We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go there!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER 61 Paris Nation Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PREMIER 61 Paris Nation Hotel
Ranked #681 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't go there!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

I made the reservation and I paid for two rooms, one twin, one double, two months in advance.
When getting there, the rude, even vulgar front desk officer was offering me something different.
Beside that, the hotel is cramped, dirty, with huge need of renovation. Also, very poor breakfast.
Even though it is very closed to the metro, I am strongly recommend to avoid it.

AM

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aurelia_MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia D, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN PREMIER 61 Paris Nation Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear Guest

I'm sad to read your complaint here, as you already put the same in our website and I already answered to you.

So, first of all, I would like to remind you that we clearly gave you the type of room you booked, above all the bedding type.

Actually, as you booked two rooms together, we try, when the availibility of the hotel allows it to give to our guests rooms next to each other.

Actually due to the fact that you booked a double and a twin room, we figured out that maybe you were travelling with your kids so we gave you 2 rooms next to each other, which were #506 and #507.
It is right that we were not accomodated in a real twin room as we didn't have a twin room available near to the double, you stayed in a quadruple room (a room in two parts, with 2 singles beds in each part, separated with the bathroom, which is 25 m² large). That's why since the first beginning we don't understand your displeasure.

Let me also remind you that the breakfast your are complaining about was offered during all your stay and is composed with : hot beverages (coffee, expresso, 8 types of tea bags and 2 herbal tea) , 2 juices, 2 types of cereals, delicatessen, pastries and bread baked on spot, 3 types of toasts, 3 types of jams, honey, fresh and dry fruits, fruits salad and stewed apples, fresh cheese, yoghourts, 3 types of cheeses and boiled egg.

However, I'm always pleased to change or add new product, upon the advice of our guests.

I'm really sad you spent a so awful stay. Nevertheless, I was sure, that you've changed your mind, after you talk to the front office manager; as we proposed you to the change the quadruple to a twin as you requested and you prefered to keep your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    208
    74
    26
    22
See reviews for
75
126
37
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

This place is clean but not luxury, the people are helpful. The hotel is very close to the rail system. Easy to get to anywhere in Paris. If you don’t do small lifts very well then this is properly not the place for you.

Room Tip: Don't know if any rooms are any better then others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieDawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia D, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN PREMIER 61 Paris Nation Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for giving us your review about your stay. I'm really happy you enjoyed your stay among us.
I don't know which room number you had, you didn't mention it. But we have 5 different types of rooms : singles about 11 m², double (with large bed) or twin (with 2 single beds) about 13.5 ², triple room of 22 m² and quad room of 25 m².

Room can have bath or shower.

And do not hesitate to request a room in a low floor if you are scared in tiny lift. It will be a pleasure to satisfy you.

I hope you will visit us soon in 61 Paris Nation Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Room was good value and staff were very friendly. Very close to main Paris subway. Would definately recommend for those on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nationbercy, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN PREMIER 61 Paris Nation Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear Guest

I would like to thank for for taking a few moments to tell us your satisfaction about your stay in 61 Paris Nation Hotel. I'm very pleased to read that my staff was very welcoming and help you enjoing your stay in Paris.

I hope I will have the great pleasure to welcome you soon in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

Small room badly needs decorated. Staff very rude, 2 kitchen staff and one receptionist. Very close to Metro handy. Lift tiny. Dont eat where they recommend. Not what we are used to in Scotland. Tea/coffee facilities in room - only 2 small milk,2 tea bags and was not replenished during the rest of the week.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nationbercy, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN PREMIER 61 Paris Nation Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear customers,

Further to your comments, we regret that your stay in our hotel did not please you and we apologize for this inconvenience. However, we would like to clarify some points:

- the size of the rooms, the lift and any other parts of our hotel matches exactly with the french standards regarding three-stars hotels, specially in Paris. You may then find it too small for you, far too different from what you are used to in Scotland or badly decorated, that's what one could call a matter of taste. Regarding the lift, you might think it was too tiny but at least there is one. Indeed, not all hotels have lifts in Paris.

-we are truly sorry if you felt offended by our staff. In fact, we pay a lot of attention on having an open, kind and helpful team who tries to satisfy customers’ needs and make their stay as nice as possible. We truly hope it was a misunderstanding. We usually recommend restaurants that we like. But, tastes are very different from one person to another person.

- the welcoming tray in the room called in French “le plateau courtoisie” (including tea, coffee, milk, biscuit..) which offers special products dedicated to welcome the guests and not served for a meal. This tray is replenished everyday. If you had a problem you should have inform the reception that would have been pleased to find you a solution. We propose in the lounge of the reception a coffee/tee machine opened 24h/24h.

Nevertheless, we thank for your comments and we will take them into account caring to improve our quality service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Staff were pleasant and helpfull. Room was small, but easy to move around and there was plent of storage space in the wardrobe. Lift is TINY-could only just fit two adults, so I would use the stairs if you are claustrphobic. Lot's of great pattiserie's and deli's within easy walking distance. Only a short ride on the metro to get into the centre of Paris/alot of the main toursit spots. Nice quiet area, didn't really see many tourist around. Was nice to come back to such a lovely area after wandering around through the hustle and bustle of the centre of Paris/main tourist areas.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia D, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN PREMIER 61 Paris Nation Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Dear Guest

thank you for your comment. Please feel free to come back and visit us ,as soon as we made renovation work.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

This hotel has a rather large bed bug infestation, which I did not notice until after sleeping there. The sheets are spotted with blood and the bugs were all over when I woke up early. I didn't know what they were at the time, but looked them up after the fact and was very upset that they didn't note the signs, which should have been very clear to the maids and those doing laundrey. Do not stay here!!!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelingScientist13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nationbercy, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN PREMIER 61 Paris Nation Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
I am extremely sad of reading your comment. Indeed taking into account the high season and the number of tourists accomodated in the hotel, no hotel of the world is safe from an invasion of this type; We carry out very strict sanitary controls on this level every week. This kind of incident does not depend at all on the category of the hotel or of its cleanliness, it is about a completely exceptional and isolated case. We took the necessary measures to cure it and at the current hour, we did not have to deplore other incidents of this type.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

If this were a hostel then I would probably give it a 3-star rating. However, it's not, it's a 3-star hotel..... I spent 4 nights here (150 Eur per night, published rate). I'll start with the good points, but it'll be short:

+ pleasant, English-speaking receptionists
+ (tiny) patio out the back for an evening smoke
+ very close to the metro stop, Line 1, so only 20 minutes if that to the centre for tourists
+ flat panel TV oppposite bed so no need to get a stiff neck watching tv from bed
+ room a touch larger than the Paris centre average, but only a touch (I had a double room, not sure if this makes a difference)

And now the bad points:
- area is pretty grotty (including the Paris soup kitchen, worthy be its cause, doing its business round the corner attracting hordes of Les Miserables)
- room run down, out of date
- no safe in room, you have to rent a safety deposit box in the basement for an extra 4 Euros a day
- breakfast (extra 10 eur /day) nothing exciting. Very small breakfast room and buffet space
- coffee was quite good, being freshly ground in the automatic dispenser machine. However, the whole process takes several minutes and in the meantime a queue builds up behind you. This wouldn't be an issue normally if the queue didn't necessarily block the whole modest breakfast buffet space
- pavement outside hotel looks like a tank drove over it, not good in the rain....
- not the sort of locality you want to go for an evening stroll, you're better off taking the metro a couple of stops nearer the centre and civilisation

This would be a very comfortable hostel. Unfortunately it's a not very pleasant hotel.

Room Tip: try another hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank czenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nationbercy, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN PREMIER 61 Paris Nation Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Thank you for giving u a review of your stay.

Regarding the hotel's area, this entire quarter is in renovation, for the arrival of a new tramway line in 2012. That's why the area looks a litlle "grotty" but it's in order to take on a new lease of life in 6 months . Fortunately, we have a fast and easy access to livelier quarter of Paris and the location of the hotel is perfect for rest .

Regarding the hotel, we improve the buffet breakfast 3 month ago (without changing the price) with fresh coffee, on spot baked pastries and bread, organic cereals, dried fruits and juices, home made marmelades... We know that the breakfast room could be crowded if a lot of people go down in the same time, but we rarely meet problems with that. To avoid any complain, a waitress is available to help you or to serve you if needed.

I hope you will have the opportunity to come back to our hotel next year to discover our new area and if you are interested in knowing what happens here, you can take a look at this web site : http://www.tramway.paris.fr/ewb_pages/t/tramway_T3_extension.php

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
BEST WESTERN Allegro Nation
BEST WESTERN Allegro Nation
#808 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
BEST WESTERN Opera Batignolles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
BEST WESTERN Aulivia Opera
BEST WESTERN Aulivia Opera
#837 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
BEST WESTERN De Neuville
#763 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER 61 Paris Nation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER 61 Paris Nation Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PREMIER 61 Paris Nation Hotel
Address: 61 rue de la Voute | 12th Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#113 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#348 Business Hotel in Paris
#353 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER 61 Paris Nation Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Gare de Lyon, the BEST WESTERN PREMIER 61 Paris Nation Hotel is located next to Nation and Porte de Vincennes in the 12th arrondissement in Paris. This 4-star establishment is a contemporary reflection of 1960s Paris. Behind its pretty brick façade at number 61 rue de la Voute, the hotel's decoration and furniture evoke all the imagination of the early 1960s. Like a breathing space in the town centre, the hotel is six levels high and has 48 rooms (one of which is accessible to persons with reduced mobility), a lobby, a breakfast room as well as a small terrace nestled in the hollow of an inner courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter, Best Western FR and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER 61 Paris Nation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardins De Hotel Paris
Jardins De Paris Nation Bercy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing