We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Boutique Hotel near Chatelet”
Review of Des Ducs d'Anjou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Des Ducs d'Anjou
Ranked #1,114 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed April 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Des Ducs d'Anjou for a long weekend in Paris this past January after a business trip to Brussels. We chose this hotel based on the positive ratings given by other Trip Advisor contributers and we largely agree that this is a great place to stay in Paris.
The hotel is located on the Right Bank near Rue Rivoli and Les Halles in a pedestrian area with lots of restaurants, clubs, cafes, and shops. One of the best things about this location is that the hotel is SO close to the Chatelet metro station--you have access to the entire city only steps from your hotel.
The hotel itself was charming and decorated similarly to other Parisian Boutique hotels of a similar price-range; nothing fancy or excessive, but clean, simple furnishings, comfortable beds, nice bedding, and adequate space. Our room faced out over the street so we had the pleasure of opening up our window in the mornings before heading out for the day to hear the sounds of the city waking up. I love the sound of shoes clicking by on cobblestone streets and quiet chatter. At night, the noises become even more lively--if this bothers you, the windows do significantly reduce exterior noise when closed, or you might want to request a room at an upper level or near the back. Otherwise, if your room happens to have a window (I've read reviews that some do not have exterior windows--instead they have a room with a window opening into an interior stairwell), I would encourage you to open it up and soak in the sounds of Parisian life!
The staff here was very friendly and accommodating. Those who worked at reception were always sure to wish us a happy day/safe travels/good night, and the housekeeping staff may have been the friendliest I've ever met. In addition to meticulously cleaning the bathroom each day (always replacing the soaps and towels) and keeping the room tidy, they also always greeted us with a smile and wished us a good day. To have the entire staff be so friendly and welcoming is very refreshing.
I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to stay in a great, lively location while visiting this beautiful and enchanting city. I hope to have the pleasure of returning in the future!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peace_love_midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 366 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2012

We found this hotel on-line for our visit to Paris in 2005. So quiet, we were on the 5th floor. No traffic. Close to Chatelet les Halles, with the Metro entrance at the end of the street. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance, & not too far from Notre-Dame, & close to the Rue Rivoli,
Not a large hotel, more a "small & friendly"one. I see a lot of other good reviews agree with our experience. Good value!!

Room Tip: go for a room near the top of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huggyat47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Small and clean 3* hotel close to Chatelet metro station, 1 metro stop form gare de Lyon. I return very often for my business travel because easy and friendly staff, clean rooms, free wifi, close to my work, easy to reach by metro. Situated in a very multi cultural area with quite a lot of bars, restaurants and nightlife for rather young people. The rooms to the street could be a bit noisy. It's not the chic area of Paris!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rikestip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Small room, bathroom, elevator. A bit noisy but not too bad for Paris les Halle's.
Very nice and helpful staff.
Still a good value for a moderate price.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BananaJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Great location as mentioned by other reviewers. It is extremely easy to get to when arriving from either CDG or Orly airport as it's near the Chatlet stop of the RER or metro. The hotel is in a bustling little neighborhood with lots of restaurants and bars around. The interior is nicely updated, but starting to fade (paint, wallpaper, etc) If you're looking for a great spot in the center of the city with lots of nightlife, this is your place.

But don't expect to sleep in if you're easily disturbed. The walls are thin and you can hear everything - showers, housekeepers, voices, shuffling feet. Heavy sleepers will be happy, light sleepers should bring earplugs.

Room Tip: Stayed in a room with a street view and wasn't disturbed. Have a nice view of the square outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelkae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I stayed at this hotel after discovering that the hotels where I normally stay were fully booked. Upon my arrival, I found the hotel staff very accommodating and friendly. The hotel is centrally located, although it is tucked back away from the main streets (Rue Rivoli) and therefore a car or taxi cannot drive up directly to the hotel. My room was very clean, and looked almost new---but it was not especially charming. I had a room with a small window that opened into a light well, which made it seem a bit isolating. In the future, I would prefer a room with an exterior window to the street. The staff was very reliable (wake up calls were on time, taxis were called as requested). The wi-fi worked well in the lobby, but did not work in the rooms of any of the guests while I was there. the hotel seemed secure and I did not worry about theft (the room did ot have a safe). The decor of the room was a bit austere and modern. The drapes were made of some shiny sequined type material (I mention this only because it illustrated why I would not consider the hotel to be particularly charming).

If you are looking for a simple place to stay that is clean and well located, this may be an option for you. If you are looking for Paris charm, you could probably do better.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HonestEvaluator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

The Ducs d'Anjou is a small "boutique" hotel located in the Marais district, an easy walk to Notre Dame, the Seine, and many attractions. The rooms are very clean and of good size ( For Paris) Below the hotel is an area of bars and restaurants, located on a pedestrian way. Don't even consider this hotel if you have a car, and be advised that cabs can't get within a half block of the entrance. If that is not a problem, then this hotel is for you. Good value considering price and location. Internet service, while free, was erratic and slow.

Room Tip: The suites are roomy and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trixnewjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#1,111 of 1,802 in Paris
266 reviews
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#514 of 1,802 in Paris
697 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Elixir
Hotel Elixir
#646 of 1,802 in Paris
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Britannique
Hotel Britannique
#144 of 1,802 in Paris
1,575 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#793 of 1,802 in Paris
220 reviews
Les Halles
Best Western Premier Ducs de Bourgogne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Des Ducs d'Anjou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Des Ducs d'Anjou

Address: 1 rue Sainte Opportune | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#388 Business Hotel in Paris
#469 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $132 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Des Ducs d'Anjou 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Paris's cultural and historic centre, the capital's finest attractions can quickly and easily be reached. 24 Hour reception - Our friendly, helpful team are available to assist you in the bright, spacious reception area with its delightful thirties decor. Our 38 air-conditioned rooms and suites have recently been renovated, each one has its own individual style and all the comforts you need for an excellent night's sleep... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Des Ducs d'Anjou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Ducs d`Anjou Hotel Paris
Des Ducs d Anjou Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing