We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy and cheap furniture”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Des Canettes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Des Canettes
Ranked #1,610 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Brasilia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Noisy and cheap furniture”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

It is located in a street full of bars with loud music. Even though closing the windows help, you still hear everything. You hear also the other guests shouting at 7:30 am. There is no elevator to the first floor, just to the others floors. The furniture is very cheap and old. You pay 8 euros for a breakfast that has just a coffee, an orange juice and a croissant. This is the kind of hotel you feel you don't want to come back at the end of your day. Although there are not so many budget hotels in Paris, I felt fooled.
I was very badly impressed by this hotel because I had stayed in another one during the same week, which was the same price but was much better. I had payed 130 Euros in a small but cozy, elegant and brand new hotel in the Quartier Latin, which I highly recommend (Europe St Severin). Their breakfast was 12 Euros, but had everything you could wish for. Excellent location, very near Notre Dame.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biancabis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    19
    32
    13
    13
See reviews for
8
25
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Millbrook, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

This hotel is located where you want to be in Paris. The St-Germain-des-Pre area has many good restaurants, shops, Metro stops, and other amenities that allow you - if for only a few days - to imagine what it would be like to be a Parisian. And many of the sites for which you go to Paris to see, such as the du musée du Louvre and Notre Dame Cathedral, are within a reasonable walking distance.

The accommodations are basic and many of the rooms (mine included) face inwards towards a large, open roof airshaft. Although this sounds 19th century tenement-ish it actually is a real benefit if you don't want to hear the late night revelers that are omnipresent on the street below.

Lots of narrows stairs can be avoided if you don't minds taking the small, if not claustrophobic elevator.

Overall I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avidventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

Great location in the St. Germain des Pres neighborhood. On a street with a bunch of bars, restaurants and small shops.

The actual hotel was pretty basic -- rooms that had beds and some supplemental furniture (chairs, side tables, closet). I was staying with three friends and we were given the "apartment" on the top floor which turned out to be a little like a duplex. There was one single bedroom downstairs near the bathroom. There was a little staircase up to the second floor of the apartment which featured another single bed and a double bed.

The rooms were clean but could have had newer linens; but for the price, it made sense for our trip. Daily, the rooms were cleaned and new towels were provided. The staff was accommodating of our requests, but it was helpful that we had a native French speaker in the group who could converse with the staff.

Would definitely stay here again due to the location and pricing, if I was with friends or a younger family who could handle the stairs.

Wouldn't recommend this hotel for anyone who cannot climb stairs. When entering the hotel, there is a flight up to the lobby and reception desk. There is no elevator up to this floor that I was aware of. Also, if staying on the top floor, there is a flight of stairs without elevator access.

Also wouldn't recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a spacious, luxurious hotel. This is a pretty basic place to drop your luggage, take a shower and sleep.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulunyc0418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2007

Pros;
-Excellent location.-Resonable price. -Quite clean.
-Easy to use the microwave oven if you need to heat something (we travelled with a baby)

Cons;
-Lift starts from the 1st floor wich means that you have to carry your bags yourself to the reception (located on the 1st floor) the stairs are narrow and steep. Lift is very small.-No air condition. -Very simple rooms. -Room should have been recently renovated, but ours were not!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
Thank Travellerword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2005

Good location!

But a mad manager.

I recently attended the MEP conference at the Institut Henri Poincaré. While at this conference I stayed at the Hotel des Canettes which was on the list of recommended hotels. The manager knew there to be people attending a conference at a hotel and knew that I was one of these people.

Upon leaving both myself and an additional conference attendee (from Germany) had difficulties paying the hotel bill with our credit cards. Due to a temporary fault on the hotels payments machine, this could be deduced by any logically minded person.

As neither of my two cards nor his would clear. Both of my cards having plenty of available credit and I have no reason to believe that the German attendee would be insolvent either. After several attempts to get the cards to work I called my bank who assured me that there was not a problem with my account. The hotel manger then called the German’s card group and insisted on speaking to them himself. This conversation descended into shouting culminating in a short burst of expletives and him slamming the phone. Waving his arms in an aggressive fashion he then lunched into a tirade aimed at myself and the German attendee.

Calling us sh*ts (in French) who should not come on vacation if they can’t pay their bills, among other things I did not catch everything. Much of this tirade was in French with highlights repeated in English. The situation was in the end resolved after considerable difficulty caused wholly by the unreasonable behaviour of the hotel manager.

In full flow he made Basil Fawlty look meek!

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank cockney_upon_tyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2004

Hotel was clean and comfortable. Located in a good area for dining and shopping. The hotel is located on a street that has bars that attract younger crowds (late night bar goers)... but the hotel windows are amazing good when closed. Here are a few pros/cons:

Pros: Great location, clean. Price.
Cons: Have to leave key with desk, bar noise makes leaving window open not possible, stairs are steep.

We are currently in a dispute over the room charge. The hotel did not agree with our confirmed rate from our travel agent. Once we left, the hotel submitted a second charge on my visa card for the higher rate ($80 more per night). If it weren't for this, I would have rated the hotel higher. Confirm rate with hotel OWNER before checking in. I confirmed my rate at check in with the desk clerk (who happened to be the maid).

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2003

Just stayed one night at the hotel. Although basic, it was clean, comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. For a centrally located hotel with the Metro just around the corner, surrounded by excellent restaurants and night life, you could not ask for more at the price - 99 euros for two in a double room. Breakfast is only 7 euros extra and good value. Its very relaxed with breakfast served in your room if you want it. No hestitation in recommending it.
If I go back to Paris I will call this hotel first.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel du Dragon
Hotel du Dragon
#1,192 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clement
Hotel Le Clement
#574 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Welcome Hotel
Welcome Hotel
#666 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel La Perle
Hotel La Perle
#148 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Atlantis Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Tonic Hotel Saint Germain
Tonic Hotel Saint Germain
#924 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des Canettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Canettes

Property: Hotel Des Canettes
Address: 17 rue des Canettes | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,610 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Des Canettes 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel des Canettes is located on rue des Canettes, just opposite the prestigious private residence whose name and history reverberate in the street today.The hotel lies within a picturesque area of Paris where restaurants, boutiques, cinemas and entertainment abound : there is everything you need for a perfect vacation !Two steps from Saint-Germain des Prés : the historic heart of old Paris, the Paris of artists, writers, poets and musicians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Des Canettes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing