We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and dingy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Ranked #360 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed in a double deluxe, which I thought would be one of the highest grade rooms. It was on the fifth floor. The "balcony" was not a balcony, it was a one foot wide edging outside of the windows - so that was a bit of a misrepresentation. The bedspread was a ribbed chenille item that looked like it hadn't been washed in years - I took it off each night when I slept. (I actually took a photo of it, but it's a bit hard to see in the photos). Same with the cheap cotton/polyester "drapes" - why don't they just throw them in the wash and iron them? They're literally grey with exhaust and dirt from street grime - none of that shows in the online photos. The website highlights all the beautiful canvas wall paintings, which are indeed lovely and appear throughout the hotel - they just don't make up for the rest of the issues. Also, speaking of walls; the walls are so thin, I could literally hear my neighbors snoring throughout the night! It was incredible! The bathroom is tiny and has no shower, only the old fashioned hand held sprayer in a tub (with no shower curtain). I'm all for going native when you travel to another country, but really? Do we have to be that coordinated every morning? I've been to Europe a million times and most places have upgraded to regular showers at this point, recognizing the comfort in not having to balance, shower one handed and not flood your floor at the same time.
There is a breakfast that's included each morning, very basic even for France, but there's no room service available at any other time. That thing on the website about drinks etc. in the evening in some kind of lounge at the hotel, is a myth: no such thing occurs at the Hotel Saint Jacques. I agree that the location was nice, very close to the Maubert Metro stop, but other than that, I really, really regretted booking this hotel. I don't know why I decided to try a new place thinking I could save some money; you usually do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsaintjacques, Propriétaire at Hotel Saint-Jacques, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are very surprised when reading your review as you stayed one week in our hotel and never complained to the desk.
We inform you that you reserved and stayed in a superior double room and not a deluxe double room, and that you had a lovely balcony as pictured on our website where you can relax viewing the parisian way of life.
We thank you for all your pictures showing that the bedsread is new and clean, that the bathroom is comfortable and equiped with a shower and is spacious according to the parisian standards.
We regret that you found our breakfast basic as our buffet offers freshly squeezed orange juice and fruit salad, smoked salmon, coldcuts, differents varieties of cheeses and yoghurts, organic breads and pastries, cereals, teas Mariage Frères,...
For your information, our bar Toulouse Lautrec is proposing a large variety of drinks as soon as you order your drink to the desk, you are served immediately.
Anyway, we thank you for choosing our 3star as you selected the Plaza Athénée for your previous stay which is a 5star deluxe hotel.
We understand your disappointment when you hoped a 5star service for a 3star price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (996)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 996 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked this hotel on the basis of the Trip Advisor reviews and I'm pleased to say we were not disappointed. A very comfortable bed in a reasonable sized room, and for a reasonable cost.The hotel staff were very helpful. The location of the hotel was excellent, close to Notre Dame and the Boulevard St Germain. We walked everywhere! My only criticism would be that the breakfasts seemed expensive for a basic continental breakfast so we ate out for better value.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

A lovely old Parisien hotel which I have been to many times before. Convenient location, close to great little bistros and the latin quarter, Notre Dame area. I would recommend this little hotel for a pleasant stay with very friendl helpful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glenys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

A wonderful little hotel, close to a Metro Station. The service was very good. The rooms whilst copact were tastefully decorated with scenes that evoked a real Parisian atmosphere. Just the right palce well located for the Notre Dame and the Latin Quarter with some nice local restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel was an excellent find. Great location, just a block up fro Boulevard St Germain, two blocks from the Ile de la Cite (Notre Dame etc); an easy walk to the Louvre. In fact, we walked most places. Plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. Our room was small (not unusual in Europe) but charming with a very good bathroom. We got an excellent rate online, having booked from Australia). We chose to stay on the 6th floor which meant we had to walk up one flight of stairs from the 5th. We had only two cabin wheel-ons, so this was no problem. (It also meant that we came and went from Orly by train and metro direct to the hotel - very easy.) hotel staff spoke English and were very helpful, making one restaurant booking and confirming another. Would recommend highly.

Room Tip: Our room was 28 on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our family of five stayed in this hotel for a second time. We visited in October 2011 and felt happy with the quality and service so we booked it again for a return trip in December 2012. The location is so convenient to the Metro- less than three blocks. The breakfast is plentiful with a continental buffet of breads, meats, yogurts and fruit. The rooms are traditional and old fashioned, but all the bathrooms are updated. Most importantly the hotel is clean and safe. We were able to leave our luggage there on our last day without any trouble. I would happily stay here again next time I am in Paris.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5Travellers1263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. Staff persons were helpful and courteous. The room was comfortable. We liked the location..the Latin Quarter, the ease of getting transportation and it was easy to walk to so many places. Prices were reasonable. I would recommend to travelers who like small hotels. It was just right for us.

Room Tip: get a room with view of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sweetiepie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#114 of 1,803 in Paris
1,682 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
#259 of 1,803 in Paris
808 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#130 of 1,803 in Paris
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#177 of 1,803 in Paris
939 reviews
Quartier Latin
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
#540 of 1,803 in Paris
579 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Hotel Residence Henri 4
#192 of 1,803 in Paris
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint-Jacques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint-Jacques

Address: 35 rue des Ecoles, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#207 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#365 Family Hotel in Paris
#383 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $138 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint-Jacques 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saint-Jacques Hotel welcomes you in its elegant 19th century building.You will discover its style staircase, its frescoes and its spacious rooms with molded ceilings and for some of them viewing Notre-Dame or with balcony.For an original drink, you can try an Absinthe tasting proposed by ourbar Le Toulouse-Lautrec. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Saint-Jacques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jacques Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing