We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Basic but excellent location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 rue du Roi de Sicile, 75004 Paris, France (Le Marais)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,100 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Basic but excellent location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed here mid-week in April 2013. At first sight the hotel is a bit disappointing. The double room was small and functional - laminate floor, white wallpaper, no pictures, no easy chair (no space for one either) and a tiny bathroom with shower. It had a small TV with 3 French channels and CNN. WiFi costs €10 per day extra. So not somewhere to spend time and relax. But the staff are friendly and the room was clean and had a small balcony overlooking the busy rue du Roi de Sicile, one of the main streets through the Maurais. And this is where the hotel excels - it's location. Leaving the hotel you are immediately in the delightful narrow streets of the traditional Parisian Jewish quarter which more recently has also become a centre of the Paris gay scene. Turn on to rue des Rosiers you'll find it packed with kosher delis, bakeries, butchers, Israeli and East European Jewish restaurants, several advertising the 'best falafel in the Maurais'. On adjacent streets there are also art galleries and design shops. After eating out at night and absorbing the atmosphere at a street cafe or bar the hotel is a short pleasant stroll back. So even if the hotel is a little basic the location is excellent. It's also a few minutes walk from St Paul metro station so the rest of Paris is very accessible. We'd probably return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    64
    51
    16
    6
See reviews for
19
80
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

A hotel that was close to Notre Dame and in the Louvre Museum.There was a metro station close by.It was worth because of it's location.The rooms were very small but clean.The receptionist were quite helpful.No mini bar in the room

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EIRINIX325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just back from three days here. I'm a frequent visitor to Paris, my favourite city in the world, so have stayed in a lot of hotels, both for business and pleasure. This place is in an excellent location, three minutes to Hotel de Ville and right in the heart of the lovely Marais district. The reception staff were efficient and knowledgeable. I'm used to small Parisian bedrooms, and this is no different, but the quality of the rooms at Compostelle is not great. It feels more like a 2-star to me, with very plain furniture and fittings. Our bathroom was missing a tile by the sink, the beautiful French windows didn't close securely (allowing a fair amount of noise into the room), and our bedroom was right beside the lift which meant that sleep was disturbed with people coming and going (literally every inch of space is utilised in this hotel!). While it was clean, you really didn't want to spend time here other than for sleeping as the place is rather claustrophobic. Overall, Compostelle is OK, but I know from experience that you can find a better price-to-quality ratio especially if you book ahead and are not tied to staying in the Marais which is among the most expensive areas in Paris for hotels.

Room Tip: Avoid being beside the lift shaft
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My trip middle of February 2013
-------------------------------------------
I have stayed at this hotel a number of times. It is in the gay area of Paris called Marais. If you are gay, it is a Mecca. If you are not, you might find it a little disconcerting. The hotel is clean but it is extremely cramped! This time, I stayed in room 63 & 63bis which has a connecting door. Room 63 faces the main street and 63bis faces the back courtyard. Both rooms are tiny and both bathrooms were microscopic. I could hardly move in the shower! The hotel is noisy, when guests are coming back in the early hours of the morning. All the bedroom doors have very strong closing mechanisms, which make the door slam shut!! I, being considerate, close the door quietly. Unfortunately, most people just let it slam, which wakes you up at 3.00am in the morning! The lift is also noisy going up and down, so bring some decent earplugs with you.

There are 2 ladies on reception during the day. One lady with grey hair and glasses is very friendly, helpful and speaks fluent English. The other lady with short-cropped hair and heavy makeup who is about 70+, is an absolute cow!! I don't speak French, except for bonjour, bonsoir and merci. The nicer you try to be to her, the more beligerant she becomes and seems to enjoy being rude! I suppose you would say, she's a typical Parisienne. She is obviously in the wrong job. We paid Euro125 a night, which is cheap, for such an interesting area. There are lots of shops, restaurants and bars. Plus you are a short walk from the 'Bazar Hotel d'Ville' dept. store. The mens dept. is in a seperate building across the road. It's on about 5 floors and is fantastic for clothes shopping. It is expensive though.

How anyone can rate this hotel as 'Amazing', beggars belief? The only thing Amazing, is the location.

All in all, if you are on a budget stay here. If you are not, choose somewhere else. You'll be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the block are less noisy. Although, staff seem to go into the back courtyard a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This hotel scores 10/10 for location, it is in the epicentre of the Marias and as such it is a fantastic location for exploring and visiting everything Paris has to offer. Dont expect much and you will enjoy this quaint and very Parisienne hotel. Yes, the rooms are small and you need to be a contortionist to use the bathrooms, but like the 3 person (just!) lift with a mind of its own, it all adds to the charm of the place.
Rooms are clean, beds on 6th floor comfy, and the view of the street below will keep you entertained day and night. Our floor to celing french windows were double glazed and blocked almost all of the street noise, i had no trouble at all sleeping. Perhaps assisted by a few glasses of wine with dinner!
You are spoilt for choice with a veritable pandoras box of interesting shops, restaurants, cafes and boulangeries all on you doorstep.
Public bicycle hire is just around the corner which is a fun way to explore this charming area and get to the major attractions. Why anyone would want to use the metro and miss all the sights you get to see while riding, I do not know.
If, like us, you intend to sightsee all day, then this hotel is more than adequate.

Helpful?
3 Thank BGSCOTLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The location is great! The hotel clean, rooms little small but its ok! Very recomande on this hotel!! Everything is clean, dont take the breakfast not very good and a little pricy, but in the ganeral it was awesome!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OsiGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at Le Compostelle for 5 nights. I would definitely go back, and I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends (and strangers!).

The Good
- Incredible location. A couple of blocks away from the 1 line (St. Paul stop), which is arguably the most helpful line to be on as a tourist. - A few blocks from sights (e.g., Notre Dame, Pompidou)
- Great area during the day (e.g., boulangeries, stores, entertainment), and safe
- Great area during the night (e.g., restaurants, bars, entertainment), and safe
- Everything you could need (e.g., bed, private bathroom, front desk that is open and kind)
- Internet for 10euros for your whole stay. It's not free, but it's quite affordable
- An elevator if you want it - Price. We paid 120euros a night (for the middle of October). That doesn't sound cheap, exactly, but it WAS cheap compared to other options in the area
- Our very large windows overlooked the street, and we could open the windows all the way. So, not a balcony exactly, but almost

The Bad
- The internet connection was VERY shoddy
- The bathroom was a little cramped, and the shower had (a) no curtain, and (b) no hanging shower-head... so it was a fun little game to shower without getting water everywhere
- Soap and shampoo were provided. But both seemed designed to pull moisture out of everything they touched.

Room Tip: I loved having a room that faced the street. We could open up the window to check the weather and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jess65456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Grand Hotel du Loiret
Grand Hotel du Loiret
#967 of 1,811 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Paris Rivoli
Hotel Paris Rivoli
#727 of 1,811 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de Nice
Hotel de Nice
#706 of 1,811 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
D'win Hotel
D'win Hotel
#1,046 of 1,811 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Le Marais
France Louvre
France Louvre
#1,335 of 1,811 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Le Marais
Vieux Marais
Vieux Marais
#1,373 of 1,811 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai

Property: Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai
Address: 31 rue du Roi de Sicile, 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,100 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Compostelle Marai
Le Compostelle Le Marais
Le Compostelle Marai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing