We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture
Nearby Hotels
$327
$315
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Le Six(Paris)
$289
$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Eiffel Seine(Paris)
$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$1,778
$1,293
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$228
$207
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$201
Hotel Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$271
$218
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$324
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$282
$248
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$274
$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (599)
Filter reviews
599 results
Traveler rating
105
272
127
53
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
272
127
53
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel membersmetro stationsmall elevatorcozy hotellots of restaurantsfrench hotelthe hotel offersnice stayyogurtcentral paristhe ground floorlate at nightside streetliftoperabbc1louvre
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 599 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I (room 606) and our daughter and her husband (room 201) recently spent a week at Axel Opera. The stay was delightful. The hotel has modern rooms on a quiet side street. They are small by American standards but plenty large by European norms. Beds are good, bathrooms modern and well equipped, most windows open on to a guiet courtyard.
The hotel location is actually very convenient to all major sites. The 8 & 9 subway lines pass just two blocks away. The 85 bus goes south to the Louvre, le Cite, and the left bank and north to Sacre Coeur. The north bound stop is just one block, while south bound is four blocks (10 minute walk). Busses are very fast and generally less crowded than the subway.
Breakfast is a very nice European continental breakfast. There was ham and salami, three kinds of cheese, fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea, and wonderful French croissants, baguettes and pastries.
We took advantage of the free bag lunch several days. Each bag contains a sandwich, apple slices, chips and water. There are a wide variety of sandwiches so ask for one you like. Whether you're looking to save time or money, it's a great extra.
The staff were very helpful. We took train and taxi to hotel from CDG. (Time consuming, a lot of dragging suitcases through subway connections.) On our return to CDG we used the shuttle service advertised at the hotel. Worked great. Right on time, very comfortable, and in the end the same cost for two people.
Overall a great experience. I'll stay here every time I come to Paris in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WHHardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Axel, Directeur général at Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Madam,Dear Sir,

We would like to thank to give your opinion on the TRIPADVISOR WEBSITE.

We are very happy to watch that our services were ok at all the levels. We try to proposed you the best one all the time.

we hope to see you again

Best regards

Richard PLATEAU
MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at the duplex sixth floor room number 601. I loved it. There's nothing like waking up in the morning, stepping out to the rooftop patio from your room with a view of Paris streets and buildings. The rooftop patio is definitely a plus. I think they just renovated the rooms so it looks modern and clean with no carpets. The location is great with so many bistros, bars and only 300 meters from Grand Boulevard metro station. Breakfast was pretty decent with toasted bread, croissants, pain au chocolat, cereals, cheeses, fruit preserves, coffee and juice. They also gave each of us lunch boxes which consists of chicken or tuna sandwich, potato chips, apple slices and a bottle of water. We ended up going to the park and eat our sandwiches, it was pretty nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shifteight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Axel, Directeur général at Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Madam, dear sir,

firsdt we would like to thank you to give your opinion about our hotel.

We try during the stay of our guests to give the best service during their stay (room/breakfast/service).

We hope to welcome you in the future,

best regards

Richard PLATEAU
MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

the rooms are small but that is what you should expect in Paris if you are staying in the older parts of the city. The room was clean and the breakfast in the morning quite sufficient. Even if you choose to skip breakfast you are not far away from a cafe for a hot breakfast.Excellent staff -extremely helpful and accommodating. The lift definately is a one person with medium bag only, but if you are willing to play tag team with a partner it can be quite funny. The location was excellent and central.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TassMazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Axel, Directeur général at Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Madam,Dear Sir,

Thanks very much to give your opinion on the TRIPADVISOR website.

We are very happy that you like the service, the breakfast, the team and the rooms.

Our lift is a small one, but it's working well.

We hope to welcome you in a new atmosphere,

Best regards.

Richard PLATEAU
MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Quality Hotel Axel Opera is a budget hotel and regarding this it is a very good option when travelling to Paris. It is clean, rooms are small but have everything needed, good/small bathroom, and a great sleap quality. Staff has been very friendly. Location is great. Nearby the Grand Boulevards metro station, the hotel is walking distance (max 20/30min) from some of Paris main attrations as the Opera, Le Louvre, Notre Dame/Quartie Latin or Le Sacre Couer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel2770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Axel, Directeur général at Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Madame, Dear Sir,

Thanks to give your opinion for your stay in QUALITY HOTEL AXEL OPERA. We try to give you the best solution for a stay in PARIS with a clean room, a good breakfast the adit value with the LUNCHBOX ,a good service to help you to discover PARIS.

We hope to welcome you again in the future in a new atmosphere

best regards

Richard PLATEAU
Directeur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is a budget hotel and has a couple of drawbacks, but overall is a fine choice.

I stayed here on points. Our room was on the sixth floor, and as the elevator was quite small this might have been an inconvenience. But as it turned out we never really had a long wait or jam at the elevator. But the elevator here is very small, only holds three people, and even then one of the three needs to be on the small side, and the maximum weight is 225 kg.

I actually found this hotel to be a bit far from what I personally consider to be the "Opera" district, but the location was nice enough, only a long block north of the Grand Boulevards metro stop. This line doesn't really go anywhere one would want to go, so you will need to change, but it's nice to have a convenient stop. Overall the neighborhood was nice enough, and was walking distance to the base of Montmatre.

I thought our hotel room was clean and nice. Really couldn't ask for any more. I think the key to remember here is that Paris is a very expensive city and this is a budget hotel. When viewed in that light, this hotel is a great value. The staff was very kind and spoke English well, although I would note they are not obligated to do so.

Some jerky reviewer complained about the breakfast. It was a fine continental breakfast consisting of a variety of rolls and croissants, with bottled jam and honey. There was packaged cheese and a plate of ham available. Plus coffee and tea, of course. If you want more, the Hilton has a $50 breakfast buffet that is outstanding, and I highly recommend that you forego the free breakfast here and avail yourself of the $50-per-person breakfast at the Hilton.

The hotel offers a free boxed lunch. I did not know whether this was a one-time or everyday thing, but we only got it once. Paris is an expensive city, and having this available for a picnic helped us to save some money, although we really blew the better part of the savings by buying fruit at Heddiard. The lunch consists of a packaged sandwich, a water and a bag of chips. It would cost four or five euros in a store and probably costs the hotel a little less than half that, so it's a nice something extra.

Whether I would stay again would depend on the price. I would prefer to be closer to Opera or in the St. Germain/Latin area, but if the price was right, I'd stay in a heartbeat. This hotel is a great value.

Room Tip: Third or fourth floor probably best since that will get you high than street noise but allow you an easy walk down if you don't want to wait for the elevator.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crack-O-Noon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Axel, Directeur général at Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Sir,dear madam,

thanks for you opinion on the TRIPADVISOR WEBSITE.

We try to give the best service for each guests ans we try to give a special service for each type of guest , fair guest or tourist guest. each type of guests wait for different information for the first one, we know that the most important is t manage for a taxi or to have a good restaurant for the diner. For the second, we know that's our mission is to "drive" those inside PARIS for the metro, for the visits......We can make a "personal" welcome.

We hope to welcome you again for fair period or leisure

Best regards

Richard PLATEAU
DIRECTEUR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews