We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
Review of The Modern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Modern Hotel
Ranked #1,194 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Gevgelija, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This hotel has great location. The staff is polite and always at the customer's service. It is definitely worth the money. It is a cheap hotel, but all that one can need for a stay in Paris: clean rooms and hot water. The only flaw is the odd small in the room, probably due to the great humidity in Paris. Also, some more towels in the room would not harm anyone! All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel and if I had the chance to visit Paris again, I would surely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aleksandra314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    162
    112
    48
    70
See reviews for
69
184
48
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The hotel is near to a metro station.
The service is very poor.
The quality of buffet breakfast served in the morning is very poor
There is a television in room but not display of any channel and this problem was not rectified even after my 4 night stay in this hospital.
The shower area is too small too accommodate a 80Kg adult.
Toiletaries provided in the bathroom is very very inadequate
There is no intercom phone in the room .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Aloka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2012

First of all, none of the pictures shown here represent today's Modern Hotel. The rooms have been "renovated" to include flat screen TVs (just about the only positive aspect of the hotel I can think of). Where to start....there is a no smoking sign on the front door, but the owner/manager smokes 24/7, leading all the rooms to smell heavily of cigarette smoke. The shower & room ceilings were covered in mold. I don't mean your run of the mill wet spot with brown outline...I'm talking about BIG BLACK PEELING mold growths. The kind that causes places in the US to get shut down. The icing on the cake...FILTHY bedding. Everything was stained with various... "love stains." The cover obviously hadn't been washed at all, and the sheets & blankets were all permanently stained despite being assured that they've been washed by a laundering service by the front desk. I didn't even mention the owner's cat that buzzes around the lobby/breakfast area scratching anyone who gets close to it, but hopefully this is enough to help you realize you want to stay as far away from this place as possible.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was my second visit to this hotel.It has recently been completely redecorated to a nice standard with flat screen Tvs.Free breakfast included,very pleasant & helpful staff.The location is ideal for the Pigalle,Moulin Rouge & the Sacre' Coeur.Also close to Metro lines.You couldn't ask for more.I have stayed in 3 star Hotels which aren't up to this standard,hope to stay there many more times.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DottyD513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a great budget hotel in a city thats very expensive. As long as you go to this hotel prepared that its a budget hotel you won't be disappointed. We got a great price for 4 nights there and the location was great, its Paris, you don't need anything more than a bed and a bathroom as you should be spending your time out and about. And this hotel was fine, and quirky, yeah the floor wasn't straight, yeah the room was basic but I wasn't expecting the HIlton.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We booked this hotel as it was a great location and the price was cheap. We expected a decent but small room with its own toilet / shower. Instead we arrived to find out we were "Upgraded" to the Suite. At first this seemed like a plesant suprise until they told us the suite was located in another neighbourhood.

The room was better than expected, but again we booked soley based on the location and this new location was about a 30 minute walk from the hotel. At first we were thrilled to be located so close to Sacre Cour but then it turned out to be quite a hassle as the nearest metro station is a 15 minute walk and an extra metro ticket each way through the funicular (for those who cant manage the 10 flights of stairs down the hill). We did find that there was lots to see and do in the new area but again we were dissapointed in the unexpected additional costs of getting to and from the metro (The original hotel rooms are a 2 minute walk).

The service at the hotel was unacceptable when 5 days into the trip we realized that no one was going to come supply clean linens / additional toiletries. Call after call warranted a response of "We will send someone tomorrow" and no one ever came 3 days in a row. Eventually they stopped speaking with us and when asked about fresh sheets and clean towels they hung up on us. We call our travel provider to get them involved and when they contacted the hotel their staff members came by and made the bed and took out the trash. No new towels, No additional toilet paper. No new soap. No fresh sheets.

The response we got was "Come pick them up yourselves" which wouldnt be so bad if it wasnt a 30 minute walk or a 10 euro metro trip to go get. It wouldnt have been an issue if we were in the hotel as I am more than capable of going to a front desk to pick up my own stuff if need be. The end result was we had to buy our own toiletries and launder our own linens. Had we known in advance of the change of location we could have packed appropriately and none of this woudl have been an issue, but because of the no advanced notice and the lack of ANY willingnes to help / comprimise on the hotels part, I would say 2 Stars out of 5.

Room Tip: Check well in advance to see if you will get your room. If you get "Upgraded" to the suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianT88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

good hotel for what you are paying , if you want 4* this isnt the place for you but if you want cheap accomodation there is no better for where it is , great position just yards from the place de clichy tube , close to the sacre couer and other tourist destinations

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barney2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
République
Hotel Modern
Hotel Modern
#1,475 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Montmartre
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#1,256 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Hotel Gerando
#1,460 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel de la Felicite
Hotel de la Felicite
#1,520 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
#992 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Pavillon de Montmartre
Hotel Pavillon de Montmartre
#1,091 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Hotel

Property: The Modern Hotel
Address: 3 rue Forest, 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,194 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Modern Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Modern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing