We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ah Paris, Thanks Hotel St. Jacques”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Ranked #352 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Ah Paris, Thanks Hotel St. Jacques”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Loved the location at Hotel Saint-Jacques, quiet Paris streets but a quick walk to the Seine, Notre Dame, Ile de la Cité, Pantheon and several metro stations. The front desk staff was very frank but very nice. Questions in English were often a struggle but when we got on the same page, they were very helpful. The keys were very old fashioned and connected to a small tassel which was a fun touch -- this is a long way from electronic key cards! Don't forget to leave the key with the front desk when you leave! We got a talking to about this request...

The room was nice, small but everything you needed. No street noise but we could hear the bathroom tub and pipes from the next door room just as loud as if it were in our room. This was a bit jarring, but we managed.

Overall a great value for the location. The only problem was hearing the room next door but it could have been worse.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    427
    69
    24
    13
See reviews for
194
456
78
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I loved my room in this hotel, for a single room in Paris it was a great size and I appreciated the double bed. The shower and the toiletries were also high quality. The decor of the room and the hotel was lovely and really made you feel you were in Paris. It is a great location and easy to find.

However what made this hotel truly excellent was the attentiveness and helpfulness of the staff. They were able to provide really useful advice and offered me help which made my brief stay in Paris much more straightforward and enjoyable. They really went the extra mile. Definitely the best staff of any hotel I've ever stayed in.

I would warmly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Paris. I'd give it 6 stars!!

Room Tip: Up on the top floor are the bargain rooms. Think the ones downstairs have more atmosphere but I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

although there is a step to the front door which made getting in difficult, this hotel has two accessible rooms on the ground floor, unfortunately I was too late to let them know I needed he one with single beds. I was shown the one with a double and it is very well done in the classsical (and flowery) french style.

Unfortunately the breakfast room was also not accessible, however the hotel have made provision for this and a very good breakfast is delvered to your room when required.

The room we had was an excellent size and the bathroom although small was adequate. The lift was also very small

The hotel is excellent for seeing Paris as it is on the bus routes to many tourist attractions. It is also close to some shopping areas and within walking distance of Notra Dame

Althou you migh have a few small difficulties with a wheelchair I would reccomend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: if you need wheelchair access make sure you get one of the ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMTcassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hotel St.-Jacques was the perfect hotel for me. I loved the decor of my room. It was charming, comfortable, and the location was perfect. So much history all around. (The Jardin Luxembourg was wonderful to visit.) The location was just a reasonable walk to reach transportation but quieter than most other streets. The breakfast was good. The hotel was just so interesting and the staff was most friendly and helpful. It's very old so you can hear other folks coming and going but it wasn't that bad. The perfume was such a nice touch. I also enjoyed the bath. Do take your own bath cloth. The key was hard for me to master but it made me feel very safe. Great place for a woman alone to stay. I loved being able to open my window. Love Paris. Would book again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrepkeInk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jülich
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed for the second time in this cosy hotel with my adult daughter. I love the quarter and it's surroundings, the small distance to the Seine with the little islands and the shops around. I also love the decoration of the hotel and the rooms - one can really feel well and comfortable.

We had room nr. 7 this time which was spacious and and very pleasant. The shower in the bathroom was extremely small though for a superior room. The room maid forgot to give us one of four towels and since I wanted to test her alertness I didn't order any. She only realized it on the third day. We had also used our glasses to drink some milk but she did not replace them during our five days stay.

For breakfast you can choose from croissants, chocolate buns etc and sometimes nice bread with walnuts. There ist cheese, salami, cooked ham, smoked salmon, also different jams and other sweet spreads, Cornflakes and muesli. There are different yoghurts, fruits and fruitsalad. If you are a big eater the price of 14 Euro for this continental breakfast is ok, but if you can drink only a cup of tea or coffee and have a croissant or so, it is too expensive. This is really a pity because the breakfast room is so nice and it is plesant to sit here in the morning.

On the whole this hotel is a perfect stay if one like to be situated in a central area and if you expect friendly staff. They are absolutely helpful and very kind persons all of them!

A wonderful hotel in Paris with minor lacks which could be solved.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank takefive13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is a lovely hotel located within walking distance to the Louvre, Pantheon, and Notre Dame. We enjoyed the beautiful room with it's classic "French" decor which had a small balcony. The bathroom was beautiful, white and black marble! Of the two windows, one was facing the less busy street and the other window toward the alley way.
The breakfast was extra but was very nice and the waitress gave exceptional service. It is in a quaint room in the lower level of the hotel.
The halls are narrow but the rooms are sound proof and we slept very well. What a wonderful way to celebrate 50 years of marriage! Thank you Hotel Saint-Jacques!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summersong1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Rooms 34 and 35 (on the 2nd and 3rd floors, respectively), are small and apparently occupy some left-over spaces from a renovation. With an internet booking I paid about €95 (including breakfast, usually charged at €14) for room 35, instead of the rack rate of about €200 for other single rooms.
The room is weird: a tiny entrance area with bathroom, then stairs leading up to the bedroom (I have loaded lots of pics). The very overweight or very elderly might have a problem with these stairs, but if you don't, I would recommend this room as a bargain.
GOOD POINTS:
Location of the hotel
Clean, well-maintained
Room 35's windows open onto a narrow one-way alley, with no traffic or pedestrians, so very quiet.
Friendly, efficient, helpful reception staff (at least one of whom speaks very good English)
Air-con
Good breakfast: freshly-made coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh croissant, etc.
BAD points:
None really, but at full-price it would not have been especially good value for money.

Room Tip: See my review for notes on rooms 34 and 35
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JdeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#140 of 1,800 in Paris
1,648 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#112 of 1,800 in Paris
1,620 reviews
Quartier Latin
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
#506 of 1,800 in Paris
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Hotel Residence Henri 4
#96 of 1,800 in Paris
1,009 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
#259 of 1,800 in Paris
797 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#280 of 1,800 in Paris
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint-Jacques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint-Jacques

Property: Hotel Saint-Jacques
Address: 35 rue des Ecoles, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#207 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#365 Family Hotel in Paris
#383 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint-Jacques 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saint-Jacques Hotel welcomes you in its elegant 19th century building.You will discover its style staircase, its frescoes and its spacious rooms with molded ceilings and for some of them viewing Notre-Dame or with balcony.For an original drink, you can try an Absinthe tasting proposed by ourbar Le Toulouse-Lautrec. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Saint-Jacques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jacques Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing