We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service ruined the stay”
Review of Des Ducs d'Anjou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Des Ducs d'Anjou
Ranked #1,095 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Don't be fooled by the hotel's classy website. I booked this three-star establishment expecting minimal, rudimentary service. I was wrong. The service (if you call it service at all) was HORRIBLE.

The receptionist who was there most of the time was rude and dismissive from the start. When I approached his desk to get checked in, he was busy greeting an older, white female customer and her child. He seemed really loving and friendly so I thought that we were in for a great customer service experience. However, once I got his attention (after standing right in front of him for 3 mins, while he plays with the child), he started picking up phone calls and ignoring us for another 3-4 mins. It wasn't the wait that seemed off, but rather the manner he ignored us, without excusing himself or apologizing for the inconvenience..etc I almost felt as if we were interfering with his phone call. Meanwhile, he just seemed annoyed with us during every interaction we shared throughout our stay, until check-out. He was snarky, rude, and made us feel unwelcome. My friend and I both noticed that other guests were treated with much more respect. We thought that it might have something to do with the fact that we are young, Asian women.

One most appalling experience I had with said receptionist was the way he scolded both me and my friend at two separate occasions about the key. When we checked in, he told us something about leaving our key with the receptionist. We're not sure whether this is just an option or a requirement. His English was so poor, we were both confused. Either way, we left the hotel everyday without leaving the key behind and we were never reminded to do so. One day we got separated and my friend came back without the key. She asked the receptionist to let her into the room, and he was upset and gave her this big lecture on the key and how much of an inconvenience she was for making him leave the desk for 2 minutes. (This is most ironic, as he was actually away from his desk for quite a while when my friend returned to the hotel.) When I came back, I was again given the same lecture, in the most patronizing tone possible. I'm sorry, but even if we were in the wrong, we are customers. The way he spoke to us was simply inappropriate and unpleasant.

Some other receptionists were actually acceptable, but most were not great. We asked another whether shops at Champs Elysees would be open on July 14. He gave us a resounding are-you-even-kidding-me no, but we went anyway and he couldn't be more wrong, the street was packed and lots of sales were going on. I'm not sure why he would give us instructions if he wasn't absolutely sure?

Now, the location is okay and is close to all important tourist landmarks, but the street below is a bit too noisy and busy for my own taste. It's also far from regular grocery stores and bakeries, which, in my opinion, compromised the whole Paris experience.

The room was reasonably sized, but the bed was very tiny. I don't think it is actually a Queen. Both my friend and I did not sleep very well because the bed was not very comfortable. Also, the bathroom - a huge pet peeve of mine is that there is no door separating the shower from the toilet/sink so the whole bathroom flooded after each time we shower. Also, the lift was very very tiny. We can barely fit a luggage bag in it! Otherwise, the interior design was good, but you already know that from the website.

Overall, I did not enjoy staying at this hotel and I would not recommend it to my friends. I don't want to get anyone fired or reprimanded, but I just want to stress the importance of good customer service to the management.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asiapproach8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 375 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

Good hotel in the good location easy to find everything near hotel such as restaurant and supermarket and many shop around the hotel and the subway just the door step from the hotel ... From the hotel can be walk to "Hotel De ville" and "Notre-Dame" or even to "Louvre" for just only 15 minute

I stay in the suit room that very nice and big enough for traveler with family

If you find some hotel with the good location... Highly recommend for this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nan_sky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudreyAnjou, Réceptionniste at Des Ducs d'Anjou, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Guests,

It is such a nice review and the whole staff member really wishes that your stay with your family in Des Ducs D 'anjou was a memorable souvenir in our Beautiful city.
Once again thank you for the time taken to send us these words which really motivates us to give the best we can to make our guests feel comfortable and bring some family atmosphere welcoming children with their parents, it is very important for us to know that we succeed in making you enjoy your time here in the hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerly.

Marie-Line Cuvelier.

The Reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

clean
good position
good traffic
good service
i like this hotel

close to big metro
............................................

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Quentin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a lovely boutique hotel with the friendliest, most helpful staff. Our room/suite was incredible with a balcony that had a lounge bed and nice table on it. With a full moon and gorgeous weather, it was hard to even leave the room... even if it was Paris. The location is great with lots of good shopping, cafes, and bars footsteps from the hotel. It is also steps from the metro - including the B line from Charles De Gaulle so it is a straight shot from the airport (taking the metro versus a cab alone will save you $50 per trip). It is very close to Notre Dame, the Louvre, the Latin Quarter and many other sites and was an excellent base.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Modern hotel in the midst of activity. Rooms are small (it is Paris after all) but well furnished and very clean. The lift is tiny, but adequate. The location is fantastic -- right by the Chatelet metro, a short walk from major sights, with lots of dining options nearby.

The hotel is located on a pedestrian street lined with many noisy late night bars. We stay up late so it was fine by us. As another reviewer noted, with the windows closed the street noise was inaudible (amazing how well the windows shut out the sound). It would have been nice to have had breakfast included (it is very expensive) or a way to make tea or coffee in the room, but there are several options just a few steps away.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boston41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Hotel is ideally located - restaurants, bars, shops, even a shopping mall right on the doorstep. Easy access to all the main attractions. If you're planning to visit the Louvre, ask the receptionist for tickets - they have a few to sell to their guests, which is helpful (too bad the receptionist didn't tell us before we went out to get ours - we paid 11.50 euros from the store, while the hotel sells it for 10 euros)
careful when asking the daytime female receptionist for directions - sent us in the opposite direction!
the room itself is small, but cute. the bathroom can be tricky if you have the room with the bathtub as there is no holder for the shower head and door/cover on the bathtub which makes takes a shower near impossible. the water was also not very warm.
not advisable to take their breakfast option - it's not worth the price at all. Far better breakfasts to be had at the cafes a few steps away, at half the price.
if you're staying on the upper floors you may get frustrated by the lift which is tiny (just about fits 2 people).
All that said, we still loved the hotel (especially for its great location) and would recommend and go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JetsetterSA_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Cute hotel in the center of it all. The rooms are Paris petites. I actually couldn't find the bathroom when I first looked. I obviously paid for the location. The windows word incredibly well, as when shut, street noise is almost unheard.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank ParisSchlick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Elixir
Hotel Elixir
#644 of 1,809 in Paris
547 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#1,082 of 1,809 in Paris
275 reviews
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#526 of 1,809 in Paris
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Britannique
Hotel Britannique
#171 of 1,809 in Paris
1,592 reviews
Les Halles
Best Western Premier Ducs de Bourgogne
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#807 of 1,809 in Paris
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Des Ducs d'Anjou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Des Ducs d'Anjou

Address: 1 rue Sainte Opportune | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#388 Business Hotel in Paris
#475 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $152 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Des Ducs d'Anjou 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Paris's cultural and historic centre, the capital's finest attractions can quickly and easily be reached. 24 Hour reception - Our friendly, helpful team are available to assist you in the bright, spacious reception area with its delightful thirties decor. Our 38 air-conditioned rooms and suites have recently been renovated, each one has its own individual style and all the comforts you need for an excellent night's sleep... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Des Ducs d'Anjou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Ducs d`Anjou Hotel Paris
Des Ducs d Anjou Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing