up to the Pantheon and to the Jardin to Luxembourg, only a five minute walk.

This has got to be one of the best deals in town, the price is so good and the atmosphere cant be beat! The only negative thing I have to say is that if your rate includes breakfast you are only allowed to order the small "plaisir" breakfast for free. We did not know this, we were not informed until the day we checked out and had to pay for the difference for the "gourmand" breakfasts we ordered.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2006
    • Value
16  Thank erinireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2006

My wife and I spent three wonderful days in Paris staying at Hotel St Jaques.

The location was ideal. From our tiny balcony we could look left to the Pantheon and to the right to Notre Dam. With the Metro close by it was easy to find our way around this wonderful city.

The staff were excellent. From the moment we arrived we were made feel special - always a welcoming smile.

With such an exciting and vibrant area of Paris at your doorstep, there couldn't be many better positions than around Hotel St Jaques.

We will long remember our short stay in Paris.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank cricketSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2006

The setting for the Audrey Hepburn movie "Charade", this hotel had lots of charm and character. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and although our triple room was small, it had a separate bedroom for our 3rd guest which was a lovely surprise. The location was great - an easy 10 minute walk to the Metro, Notre Dame and many caffe's and restaurants to choose from. I would definately return to this hotel when next in beautiful Paris.

Stayed: November 2006
13  Thank VSWSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2006

We stayed at Hotel St. Jacques for our honeymoon from Sept. 19 - 25th and we were very pleased. Our room was 124 Euro a night and had one main room, a bathroom, and then a smaller bedroom on the other side of the bathroom. We were able to store all of our luggage in there so our sleeping area wasn't a mess. Our room was always clean and made up when we returned back from sightseeing. The water was always hot and the noise level was not bad at all. The first night was the loudest, but we just shut the windows and popped in some ear plugs. It's in a great location - 4 or 5 minute walk from the metro and about a 7 minute walk from Notre Dame. Great little restaraunt next the hotel - I can't remember the name off hand - Petit P - something :-) - best meal we had in Paris! The hotel staff was always friendly and willing to help which we were very appreciative of since our French is not good at all. I would def. stay here again and recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank oceanprincess428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2006

The Hotel St Jacques enjoys a wonderful location, situated a mere 5 min walk form the Metro and within walking distance of Notre Dame, the Pantheon and the Jardins De Luxembourg. The area is very safe and quiet and the rooms were of a good size, as was the en-suite bathroom. The highlight of our stay was the view from our top floor room, we could see both Notre Dame and the Sacre Coeur from our bathroom window! The only grumble I had is the poor sound proofing as we were able to hear every word of our neighbour's conversation and the noise from their TV was very intrusive...

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank MonsieurChips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2006

I would definitely return to this hotel. Some of the perks include:

- location. At the heart of the Quartier Latin, St Jacques is walking distance from the Notre Dame cathedral and many restaurants. The street is very safe and near a métro and RER stop (direct trains to/from CDG airport)
- service. The staff were very hands-off and discrete, but polite and helpful when consulted
- facilities. The hotel has a room for left luggage (checkout is at midday). There is someone at reception throughout the night which allows you to return as late as you like.
- rooms. Although slightly on the small side, our room had an en suite bathroom and balcony with views of Notre Dame and the Panthéon. The room was very clean, and I believe each room has a different theme, all with 19th century features.

Overall it was a very successful stay, however we did not eat any meals at the hotel so I cannot comment on the food!

I would definitely recommend it and stay there again in future.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank hronde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
#259 of 1,804 in Paris
804 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#116 of 1,804 in Paris
1,651 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#141 of 1,804 in Paris
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#191 of 1,804 in Paris
925 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Hotel Residence Henri 4
#144 of 1,804 in Paris
1,012 reviews
Quartier Latin
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
#530 of 1,804 in Paris
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint-Jacques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint-Jacques

Address: 35 rue des Ecoles, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#207 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#365 Family Hotel in Paris
#383 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $144 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint-Jacques 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saint-Jacques Hotel welcomes you in its elegant 19th century building.You will discover its style staircase, its frescoes and its spacious rooms with molded ceilings and for some of them viewing Notre-Dame or with balcony.For an original drink, you can try an Absinthe tasting proposed by ourbar Le Toulouse-Lautrec. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Saint-Jacques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jacques Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing