We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing, even for Paris standards...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hipotel Paris Pere Lachaise Republique
Ranked #1,696 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed February 25, 2013

First of all, we're talking about a hotel in Paris in the budget range so I wasn't expecting all that much. But even though I adjusted my expectations beforehand I was still unpleasantly surprised. There are a heap of minor issues (the very petite breakfast, the dismal furnishing, only wi-fi on the ground floor), but for me the main issues were the horrible bed (I actually threw out my back after the 2nd night...), the paper-thin walls and the non-existent water pressure (we were on the 5th floor) making it impossible to shower.
The only upside is the location. It is sad to realize that these hotels will never go out of business because they look alright on the booking site and tourists will only visit once anyway... Had I read some of the review on this site I probably wouldn't have booked this hotel, so I hope this prevents others from making the same mistake.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 241 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

i have been in many hotels some good some bad but this was damn right horrible, the entrance was dismal, the lift was small and stuffy, ( i dont use lifts) but my husbans does he says its more like a coffin...i took the stairs there were hazards everywhere, they seem to be redecorating. there were workers tools laying everywhere, and trip hazards due to ill fiittng in the carpets. when entering the room it was not nice at all, our bathroom was terrible, the toilet seat was broken off, cracks in the tiles on the floor, leaking shower fittings and no way of fixing the shower head to the wall, there were loose wires coming from the walls, and curtains held up only at the ends. and the excuse for furniture had seen better days. heard everything our neighbours had to say, and you could hear the toilet flushing on floor below,, went to paris as a valentine treat this hotel made it more a nightmare ..

june and george..scotland

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank june h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The place is just terrible and depressing!!!!! You wouldn't think your in paris, our room wasn't clean, cables hanging from the tv and ceiling, couldn't fit in the shower(n I'm skinny) the walls are paper thin........ If the person next door or the floor above used the toilet you could hear it, even if people were walking about in the hotel all you could here is creeking floor boards, the fire alarm went off at 4 in the morning(fair enough if their was an emergency) and they didn't know how to turn it off!!!!!!!! I would go as far as saying this is the worst value for money hotel I've ever stayed in and I've stayed in budget hotels in Africa!!!!!!! Location was good but would not stay at this hotel and the pictures on booking.com were certainly not taken recently!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank MANI S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

If you pay small money then you do not expect the best but at least it could be clean. The bed and carpet was dusty and the bathroom mouldy with the paint peeling of the wall. The staff was OK. WiFi was for free. Overall, the time has stopped here in 1990. It was however very hard to find affordable accommodation in Paris so that we were happy to compromise the quality.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

The other reviews seem abit harsh. I would say this hotel is perfect for people travelling. And not good enough for people going on holiday. In Paris you don't spend much time in the hotel anyway. It's got nothing special about it but absolutely nothing wrong either. This hotel is average.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liam f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Very hospitable. The location was great...35 minute walk to Notre Dame and 35 minute walk from la Gare de Lyon. The rooms where clean. There was Wifi. The neighborhood was nice and calm (no noise at night). You get your moneys worth.
I will book again in this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Ibis Paris Pere Lachaise
#884 of 1,804 in Paris
443 reviews
République
Hotel Modern
Hotel Modern
#1,561 of 1,804 in Paris
156 reviews
Comfort Hotel Davout Nation
#1,288 of 1,804 in Paris
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#1,481 of 1,804 in Paris
182 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#1,274 of 1,804 in Paris
41 reviews
Ibis Budget Paris Nord 18eme
#1,558 of 1,804 in Paris
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hipotel Paris Pere Lachaise Republique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipotel Paris Pere Lachaise Republique

Address: 37 rue Servan | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France (Formerly Hotel de Belfort)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > République
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,696 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $60 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hipotel Paris Pere Lachaise Republique 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hipotel Paris Pere Lachaise Republique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Belfort Hotel
De Belfort Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing