We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai
Nearby Hotels
$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Fred Hotel(Paris)(Great Value!)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$163
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Le Six(Paris)
$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$275
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$349
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Eiffel Seine(Paris)
$191
$147
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$423
$223
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveler rating
30
91
59
19
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
91
59
19
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspick clopsmarais districtgreat locationstaff on receptiontiny bathroomsmall hotelclose to metro stationsingle roomcomfortable bedlovely little hotelquiet at nightrestaurants and barsaround the cornereiffel towernoiseelevatorstreet
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 205 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Excellent location, close to many famous places, such as Hotel de Ville, Centre Pompidou, Les Halles, Bastille Opera, Notre Dame, even Louvre is reachable by feet in 30 minutes. Staff is nice and prices are reasonable. Absolutely recommended for budget trip.

Room Tip: Some rooms look to the silent inner yard, some rooms - to the crowdy street.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We chose this hotel for four nights in our seven night trip as we wanted to stay in Le Marais area. Compared to other hotels in the area the price was just right for us.

Situated just a block from picturesque Rue des Rosiers and it's superb falafel restaurants (I think the one opposite the place that Lenny Kravitz recommends gets our points) this hotel is basically at the best location in Le Marais. Step out of the hotel entrance and go left one block and you will find a boulangerie with 1€ breakfast croissants. Step out, go right and from the next block down the same road where your hotel is situated you find a perfumerie Sense Unique with it's specialist staff who seem to know pretty much everything about scents. As you are pretty much in the middle of it all it's probably needless to say that good restaurants are everywhere... and Notre Dame just 10 minutes away so you can beat the crowds in the morning with no sweat at all.

We had a room on the first floor (ground floor +1) with an inner courtyard view. So in theory some might see you doing your morning excersises from the comfort of their own room but for us that was really not a problem. More of a problem can be that the tiny yard is shared 50/50 with a restaurant's back door and it's trash bins. Late opening hours mean lots of noise at the trash cans all night long, so if you're a light sleeper you might want to reconsider especially as the room might get guite warm in the summer and you might want to keep the windows open.

The room was also quite dark. There's actually only three lamps in the room and no ceiling lamp at all. They probably wanted to save the old (and really cool looking) ceiling decorative beams from getting damaged. And because of the inner courtyard the two large windows do not bring much natural light either.

The room is reasonably sized for two persons and a large open suitcase or even more leaving enough room to move about without breaking something. There's also a safe in the room but it is too small to contain for example an iPad but you can probably fit you dslr in if a need for some strange reason rises. TV contains couple of channels to keep you up on latest news and events on True Blood. In room wi-fi works nicely although you have to pay for it but the price is not bad.

This review might seem to include a lot of rant about the actual hotel room but the case really is not so. Everything depends on how light a sleeper one is and are you worried to show your dangling parts to other persons in the same building. There are earplugs for noice and self esteem for nudity (and curtains). In overall we really enjoyed staying in this clean hotell and even if the area wouldn't have been as center as it is we would have been happy with the hotel anywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KissaAgentti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I booked a room here for my second honeymoon based solely on tripadvisor reviews. This place is affordable, in an incredible location in Marais near cafes, restaurants, boutiques, and Parisian life! The staff is friendly and they spoke English without us asking them to. Our room faces the street looking over the cafe le picks clops. The windows open to a wonderful view but it can be noisy with garbage collection or scooter engines. The view and breeze are worth it. Yes, taking a long American shower and steaming up the bathroom is not likely with the handheld shower head and no curtain around the tub but that is Paris. I've noticed more greasy hair stinky folks here than anywhere I've been. Just deal with it. You can easily get clean.

I would definitely stay here again. The location is walking distance to so many things and there are great cafes and pubs nearby that stay open and lively late, even during the week. The elevator is tiny and scary so we used the stairs...my only minor complaint.

We found the hotel easily from the airport - from cdg take the rer b train into Paris and then the metro line 1 to chatelet or hotel de ville. 18 euro per person.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank nicoleannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

The location was awesome... right in the heart of la marais district.. close to the metro.. walking distance from the jewish quarter, louvre, notre dame, sienne river and the best falafel ever! Loved the location.. tons of bars and restaurants all around. The room was okay.. clean, small, good view, small shower with no curtain so it made it challenging.
It was quite at night (which i was actually nervous about based on other reviewers) and we were facing Le pick clop which was a cafe across the street. It does the trick if all you are using this place for is sight seeing and you won't spend much time there. They charge for wifi. 10 euro for your whole stay. you are better off getting it free at a local cafe. Taking a taxi from CDG to this hotel will cost around 50 euro. It would be wise to research in advance how to get there using the metro.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night, for work. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The room was old and not too big (as most hotel rooms are in Paris). The bathroom was very poorly lit, and the shower did not work in the morning, not enough water pressure. But what really spoilt it was my neighbours, they kept me up all night talking, arguing, laughing, they just sounded very drunk. Not the hotel's fault really, but that and not being able to shower properly did not make it very good. Would I go back? Don't think so, but I must say that the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ndfeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews