We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“in heart of Marais” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai
Ranked #1,103 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“in heart of Marais”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Excellent location, close to many famous places, such as Hotel de Ville, Centre Pompidou, Les Halles, Bastille Opera, Notre Dame, even Louvre is reachable by feet in 30 minutes. Staff is nice and prices are reasonable. Absolutely recommended for budget trip.

Room Tip: Some rooms look to the silent inner yard, some rooms - to the crowdy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    64
    51
    16
    6
See reviews for
19
80
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We chose this hotel for four nights in our seven night trip as we wanted to stay in Le Marais area. Compared to other hotels in the area the price was just right for us.

Situated just a block from picturesque Rue des Rosiers and it's superb falafel restaurants (I think the one opposite the place that Lenny Kravitz recommends gets our points) this hotel is basically at the best location in Le Marais. Step out of the hotel entrance and go left one block and you will find a boulangerie with 1€ breakfast croissants. Step out, go right and from the next block down the same road where your hotel is situated you find a perfumerie Sense Unique with it's specialist staff who seem to know pretty much everything about scents. As you are pretty much in the middle of it all it's probably needless to say that good restaurants are everywhere... and Notre Dame just 10 minutes away so you can beat the crowds in the morning with no sweat at all.

We had a room on the first floor (ground floor +1) with an inner courtyard view. So in theory some might see you doing your morning excersises from the comfort of their own room but for us that was really not a problem. More of a problem can be that the tiny yard is shared 50/50 with a restaurant's back door and it's trash bins. Late opening hours mean lots of noise at the trash cans all night long, so if you're a light sleeper you might want to reconsider especially as the room might get guite warm in the summer and you might want to keep the windows open.

The room was also quite dark. There's actually only three lamps in the room and no ceiling lamp at all. They probably wanted to save the old (and really cool looking) ceiling decorative beams from getting damaged. And because of the inner courtyard the two large windows do not bring much natural light either.

The room is reasonably sized for two persons and a large open suitcase or even more leaving enough room to move about without breaking something. There's also a safe in the room but it is too small to contain for example an iPad but you can probably fit you dslr in if a need for some strange reason rises. TV contains couple of channels to keep you up on latest news and events on True Blood. In room wi-fi works nicely although you have to pay for it but the price is not bad.

This review might seem to include a lot of rant about the actual hotel room but the case really is not so. Everything depends on how light a sleeper one is and are you worried to show your dangling parts to other persons in the same building. There are earplugs for noice and self esteem for nudity (and curtains). In overall we really enjoyed staying in this clean hotell and even if the area wouldn't have been as center as it is we would have been happy with the hotel anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KissaAgentti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I booked a room here for my second honeymoon based solely on tripadvisor reviews. This place is affordable, in an incredible location in Marais near cafes, restaurants, boutiques, and Parisian life! The staff is friendly and they spoke English without us asking them to. Our room faces the street looking over the cafe le picks clops. The windows open to a wonderful view but it can be noisy with garbage collection or scooter engines. The view and breeze are worth it. Yes, taking a long American shower and steaming up the bathroom is not likely with the handheld shower head and no curtain around the tub but that is Paris. I've noticed more greasy hair stinky folks here than anywhere I've been. Just deal with it. You can easily get clean.

I would definitely stay here again. The location is walking distance to so many things and there are great cafes and pubs nearby that stay open and lively late, even during the week. The elevator is tiny and scary so we used the stairs...my only minor complaint.

We found the hotel easily from the airport - from cdg take the rer b train into Paris and then the metro line 1 to chatelet or hotel de ville. 18 euro per person.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nicoleannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

The location was awesome... right in the heart of la marais district.. close to the metro.. walking distance from the jewish quarter, louvre, notre dame, sienne river and the best falafel ever! Loved the location.. tons of bars and restaurants all around. The room was okay.. clean, small, good view, small shower with no curtain so it made it challenging.
It was quite at night (which i was actually nervous about based on other reviewers) and we were facing Le pick clop which was a cafe across the street. It does the trick if all you are using this place for is sight seeing and you won't spend much time there. They charge for wifi. 10 euro for your whole stay. you are better off getting it free at a local cafe. Taking a taxi from CDG to this hotel will cost around 50 euro. It would be wise to research in advance how to get there using the metro.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night, for work. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The room was old and not too big (as most hotel rooms are in Paris). The bathroom was very poorly lit, and the shower did not work in the morning, not enough water pressure. But what really spoilt it was my neighbours, they kept me up all night talking, arguing, laughing, they just sounded very drunk. Not the hotel's fault really, but that and not being able to shower properly did not make it very good. Would I go back? Don't think so, but I must say that the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ndfeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Great location, near everything, good price for your money, very friendy staff, clean. Small Hotel with big heart. Metro stations a walk away, as well as Notre Dame, Pompideu, the Sein, Hotel De Ville, restaurants, bars and shops. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you like a quiet room ask for the interior ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vainillaPuertoRico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Hotel Le Compostelle is situated in the best area in town - close to all links to the best attractions and surrounded by trendy bars and restaurants. This tends to make for a noiser stay as there is always something going on outside - but i loved that about the area. The rooms were fair and what you'd expect from a stay in paris on budget, the same goes for the shower room. The only complaint i would have is the elevator which i chose not to travel by and even though the reception staff were generally cold, you grew to understand their ways and accepted it was just the french way and the language barrier. Our room was clean and i absolutely loved the big french window that we hung out, people watching on the streets below.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin_B1819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Grand Hotel du Loiret
Grand Hotel du Loiret
#952 of 1,811 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Paris Rivoli
Hotel Paris Rivoli
#733 of 1,811 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de Nice
Hotel de Nice
#716 of 1,811 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
D'win Hotel
D'win Hotel
#1,030 of 1,811 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Le Marais
France Louvre
France Louvre
#1,333 of 1,811 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Le Marais
Vieux Marais
Vieux Marais
#1,364 of 1,811 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai

Property: Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai
Address: 31, rue du Roi de Sicile, Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,103 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Compostelle Marai
Le Compostelle Le Marais
Le Compostelle Marai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing