We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Paris Opera Garnier
Ranked #520 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stay in this hotel on a very regular basis for business and it is in a great location, really efficient and friendly staff and the rooms are always very clean and comfortable. It is expensive for what it is, but then all hotels in Paris are this way. In this hotel, at least, you know what you are paying for. The rooms are on the small side, but they are always clean, the bed is very comfortable, there are plenty of pillows and towels and you get all the toiletries and everything you need for a good stay. It is located down a little side street not far from the St Lazare station, so even if you get a room facing the street, it is pretty quiet. If you ask for a room overlooking the courtyard, you are guaranteed a very quiet night. A nice touch is that they also often have little soirees, where there is wine tasting or food tasting in the lobby and the staff are always keen to help and make your stay as comfortable as possible. Highly recommend it if you are wanting to stay in Paris in a central location. There are plenty of restaurants around the area and the metro is just a minute's walk away. You can easily walk to the Opera, Madeleine, Printemps and Galeries Lafayette, you're on the Boulevard Haussmann in 2 minutes and even the Arc de Triomphe and Champs Elysees are not far way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard (le cours) - it is quiet and peaceful
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,089)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Paris Opera Garnier
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 1,089 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

The standard of customer service & cleanliness of the hotel was great. The location was also good, close to the large department stores so good for shopping; plenty of cafes, shops and restaurants nearby to chose from and also easy walking distance to some of the key tourist attractions.

I have stayed in other hotels in Paris, so know that room sizes in general can sometimes be quite small and paying extra for a larger room can be worth it if this is important for your stay. So having read the reviews and recommendations for this hotel on Tripadvisor decided to pay the extra for a privilege room – it really wasn’t worth the extra money! We were very disappointed by the size of the rooms, particularly as we paid extra for a larger room, wanting the extra space. The bathroom in particular was tiny, far too small– not even enough room for your own toiletries.

The other problem we encountered was noise levels…the walls are paper-thin, even though again we paid for a privilege room which is supposedly sound proofed.

Probably a good hotel if you wanted to stay in the Opera area, are traveling alone and are not concerned by noise levels; otherwise my advice would be to book a different hotel – there are others which provide larger rooms as standard, and much larger rooms if you pay extra

Room Tip: Paying for the room upgrade to a Privilege room really wasn't worth if for us. The bathroom was...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reb2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

A lot of people mention that the rooms are small. But we thought the size was good (room 203). Even I who was on crutches, managed to move around in the room alright. The only thing we felt was missing was a suitcase stand, but that wasn't a real problem.

The room was nice and clean, the staff very friendly, and the bar had a good selection. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel (that was 18€ per person/per day). But with the hotel's proximity to three Starbucks, and numerous places that sold croissants, baguettes etc, the biggest "problem" was which place to choose.

The hotel is close to bus stops, metro stations, sightseeing buses and shopping. If I go back to Paris, I will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

After arriving by train from the Normandy coast, the hotel was an easy walk from Gare St Lazare. We arrived around midday and didn't expect our room to be ready, but the hotel were very happy to store our luggage. We set off for a long walk around Montmarte and returned later in the afternoon. Our room was small and the bathroom tiny, but all clean, modern and the bed very comfortable. Plenty of choices for a delicious breakfast. If you are looking to stay in this section of Paris, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just returned from a three night break at this hotel. The location is excellent, right by Saint Lazare station, with plenty of shops and cafes in the area. Our room, 109, was small but spotlessly clean. Not too sure about the disposable paper cups on the tea tray, as that means if you make a coffee when you get in in the evening, you can't really have one again when you wake up!

Friendly staff and clean, modern, communal areas. Sadly lacking a shelf in the bathroom to put toiletries etc on, and nowhere really to store your cases when you have unpacked them, but overall a pleasant place to stay and we are already looking to go back on another Eurostar train and hotel deal.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jonnywizznbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three nights. We had booked a room one above the basic but were upgraded to one of their biggest rooms so size was not an issue. The staff were all friendly and helpful, the bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet even with the window open (it was facing into the central courtyard).

Everything was spotlessly clean as would be expected in a 4 star though the bathroom had a smell of eau de drains about it. The shower over the bath had the usual inadequate seal so the floor was washed every time we showered.

Breakfast was quite good with the usual buffet (with good scrambled egg!). The coffee offered from the jug was cool and not very coffee-like, but there was a capsule coffee machine available for the real thing.

The free wifi was a selling point (Oi- you hotels who dont have it or charge extra for it- it's time to catch on!) but having to log on every time you're away from the keypad for more than 2 minutes is a pain, made more annoying as it often defaults to the wrong log-on screen forcing resetting etc. I suspect that this is their supplier's (Orange) fault. Also the log on screen for a phone is very hard to negotiate. Because wifi is increasingly important I'm dropping the star rating a category for this......

By the way- we went to Certa over the road for a meal- not bad.

In summary- not bad (though not cheap either!).

Room Tip: Try for a free upgrade- the basic rooms looked somewhat 'bijou'.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HughWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights. Plan was for 4 nights but when I landed they said they had oversold and had no room. This could have been a disaster but they did an amazing job finding me an alternative hotel for the night and upgraded me for the rest of the trip. The rooms are smallish but the location is just perfect- right over the Saint Lazare station. Without exception the front office and restaurant staff were polite, helpful and went of the way. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRJha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc P, Deputy General Manager at Mercure Paris Opera Garnier, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel and please accept once again our sincerely appologies.
 
My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.
 
Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.
 
Yours sincerely,

Marc PIlard
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Mercure Paris Opera Louvre
Mercure Paris Opera Louvre
#797 of 1,803 in Paris
401 reviews
Hilton Paris Opera
#309 of 1,803 in Paris
1,721 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Daunou Opera
Hotel Daunou Opera
#453 of 1,803 in Paris
476 reviews
Entrepôt
Mercure Paris Opera Grands Boulevards
Opera / Bourse
Hotel L'Horset Opera, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris Opera Garnier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Opera Garnier

Address: 4 rue de l Isly, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Green Hotel in Paris
#311 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#391 Family Hotel in Paris
#592 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $154 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Opera Garnier 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of Paris, near the Opera and the Deparment Stores "Printemps" and "Galeries Lafayette". Soundproofed & air-conditioned rooms. Direct dial-telephone, internet connection.TV, safe. Bar. Flowered courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Paris Opera Garnier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Opera Garnier Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Opera Garnier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing