We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice boutique hotel”
Review of Des Ducs d'Anjou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Des Ducs d'Anjou
Ranked #1,020 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

This is a very nice boutique hotel in an excellent location just outside one of the exits to Chatalet Metro Station.
The reception staff were all very friendly and helpful and spoke English.
We had a Superior rooming the 2nd floor overlooking the street and even it was busy outside with all the bars and restaurants it was nice and quiet in our room.
Our room had near silent air conditioning which kept the room at a comfortable temperature.
The flat screen tv had a good range of channels including BBC World and CNN.
The bed was very comfortable.
I was impressed with the room decor and how clean it and the bathroom was.
It appeared that both our towels and sheets were changed everyday.
The only reason I didnt give it a full 5 star rating was because the bedrooms are on the small size and the bathroom is tiny. This though is not unusual for boutique style hotels in Paris and in no way spoiled our stay.
There are plenty of good places to eat very nearby.
A nice hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevinse16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 363 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

We've all been to Paris and stood at overpriced shoe boxes...so after getting a fantastic deal online for this hotel, expectations were rather low. Traveling with my girl friend, we were surprised by excellent service and well sized rooms. We wished for a quiet, spacious room...no problem. Chilling a bottle of champagne that was NOT purchased in the hotel - no problem - but served in a nice ice bucket with glasses to our room. Twice during our stay! Staff was friendly, always helpful, always smiling...There were renovations going on in the hotel but no disturbing noises or anything that bothered. We will most definetely return to this cute place, also because location was just perfect: just right off the metro Chatelet, walking distance to Louvre, Le Marais, St Germain...simply lovely! Thank you to the beautiful staff that made our stay unique and very much enjoyable.

Room Tip: Preview rooms online and ask the staff what they can do for you, I'm sure they'll try to acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cardocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudreyAnjou, Réceptionniste at Des Ducs d'Anjou, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Guests,

How good we feel to read and learn that you enjoyed your stay with us! Your kind comments are most encouraging and help to motivate all our staff to keep improving the quality of our services.

We will assure you of our best attention and care at all time for your next visit.

It is very important to us. Thank you so much for the warm support from the whole staff.


Best regards.

Marie-Line Cuvelier.

The reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Basic but very nice Hotel in the centre. The Subway station Chatelet is directly beside the Hotel entrance. 10 Minutes to Notre Dame by foot. Nice and clean rooms, a bit small. We had a good price by HRS. Very friendly staff. Perfect Hotel for short Paris trips.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snoop445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Wie Enjoyed our stay in Duc d'Anjou very much! Wie had a great time, with great thanks to Woël for the fantastic service he offered and his daily friendly smile :-) and the superfriendly woman who served our breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my sister, we are both under the age of 25 and have done a lot of travelling in the past together. This is the WORST hotel either of us have ever stayed in, we did not feel safe, we were not given the room we purchased and it dampened the whole ‘Paris’ experience greatly. When we checked in, we were met with a 25-30 year old man, who after checking us in, advised that his day off was the next day and questioned everything we had planned and if we would like him to show us around. We both found this very strange and I have never had a check in like it. We said that we would be fine and didn’t need any help, but he insisted on giving us his number and told us to phone him. Needless to say, we didn’t phone him and were a bit concerned about the way he acted. On the third day, we returned to the hotel late afternoon and the man was working on reception again, he was with another guest, so we just said hello and went to our room. About 5 minutes later, the room phone rang, we didn’t pick the phone up as we didn’t want to speak to the receptionist as we knew no-one else would be phoning our room (our family and friends could contact us on mobile). The phone rang a second time, a third time, a fourth time, then we unplugged the phone from the wall as he was ringing continuously. About 10 minutes later he came and knocked at the room door. We did not answer. Then about 5 minutes after that, he knocked at the room door again and proceeded to let himself in!!!! I COULD NOT BELIEVE THIS. I have NEVER been in a hotel where the staff just let themselves into your room and completely harass you. He then tried to have a conversation with us, although, at this point my politeness had completely worn away and I was extremely angry. He wanted to know why we did not phone him and wanted to tell us where to go that night… not acceptable. He also asked if there was a problem with the phone, I confirmed we had unplugged it from the wall as we did not want to speak to anyone. He then advised that he was finishing at 7.30 and wanted us to go down to reception prior to this so he could give us recommendations, I advised I would not be doing this and we are not interested. After this whole experience, we decided to put the bathroom door across the room door and push our heaviest case over to try and lock ourselves in, as clearly the lock on the door was pointless. About 7.25, he knocked at the room again. We ignored it as we had before, next thing his key turns in the door again to let himself in. Luckily, the case behind the doors worked and we just shouted for him to leave us alone. He tried to persist, but we just kept asking him to leave us alone. I felt completely harassed, unsafe and very scared, as we didn’t know what he was going to do next. Your room is meant to be your own private space and I just felt completely violated and terrified to have to stay in the hotel another night. Another point with the hotel is that we had specifically paid for an upgraded room with a balcony, which we were extremely excited about. When we arrived and checked our room, there was no balcony. When we arrived back at the hotel later on the first evening after dinner, we advised the (other) receptionist of the problem, he checked the computer and said it wouldn’t be a problem to move the next day. We weren’t too happy that 1 night out of 3 was in the wrong room, however, agreed that this would be a reasonable solution. The next morning, we spoke to a different receptionist again to confirm that we would be moving room that day to be told that no, that information was wrong and the room we have is fine. I confirmed several times that I had purposely booked a room with balcony to be told that “we obviously put the best rooms on the websites so that you book the hotel. It doesn’t mean that it the room you will get”, so basically, false advertising. I said that I wanted it reported to the manager and stressed how unhappy I was with the false pictures of the room we would get. Later that night the same receptionist from the morning was still working and advised that as we have been out all day we couldn’t speak with the manager and that the manager would do nothing to make our stay any better. I would strongly recommend that no young female stays at this hotel and that if you do book a room here, be aware that you will not get what is described. The worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: this is a very noisy hotel, we stayed at the front, maybe the back of the hotel is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank scottraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudreyAnjou, Réceptionniste. at Des Ducs d'Anjou, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Guests,

What a bad commentary! How unbearable the behaviour of the receptionnist, it is not tolerable to learn that you had a bad experience in the hotel and it ruined your stay in Paris! How come you did not tell anything about the event, you came several time at the desk to ask for a room with the balcony but you did not mention what was the most important, your security! You are telling that the hotel made false advertise just because you did not get the room with the balcony:
First of all, you booked a classic double room and you get the classic double room, the classic double room with the balcony is upon request and only if it is available.
My name is Marie-Line Prisca Cuvelier, I worked at the reception, I remember perfecly the circumtances of your complain and we had a long conversation, the manager told me that the only think we could do to make your stay better was to offer you the breakfasts and it is very kind from her, she wanted also to speak to you but you were out all the day so it is normal she is very busy, she could not expect you the whole day long.
You refused the breakfasts saying that you did not care about it! Upon you check out you did not ask for any compensation then, so this absolutly to ridiculous to write such lies!
Possibly, would you be kind to contact the hotel because we think that your comment should be reported to the police.

Thank you again for the time taken to write the long letter which is: your complain.

Looking forward to hearing from you!

Best regards.

Marie Line Prisca Cuvelier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Don't be fooled by the hotel's classy website. I booked this three-star establishment expecting minimal, rudimentary service. I was wrong. The service (if you call it service at all) was HORRIBLE.

The receptionist who was there most of the time was rude and dismissive from the start. When I approached his desk to get checked in, he was busy greeting an older, white female customer and her child. He seemed really loving and friendly so I thought that we were in for a great customer service experience. However, once I got his attention (after standing right in front of him for 3 mins, while he plays with the child), he started picking up phone calls and ignoring us for another 3-4 mins. It wasn't the wait that seemed off, but rather the manner he ignored us, without excusing himself or apologizing for the inconvenience..etc I almost felt as if we were interfering with his phone call. Meanwhile, he just seemed annoyed with us during every interaction we shared throughout our stay, until check-out. He was snarky, rude, and made us feel unwelcome. My friend and I both noticed that other guests were treated with much more respect. We thought that it might have something to do with the fact that we are young, Asian women.

One most appalling experience I had with said receptionist was the way he scolded both me and my friend at two separate occasions about the key. When we checked in, he told us something about leaving our key with the receptionist. We're not sure whether this is just an option or a requirement. His English was so poor, we were both confused. Either way, we left the hotel everyday without leaving the key behind and we were never reminded to do so. One day we got separated and my friend came back without the key. She asked the receptionist to let her into the room, and he was upset and gave her this big lecture on the key and how much of an inconvenience she was for making him leave the desk for 2 minutes. (This is most ironic, as he was actually away from his desk for quite a while when my friend returned to the hotel.) When I came back, I was again given the same lecture, in the most patronizing tone possible. I'm sorry, but even if we were in the wrong, we are customers. The way he spoke to us was simply inappropriate and unpleasant.

Some other receptionists were actually acceptable, but most were not great. We asked another whether shops at Champs Elysees would be open on July 14. He gave us a resounding are-you-even-kidding-me no, but we went anyway and he couldn't be more wrong, the street was packed and lots of sales were going on. I'm not sure why he would give us instructions if he wasn't absolutely sure?

Now, the location is okay and is close to all important tourist landmarks, but the street below is a bit too noisy and busy for my own taste. It's also far from regular grocery stores and bakeries, which, in my opinion, compromised the whole Paris experience.

The room was reasonably sized, but the bed was very tiny. I don't think it is actually a Queen. Both my friend and I did not sleep very well because the bed was not very comfortable. Also, the bathroom - a huge pet peeve of mine is that there is no door separating the shower from the toilet/sink so the whole bathroom flooded after each time we shower. Also, the lift was very very tiny. We can barely fit a luggage bag in it! Otherwise, the interior design was good, but you already know that from the website.

Overall, I did not enjoy staying at this hotel and I would not recommend it to my friends. I don't want to get anyone fired or reprimanded, but I just want to stress the importance of good customer service to the management.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asiapproach8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Good hotel in the good location easy to find everything near hotel such as restaurant and supermarket and many shop around the hotel and the subway just the door step from the hotel ... From the hotel can be walk to "Hotel De ville" and "Notre-Dame" or even to "Louvre" for just only 15 minute

I stay in the suit room that very nice and big enough for traveler with family

If you find some hotel with the good location... Highly recommend for this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nan_sky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudreyAnjou, Réceptionniste at Des Ducs d'Anjou, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Guests,

It is such a nice review and the whole staff member really wishes that your stay with your family in Des Ducs D 'anjou was a memorable souvenir in our Beautiful city.
Once again thank you for the time taken to send us these words which really motivates us to give the best we can to make our guests feel comfortable and bring some family atmosphere welcoming children with their parents, it is very important for us to know that we succeed in making you enjoy your time here in the hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerly.

Marie-Line Cuvelier.

The Reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#511 of 1,803 in Paris
688 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Elixir
Hotel Elixir
#632 of 1,803 in Paris
516 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#1,114 of 1,803 in Paris
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Britannique
Hotel Britannique
#148 of 1,803 in Paris
1,570 reviews
Les Halles
Best Western Premier Ducs de Bourgogne
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#702 of 1,803 in Paris
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Des Ducs d'Anjou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Des Ducs d'Anjou

Address: 1 rue Sainte Opportune | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#389 Business Hotel in Paris
#454 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $145 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Des Ducs d'Anjou 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Paris's cultural and historic centre, the capital's finest attractions can quickly and easily be reached. 24 Hour reception - Our friendly, helpful team are available to assist you in the bright, spacious reception area with its delightful thirties decor. Our 38 air-conditioned rooms and suites have recently been renovated, each one has its own individual style and all the comforts you need for an excellent night's sleep... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Des Ducs d'Anjou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Ducs d`Anjou Hotel Paris
Des Ducs d Anjou Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing