We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recommended and will return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture
Ranked #906 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“recommended and will return”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed in room 502 in August. No complaints about fair size room with small bathroom, very clean. Towels changed and room cleaned daily. We had two opening windows and very good air con. Plenty to eat for breakfast and packed lunch provided if required. The lift was the tiniest I've ever seen but got us to where we wanted to go. Spiralling stairs preferred for going down. Free Wi-Fi was excellent and computer/internet available downstairs. Staff were helpful and welcoming. We used L'Open Tour 3 days of bus and bateau boat and found it well worth the cost ( 48 euro pp). Hope to return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Axel, Directeur général at Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for posting your opinion on TRIPADVISOR.

We are pleased to have answered totally in your expectation. Indeed I attach great importance to votren home and the cleanliness of my room. We are pleased that our location you agreed. you must return to discover the famous walkways that are the showcase of our area (they dates XIX century)

Espmérant welcome you again,

Sincerely,

R.PLATEAU
DIRECTOR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    249
    113
    44
    36
See reviews for
100
273
28
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chino, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The best thing I can say about this hotel is that the room was clean. However it was very small. The bathroom was so small that the door would not open all the way. It hit the sink. Tile were laying on the floor when we arrived exposing the plumbing. Big tub with a shower head but no shower curtain. Hard to keep the floor from getting wet. They gave us one small hand towel and one bath towel even though two people were registered in the room. The air conditioning did not work at all. Luckily it was not too hot in Paris when we were there. We had to leave the windows open until we couldn't stand the noise from the street and the smell of cigarette smoke from the bums smoking on the street below us. We complained about the air conditioning and they sent someone up who said he fixed it but it still did not work. It is walking distance to the Louvre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BettyA964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Axel, Directeur général at Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for posting your opinion on TRIPADVISOR.

Sorry not to have responded completely to your expectations. Indeed I attach great importance to votren home and the cleanliness and kla resilience of our equipment. We made the necessities later to find a solution to deal with your problems.

Hoping to welcome you again,

Sincerely,

R.PLATEAU
DIRECTOR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here 3 days end of July. Weird smell in lobby, musty and no ventilation. Room very small and old. Wall Air conditioner not working properly. My husband cleaned the filter And it worked better. The bathroom is tiny, no counter space. They give you on small bath towel and one hand towel, no wash cloth. Cracked tile in bath. Would never stay here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janemarieroan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Axel, Directeur général at Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear

thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. we are very pleased that your stay went well.
Sorry that some elements you have not agreed.

in the hope to welcome you again,

sincerely,

R.PLATEAU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very small and friendly hotel. Staff were polite and helpful. Room was small but quite adequate, and clean. It overlooked the front and there was some shouting on Saturday night which only disturbed one of us. Bathroom rather small but clean and fine if only one uses at a time! Has a small elevator. Excellent breakfast with anything cold that you could want. Very convenient location, though the taxi driver wasn't sure where it was, And only 10 minutes from Gare du Nord. Short walk to major road and Metro. Walking distance to Opera and the Louvre

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frankyk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina N, Directeur général at Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture, responded to this review, April 28, 2016
Dear Guest ,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a positive review in Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you enyojed the stay at the hotel and very much look forward to host you again in the near future .

Kind Regards,

Valentina NOZZOLILLO - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

There are quite a few good things about this hotel. The staff was nice, the room small but functional, and silent nights (at least if you had a room facing the quiet courtyard). The very best thing though, is the location. It's a very short walk from Grand Boulevards Metro, there are plenty of good places to eat in the neighborhood, there's an excellent Monop' just around the corner and what seems to be decent night life - if you're into that sort of thing.

However - when we arrived it had been raining most of the day, and our room was a little clammy and there was a moldy smell from the bathroom and closet. The smell aired out well enough during the day, but we both woke up with stuffed noses every morning. Other minor issues we had was the completely uninspired breakfast and the scary elevator.

We do recommend it though, if you are looking for a good bargain on a hotel with a great location. If you suffer from any allergies, you might want to reconsider.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Axel, Directeur général at Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for posting your opinion on TRIPADVISOR.

We are sorry not to have responded completely to your expectations. we must consider your comments and made the necessities to solve this problem.

Hope to see you again,

Sincerely,

R.PLATEAU
DIRECTOR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This small but perfectly clean hotel is ideally located just minutes from the metro and the hop-on hop-off buses. T
he staff are friendly and helpful Lots of really nice restaurants and shops close by.
The breakfast is a substantial continental one and everyone gets a packed lunch containing a sandwich, water,crisps and a little bag of fruit..
It is very easy to get to the hotel from the airport.
I would recommend this hotel for convenience, cleanliness and helpfulness of the staff.

Room Tip: Its a very quiet area so I'm not sure if it matters which room you stay in. we were in room 503...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mar b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Axel, Directeur général at Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for posting your opinion on TRIPADVISOR.

We are pleased that we met your expectations. we do everything to make you discover our beautiful city. We provide enormously important to the maintenance and cleanliness of your room and are proud to offer our spacious family rooms located under the roofs of Paris.

Hope to see you again,

Sincerely,

R.PLATEAU
DIRECTOR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radlett
2 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Had a really good experience staying at the Hotel Axel Opera. Great location - 2 mins walk from Grands Boulevard Metro station with lots of shops & restaurants nearby. The hotel was as described & the room was cleaned nicely. Free wifi in all parts of the hotel was great & the breakfast was really nice, lovely fresh bread! We stayed with our 2 children & our duplex room worked really well. A very good value hotel - highly recommended!

Room Tip: Duplex family room great as children can sleep downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Axel, Directeur général at Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for posting your opinion on TRIPADVISOR.

We are pleased that we met your expectations. we do everything to make you discover our beautiful city. We provide enormously important to the maintenance and cleanliness of your room and are proud to offer our spacious family rooms located under the roofs of Paris.

Hope to see you again,

Sincerely,

R.PLATEAU
DIRECTOR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Sacha by HappyCulture
Hotel Sacha by HappyCulture
#373 of 1,800 in Paris
440 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Maxim Folies
Maxim Folies
#1,060 of 1,800 in Paris
379 reviews
Opera / Bourse
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
#434 of 1,800 in Paris
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Pavillon Opera Bourse
Pavillon Opera Bourse
#959 of 1,800 in Paris
292 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel de la cite Rougemont
Hotel de la cite Rougemont
#454 of 1,800 in Paris
608 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Bresil Opera
Hotel Bresil Opera
#915 of 1,800 in Paris
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture

Property: Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture
Address: 15 rue de Montyon | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #906 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few minutes from the Grands Boulevards and Grands Magasins in Paris, Hotel Axel Opera is a beautiful charm hotel that offers the best comfort and the best service throughout your stay in Paris. Every day from 2pm to 5:30pm, discover our HappyTime "Comptoir Gourmand": tea, coffee and pastries, you are our guest ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Axel Opera Hotel Paris
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing