We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are small but location is superb”
Review of Hotel de l'Avenir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de l'Avenir
Ranked #1,487 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed December 15, 2010

The hotel is in a great location with easy access to the Metro and St. Germaine, Jardins de Luxembourg and great shopping.
Rooms are very small (which is faily typical in Paris) and , but newly decorated.
The beds are low to the ground. I had a sore back and found it hard to get up.
Colors are nice but too dark because the rooms are small and don't get much daylight.
Some bathrooms only have very small tubs, so ask for a room with a shower.
Breakfast is efficient and sufficient.
There is free internet.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoNanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 111 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2010

Nice little spot. This is not a luxury hotel, don't recall the amenities being special but everything was clean. He brought us our breakfast which consisted of pastries and coffee. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigfundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

I always stay here when I visit Paris and one could get a room at any time but with the internet things have changed & it's not so easy anymore. On 2 occasions I had a room on the top floor - nor good, very small & very hot. The staff are not usually very helpful. The position is brilliant it's seconds from the Luxembourg gardens & a short walk to St Germain. I've stayed in many hotels in paris & this is the only one that has had a second visit.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curryking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

1. The phone in the room didn't work.
2. The breakfast had no protein at all. For 8 euros, this is a rip-off.
3. I was charged 8 euros for one local phone call, despite the fact that the phone in my room was broken.
4. The Internet access they advertise was seldom existent. When it was, it was so slow, snail mail would have gotten to your recipient earlier.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patrioticpilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

Booked this hotel using a combination of Trip Advisor and Google Earth. It provided everything we hoped for at an affordable price. The rooms are small (but aren't they all in Paris), the breakfast minimal, but the location in a very plush part of Paris is the jewel in the crown. You can walk to almost everything and the Metro is just through the park. It is a bit of a walk with suitcases though!
Highly recommend this hotel and we won't stay anywhere else in Paris from now on.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MaggieS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2008

hotel de l'avenir is a jewel of a 3-star hotel...located on a narrow residential street in a charming neighborhood in the 6th arrondisement just 100 meters away from jardin du luxembourg, the most beautiful city park in paris...it is a small hotel with about 30 rooms on 6 floors but the hotel is big on comfort, convenience and courtesy...the staff is uniformly gracious, hospitable and friendly...they all speak english but are genuinely french...there is a computer with internet access in the lobby...the rooms have recently been remodeled...the beds are so comfortable and the rooms so quiet that i rarely awoke before noon...the showers are rather cramped but more importantly have plenty of hot water...i have stayed in the hotel for at least a week every year since 1990...and i look forward to returning to the hotel every year for many years to come.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank maitaifine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2007

This was a quaint hotel 2 minutes away from Le Jardin Du Luxembourg in a upper class quiet neighbourhood. It does not offer the luxuries of a North American style hotel but, for the price, it shouldn't be expected. The room is quiet small but, for two people, it works. The mattress could have been softer but, it's a simple hotel. As a North American, do not expect what you get at home, because Europe is hundreds of years older and was built with smaller accomodations. The lift is small but operational. The hotel offers breakfast at an extra cost, a nice computer and library to relax in. But, it's in a great area, you are right next to the exciting Latin Quartier (cheapest place to eat in Paris). You are close to the Metro, Pantheon and other sites in the 6th district. The hotel was nice enough to hold on to my luggage when I checked out as I had four hours to kill before my train to London. Great service, the staff spoke English. Paris was lovely!!! Sorry no pictures of the room but, I promise the bathrooms and rooms are VERY clean.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dnapromos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Perreyve Hotel
Perreyve Hotel
#1,019 of 1,804 in Paris
225 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Atelier Saint-Germain
Atelier Saint-Germain
#1,160 of 1,804 in Paris
274 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Edouard 6
Hotel Edouard 6
#569 of 1,804 in Paris
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Best Western Aramis Saint-Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg
Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg
#1,009 of 1,804 in Paris
365 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du Bresil
Hotel du Bresil
#1,172 of 1,804 in Paris
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Avenir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Avenir

Address: 65 rue Madame | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,487 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $107 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Avenir 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de l'Avenir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Avenir
De l Avenir Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing