We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget hotel in the best neighbourhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai
Ranked #1,036 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Budget hotel in the best neighbourhood”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Hotel Le Compostelle is situated in the best area in town - close to all links to the best attractions and surrounded by trendy bars and restaurants. This tends to make for a noiser stay as there is always something going on outside - but i loved that about the area. The rooms were fair and what you'd expect from a stay in paris on budget, the same goes for the shower room. The only complaint i would have is the elevator which i chose not to travel by and even though the reception staff were generally cold, you grew to understand their ways and accepted it was just the french way and the language barrier. Our room was clean and i absolutely loved the big french window that we hung out, people watching on the streets below.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin_B1819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    74
    57
    16
    6
See reviews for
20
90
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

You can't go wrong with this place. The location is brilliant, close to all amenities and the transport links are excellent, Saint-Paul or Hotel-de-Ville metro stations are only about 300m walk away and it only costs €1.70 to travel to all Central Paris locations (Zone 1). The Notre Dame cathedral is only 5 minutes walk away and The Louvre 15 minutes away. There is also a BoatBus just down the road linking all the major attractions which you can hop on and off all day for €13, very relaxing and you get to avoid the hustle and bustle of the very busy Metro. The area is bustling with Cafes, shops and bars and the hotel is just located behind the busy Rue de Rivoli. The area is busy until the early hours of the morning but the rooms were quiet enough to have a decent nights sleep. The hotel and the rooms were very clean. The staff were very helpful and spoke decent English. The only negative was the size of the rooms but it wasn't really an issue. What more do you want from a reasonably priced hotel at a prime location! Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

My second visit to this hotel. Visited the weekend of 4th November 2011.

This hotel is located in the Le Marais area which for those that way inclined is the predominently gay area of Paris, also home to the Jewish contignent of Paris and a eye watering number of cafes, shops, bars and patisseries.

Le Compostelle isnt a huge hotel so don't expect huge brand name luxuries. That being said the hotel is lovely. The staff on reception have a decent grasp of english, certainly enough to get by but i'm sure they appreciate the odd person who can throw out a few words in french.

The rooms are adequate - not bad, not great but given i was in there for around 8hrs per day during which i was asleep it didnt concern me. The beds were comfortable, there was a bath and shower and a tv so you can try to follow french TV. Our room was round the back of the hotel as it was last time so i can't comment on the noise, however it is on a busy street so this is to be expected.

In terms of location and tourism - the hotel is around a 10 min walk from both The Lourve and Notre Dame and there is a Metro Station a short walk from the hotel (St Pauls). What I would say is please don't be lazy and get the Metro around Paris, get out and walk - its SUCH a gorgeous city it needs to be taken in as you walk along the river.

Overall, a nice little hotel, excellent location and reasonably priced too. If and when I return to Paris I know where i'll be staying.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyMooMcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel is centrally located in the Marais. The hotel staff is English speaking and efficient. They helped arrange our early-morning taxi pickup to the airport. The hotel room was a bit outdated but had all the necessities, with the exception of air-conditioning. A nice touch was the balcony overlooking the busy-street below...so Parisian! Yet, since it was warm and with no AC we had to leave the french doors open at night to keep cool and that meant having the intrusive street noises. Luckily, I had a good pair of earplugs, good for me, not so good for my partner.

The hotel is in a great location, just a short walk to the Notre Dame cathedral, museums, etc.

It's rates are a good deal, but don't expect luxury, AC or complete quiet.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrooklynDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

I was looking for a hotel in the Marais during Easter week. I found this thru a 3rd party discount site and could only book 2 nights at 90 euros/night. I could not find anything within in this budget for my remainder 3 nights in Paris so I booked a hotel to the north in the Repubilique area. That hotel was substandard. I was able to cancel my 3rd night there. Before I did I went to Compostelle to see if I could add my 3rd night there. I walked into a small, clean well appointed lobby with an ICE WATER dispenser with cups. I have never seen a small gesture like this in Paris. I knew this small hotel would be wonderful. They were able to accomodate my request and gave it to me at 90 euros.

We spent 3 nights here. Our room was very clean. The furnishings: bedspread & curtains match but are dated. Yes bathroom is quite small but hey your in Paris not to mention the Marais. As previous reviews stated great location for Metro and sites. Here are a couple of basic things also within a block of this hotel: grocery store, laundromat and internet cafe. Also, I usually never breakfast at a hotel unless it's included in the price, however I did for 2 days. The breakfast is down in the cellar and is 6.50 euros from 7:15-10:00. I felt it was a very fair price-Lg cup of coffee with small pitcher of steamed milk or hot chocolate, breadbasket consisting of several pastries and french loaf, yogurt ,applesauce, butter and jams. It was nice to start my mornings in a relaxed atmosphere with great coffee and be able to plan my day! I don't think you could get all that elsewhere and sit down for the same price.

Now here is the only drawback-STREET NOISE!!!!! We had room 23 which faces the street. I didn't realize the Monday after Easter is a holiday and it was being celebrated as such in the cafe/bars until late. The next 2 nights weren't quite as bad but still loud until late. Then, I believe it was some type of garbage truck coming thru each morning around 6am. One evening we were on the street and thinking "Oh this isn't too bad "and then we got up to our room and the noise level seemed to waft into it. so I don't know if the sound travels up or reverberates off the buildings but it is horrible in room 23. Forget about keeping the window open if it is warm. Even with the windows closed-VERY LOUD. The 2nd night we slept with our earplugs which helped.

So all in all, I would totally recommend this hotel for cleanliness, friendliness, location and price and would book it myself again IF I could get a room facing inward off Rue du Roi Sicile.

Very Close: LA's Falafel - Healthy, filling, delicious falafel 34 Rue de Rosiers

Amorino Gelato-Chain apparently in UK & France but best gelato I've had
since visiting Italy. 31 Rue Vielle du Temple

Room Tip: Try to book a room not facing Rue Roi du Sicile
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank labonvoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

We booked for two nights starting April 10 at 93 euros per night, via Travelocity. Given the wonderful central location in the charming Marais district, this is a terrific deal. Our 6th floor room was very basic but gave great views of gray-slated Parisian roofs. It was clean. It was somewhat cramped. We got a good welcome from the front desk (and helpful advise in English). They also booked a taxi for us to CDG for our flight home. We passed on breakfast and the 10 E internet access, opting for coffee in the cafe across the street (and free wi-fi standing outside any McDonalds). If price is an issue, this is a great option for some. If you wish more amenities or a charming room you're going to spend a lot more. But from here it is a short walk to the wonderful little bar called Au Petit Fer a Cheval, then superb foie gras, tomato tarte tatin and duck at cafe Les Philosophes, both within a block.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRCPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2010

I chose this hotel on the basis of it's location. It's in the Marais, my favourite district of Paris as it has great feel and fantastic places to eat and drink. It's not far from either St Paul or Hotel de Ville metro stations and it's an area that I feel safe in. I travelled with my sister (we're both early 20s) and I think it's safer to stay in the centre rather than travel out further of the city. Our room was an average size, mainly taken up by the bed which was a good size. There was a desk, two chairs and a TV which were all OK. The bathroom though is very small and cramped. However, it serves its purpose and was adequate. I found the people on reception fine, they were especially helpful as on our last day our train was late evening and the check out time was 12 so I asked if they could hold our bags behind reception which they did with no problems. I think this was really good of them as they didn't have too. I think this is a really good place to stay, probably mainly for friends who want a place only to sleep and shower in. My sister and I were hardly there as Paris has so much to offer, and for the price and location I would really recommend it for people who are going to be out most of the time.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeysee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Grand Hotel du Loiret
Grand Hotel du Loiret
#1,024 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Le Marais
France Louvre
France Louvre
#1,394 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Paris Rivoli
Hotel Paris Rivoli
#764 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Vieux Marais
Vieux Marais
#1,194 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Emile
Hotel Emile
#1,008 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de Nice
Hotel de Nice
#720 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai

Property: Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai
Address: 31 rue du Roi de Sicile, 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,036 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Compostelle Marai
Le Compostelle Le Marais
Le Compostelle Marai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing