We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fenelon Opera
Ranked #1,387 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I had a lovely stay at this small hotel in a great location in Paris. It was walking distance from the Sacre Coeur and just a minute walk away from the metro. It was exactly what I needed, the room was small, and the elevator fit one (slim) person. The staff was very friendly and courteous, the breakfast was perfect but like my review is titled you get what you pay for, it was very basic but in Paris I never spend much time in my hotel room. Also the wifi was included and was fast and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svdp1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    132
    95
    31
    36
See reviews for
72
97
56
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kaunas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The room was cozy, and the breakfast was good (croissants, hot chocolat, orange juice). It's pity the lift was out of order. Good choice to live in Paris for several days. Real 2 stars, recommendations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AusraKaunas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Everyone that has been to Paris before knows that finding good, reasonably priced accommodation can be a pain. Having been to Paris several times myself before, I must say the stay at Villa Fenelon for one night in October 2012 was a pleasant surprise.
Everything that is important to me for a hotel in Paris was excellent: The service was extremely friendly, the rooms were simple but clean, the breakfast was generous and delicious. Also, the connection to the Metro (2 minutes walk) is very convenient. The hotel is situated in a 'safe' area of Paris, so taking the Metro even late at night was not a problem and we didn't feel uncomfortable. The hotel has WIFI in the lobby, and while the homepage states that there is Wifi in the rooms too, this is only true for the rooms that are located in the 'main building'. There is also a 'side' building which you reach walking through the lovely court yard. The couple which we traveled with stayed in that building and couldn't get Wifi in their room (which reception confirmed). If you're hell-bend on having Wifi in your room make sure you stay in the main building!
As a summary I can say: Is this the best hotel I've ever stayed in? Definitely not! Is it very fancy or posh? I'd also give this one a 'no'. Is it a very clean, reasonably priced, conveniently located little hotel with friendly service and a lot of character, ESPECIALLY considering Paris, its various areas and prices: I'm gonna go with HELL YES! I would definitely stay here again and recommend the hotel to friends!

Room Tip: Pretty sure Wifi only works in the rooms in the 'main' building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarefulSlippery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I spent three nights at Villa Fenelon in September 2012 as I returned to Paris where I had already lived for over ten years and my only regret now is that I did not book another stay right away for my return trip from the South of France!

The hotel is charming, very clean, well kept and managed; there is a beautiful patio garden where breakfast or quiet talks may be enjoyed. The rooms are cozy and cleaned every day; there was nothing missing in the bathroom and the breakfast is good, fresh and very Parisian complete with pastries baked in the morning and excellent coffee or hot chocolate.

Sleep quality is excellent due to the quiet neighborhood, even if close to Barbes and Opera - it is a microcosm of its own. The location is terrific as this is a very safe corner of Paris right next to metro Cadet and close to neighborhood restaurants yet offers an easy access to all locations one may wish to visit, whether you are a local or visiting.

This hotel also has a very kind service and both check-in (with a voucher) and checkout were easy. I am glad to warmly recommend this hotel and know I will certainly return.

Make sure you book early if you like this hotel as it is easily fully booked!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anu Maarit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Villa Fenelon is only 2 stars, and priced accordingly.
It's a character hotel, in a quiet street, and bears no resemblance to the chain hotels nearby (where you could be in any country in the world and unaware of the fact you were in Paris.)
I note earlier comments about being dusty and undergoing renovations, but there was no evidence of ongoing building work while we were there, and it was spotless.
The staff were helpful, friendly, and available 24/7. They tolerated my attempts at speaking French, and their English was perfect.
The room we were in had been renovated (new windows, new curtains,professionally fabric-covered walls, new furniture), but tired carpet. The bathroom was tiny, perfectly functional, and very '80s with wall-to-wall mirror tiles.
There was a fan but no air con, but the weather wasn't too hot.
The tiny lift that people mention is full of character. There would be no room for a bigger lift, -and it'd be a shame to replace it with modern anyway. It only serves the rooms in the front building, -we were in the back building, past the garden. The back building has no lift, so getting bags up the stairs was a bit of a hassle, -I'm sure they would have assisted us if we hadn't looked so fit and healthy. If you struggle with stairs, i'd suggest requesting a room in the front building.
Breakfast was plentiful for a continental breakfast. A croissant, a pain-au-chocolat, and a granary-type roll each, with orange juice and a hot drink of our choice.
I would love to stay here again... I would love to be back in Paris again!

Room Tip: Front building has a tiny lift to the rooms whereas rooms in back building (looking over the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed in Villa Fenelon for 3 nights. Will never stay again. Staff were courteous but nothing more, not very welcoming. Breakfast is basic. We were given a room on the 5th floor. In 38 degree heat at night all we had was a small electric fan. Bed was uncomfortable, room was tiny, there was no holder for the shower head, and the shower door was broken. At 1am there was loud noises of banging and people talking right outside - it was people doing the linen. On return from a day out, we arrived to our room and the door had been left open by cleaning staff. Definitely the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Touring Hotel
Touring Hotel
#664 of 1,802 in Paris
496 reviews
Opera / Bourse
New Hotel Lafayette
New Hotel Lafayette
#1,052 of 1,802 in Paris
317 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Plaza Opera Hotel
Plaza Opera Hotel
#746 of 1,802 in Paris
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Ibis Paris Opera la Fayette
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Premier Opera Faubourg
Opera / Bourse
Les Matins de Paris & Spa
Les Matins de Paris & Spa
#494 of 1,802 in Paris
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fenelon Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fenelon Opera

Property: Hotel Villa Fenelon Opera
Address: 23 rue Buffault, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,387 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Fenelon Opera 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Villa Fenelon Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fenelon Opera
Fenelon Opera Hotel
Villa Fenelon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing