We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small even by Paris standards.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Brady Gare de L'Est
Ranked #929 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Small even by Paris standards.”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Stayed at Comfort Inn Gare de L'est in May for 2 nights. From previous travel to Paris I knew that rooms were small and amenities scarce. This room was very small. The door to the room hit the bed upon entering. You could barely turn around in the bathroom. The shower head was handheld only due to broken holder. The stairs up to the loft were rotten and would sag dangerously when ascending and descending. The stairs were so scary that we did not use the loft at all. No A/C which we were expecting but also no screen on the windows so we couldn't keep the window open too far due to pigeons. The elevator would barely hold the two of us and our luggage.

What was good about this hotel is that they forgot to charge us for breakfast and it was close to the subway.

The neighbourhood is strangely less "concerning" in the evening than the daytime but still would not recommend being out too late in this neighbourhood.

We stayed here because the price was good and we had spent our budget on a week in Bordeaux. I would only recommend this to budget wary travellers.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    188
    145
    67
    36
See reviews for
53
229
37
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Although the accommodations were not what we would have liked and/or expected, I must say first that our basic needs were met by this hotel, but if we had known beforehand that it would be so meager, we would have probably picked a different hotel while in Paris. It is convenient to two Metro stops so taking the subway from the night train was easy. The front desk person was very nice and spoke English-which for me was so nice. It is in a part of town with a lot of African immigrants, so expect a lot of wig shops and folks from North Africa. Great area for ethnic food, but have to go a street over for the "French" shops. Not far from some corner cafes and I HIGHLY recommend the crepe restaurant nearby. We never ate the continental breakfast because it ends at 10am! Not what you'd want anyway. The room was serviced everyday, but was overly simple for me. Hard bed and the balcony looked onto a roof. Very work furniture and very worn place in general. Not "relaxing" after a long day of site-seeing. No in-room safe, but they do ask that you leave your key at the desk when you go. Looks like it was something cool 20-25 years ago. It is a Comfort Inn, but think more Roadway Inn. We didn't worry about safety, though but not a lot after dark nearby.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HouseLover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

For those on a budget, just looking for a place to sleep for the night, then this hotel may be for you. The rooms are small (or i guess typical for Europe) and meet the bare minimum for travellers-ie have a bed, toilet, tub and TV. The walls were paper thin meaning you will be kept up by your neighbours if they succumb to the romance of Paris (though this hotel is definitley a buzz killer lol) and will be woken up by the early risers. The bed was not especially comfortable and between the noise and lack of comfort, it made getting a good night's sleep a challenge. The area is very authentic and you will pass by some very local restaurants, stores and cafes on your way to and from the metro stop (which is about 3 blocks from the hotel. All in all I wouldn't stay here again but when you factor in the price and your specific needs, this hotel may suffice-barely!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaunr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Lyon, France
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2011

The bathroom was very clean hopefully.The bedroom was spacious and the wardrobe as well.There was an elevator so it doesn' t matter in which floor your room is.The subway is near the hotel.In addition ,there is a taxi rank in front of the hotel.Finally the area is filled with restaurants and fast foods.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilina t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days with my husband and was really disappointed to see the room.
the rooms are so small that after keeping your luggage there is no space to walk.. When i complained about it, the receptionist said that this is what you get in Paris.
the toilet is clean but really small.
breakfast is really not worth Euro 8 per person.
the best part about the hotel is its location . its very easily connected to metro and most part of the attractions.
the worst part about the hotel is also its locations. The walk from the metro station to the hotel at night is horrifying. the beauty parlous around the hotel turn into brothels and u'll see pimps standing outside.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prancks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I'm sorry to be so harsh, but I wish someone would have warned me about the area this hotel was in. This is close to a metro stop but the one block between the metro and hotel is awful. I did not feel safe after dark and immediately found other arrangements once we saw this. The reviews I read only complained of the small size rooms. The rooms themselves were fine, but if you want to really enjoy paris, especially paris at night, find another place to stay.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bthrailkill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Close to metro and some shops.
But The room we stayed was quite small and only meant for sleeping. There is not enough light in the room. No fridge as well.
Also avoid going there in summer days. There is no ventilation or at least a fan. It would be pretty hot, sweating at night.
Also depending on your room, you may hear lots of noises because of moving objects by staff or guests during the day or at night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebitech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Aida Marais
Hotel Aida Marais
#458 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Cosmotel
Hotel Cosmotel
#819 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Best Western Hotel Faubourg Saint-Martin
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
District Republique
District Republique
#660 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Est Hotel Paris
Est Hotel Paris
#1,139 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brady Gare de L'Est? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brady Gare de L'Est

Property: Hotel Brady Gare de L'Est
Address: 31 boulevard de Strasbourg | 10th Arr., 75010 Paris, France (Formerly Comfort Hotel Gare de L'Est)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #929 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brady Gare de L'Est 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Brady Gare de L'Est reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Gare De l`Est Hotel Paris
Comfort Inn Paris
Comfort Gare De Lest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing