We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest Review”
Review of Montpensier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montpensier
Ranked #910 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Pros: great location
Cons: very average customer service, rude cleaners. We had a room with shared toilet and the toilet (aka cleaners / painters room) was really strange...I thought I was using the wrong toilet at first because there were paint Tina, a vacuum and lots of other things left out in the open it looks like a painters closet. The staff don't go out of their way in terms of service but that's typical in Paris. The older gentleman at reception was friendly though. The rooms were cleaned daily but VERY lightly.....if I could find another hotel with the same location next time I would stay elsewhere. We are not fussy travellers what so ever but for the price we paid I expected better.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jade_064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 788 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

Hotel Montpensier is a good value for a budget hotel. Since it is in the old part of Paris, of course it is a very old building. The location is safe and very close to the Louvre. There are small food stores, bakeries, sandwich shops, restaurants, Hagen-Daz ice cream, and a McDonald's with free wi-fi. The restaurants were expensive to us, but they were in the main Louvre area so that is to be expected. The street in front of the hotel can be pretty busy at times. Watch for fast moving buses, cars and motorcycles. The buses' mirrors get really close to the narrow sidewalk where you walk. We walked 3-4 blocks north, east, and west of the hotel at night around 7:00-8:00 p.m. and felt safe. There was one street that no one was walking on and it was dark so we didn't walk there. We followed people who walked quickly like they knew Paris well. Slow walkers were always tourists.

Our hotel was on the 4th floor with the ground floor being floor 0. There were 5 floors, I think. The elevator was tiny. One of us went up first, then the other loaded the elevator with our luggage and sent it up to our floor, then followed on the elevator the next trip. Our room and another one were the only ones on the end. The rest were around the corner. Our door was very narrow and right next to the other door at a 90 degree angle. It was a very heavy door with no extra security lock and it was difficult to open it. We had plenty of room with a double bed, one twin, and another small child size bed. It was almost like a metal cot. I would not like to sleep on it. There was a huge wall closet, a desk, a small dresser, a desk, and two dining room type chairs. The doorway led into a small hall with a wardrobe closet. You had to insert a plastic card into a fixture to get the lights to turn on and you had to leave it there. We had two windows with a view of another building, or the other side of our building. We were in room 32 on the 4th floor. When you walked into the bathroom you had to step up about 2". I stubbed my toe every time. The bathroom had a shower and a tub, but the tub was about 3-4 feet long, but deep. I am 5'6" and it was too short for me to sit with my legs straight.

They did have cheaper rooms with a shared bath down the hall. We didn't see any other rooms, and our room looked very plain compared to the pictures the hotel uses. Yes, it is old, outdated, and plain, but it has good wi-fi and is clean where it counts. I did not check the windowsills, just the bathroom, sheets, and dresser. The windows open out with no screens. We had a small fan attached to the wall so I am guessing there is no air conditioning. There was a radiator in the room for heat, but no way to control it. There is no safe in the room and you had to leave your room key when you left. We didn't eat the 10,00 Euro breakfast. There was no coffee pot in the room. They had coffee and hot chocolate by the front desk. It was 2,00 Euro for one small Dixie size cup. Very small. I think they had croissants, coffee, juice, and cereal, but we had bought croissants the night before so we stopped at McDonald's for coffee and ate while we wandered around. Lunch was croissants, cheese, and bread that we had bought the night before with a Coke or bottle of water. We didn't eat anything the first night for dinner. Jetlag had taken its toll. We just snacked on chips and a Coke. We stayed two nights, and on the last night we had walked to Notre Dame while it was still light. It was dark when we left Notre Dame, but there were lots of people on the street so we felt safe. We stopped at a little café about a block or two north of the hotel for dinner to go. They had pizza, hamburgers and sandwiches. Our hamburgers were not very good though.

If you do not want to ride the metro to the airport, there are three people who shuttle people in their vans for 18,00 Euros per person. We had to leave at 7:15 a.m. to catch the shuttle because other people had reserved it first. We didn't need to leave for the airport until 9:15 with our 12:15 a.m. flight from Charles de Gaul airport. We were just thankful we didn't have to ride the metro and switch trains with our luggage. We used the trains arriving in Paris and it was crazy. There were so many people and everyone was rushing to work I guess. We purchased a three day pass since our third morning we thought we had to ride it back to the airport. The pass was about 95,00 Euros for two of us. We also used it for the buses. Don't lose that expensive piece of paper. It is tiny.

We enjoyed our short stay in Paris at the Hotel Montpensier, but all we care about are good beds and clean rooms. Most of the other hotels close by are 250 up to 1000 Euros per night that close to the Louvre. Expect the Louvre to be closed all day on Tuesdays. We didn't get to go inside it since we arrived on Tuesday.

If your flight leaves in the morning, the maids tie up the elevators with bags and bags of dirty sheets. We couldn't get the elevator to come to the 4th floor. It finally stopped and the maid opened the door and said two minutes, two minutes. Then she took the elevator up. They caused us to be five minutes late to catch the shuttle. Once on the road to the airport the driver kept complaining five minutes, five minutes and pointing to his clock. I apologized the first two times, but got a little snippy with him the third time. He stopped complaining.

Watch the traffic when crossing the street. If you have a green walk light and hesitate, the traffic will drive in front of you and they go fast. Motorcycles and bicycles zig zag through traffic and even between cars on the center line while the cars are moving. Be safe and enjoy your trip. Hotel Montpensier is a great location for most of the sites.

Room Tip: #32 is on the 4th floor, has a very heavy narrow door, a good size room, a nice bathroom, and no vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pypeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and we had different experience than the most of reviewers. The only pros is location and friendly staff other than that do not worth the hype. Our room was dirty: water marks on mirrors, dirty window frames, dusty surfaces, when we entered the room you could fell unpleasant odour. Moreover, our room was on the top floor and we could hear the noise from the street as well as we could hear every single word what our neighbours said in other room. Additionally, pictures on their website are misleading as well. We thought that hotel is spacious. However, reception and breakfast area was small, room was tiny and I am not even talking about the lift. If its two of you and you wanna take a lift, you have to stand really close to each other and forget about your suitcases, there is no room for them. For the price we paid we did not expect brand new furnishing, however the clealiness was a dissapointment for 2* hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ieva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The location is very strategic, only 2 minutes walk from metro Palais de Royale and 3-5 minutes walk to Louvre. The price is reasonable low compared to other hotel at the same area. Room is very clean though outdated. I chose room with toilet and sink inside. The shared bathroom is clean (probably they directly clean it up after being used by guest). They have a very good wifi. No drinking water provided in the room. You still could leave your luggage after check out if you fly back at afternoon or night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rucita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Newly refurbished with smart ensuite facilities and pretty decor, this hotel is a gem at the heart of Paris. Step outside and you are two steps from the Comedie Francaise, the Louvre and the smart shops in the rue de Rivoli and Faubourg St Honoré. A rare find at a very reasonable price for this area.

Room Tip: Better to go for a larger room as the smaller twin bedded one was narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clelia71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is surely one of the hidden treasures, right in the middle of Paris and easy walking distance to all the main attractions, comfortable day strolls to other sites – or simply catch the metro, no more than a 100m from the hotel.

The staff was very efficient and friendly, working with our limited French and assisting with our “development”, the hotel is a little tired – adds to character and experience, our room was spacious and comfortable, large windows open outwards, modern bathroom, very small toilet – however not an issue. The bed was firm and a fan upon the bed assisted with air flow.

Value for money – highly recommend

Room Tip: Room 20 and 21 are a very good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Prince Albert Louvre
Hotel Prince Albert Louvre
#878 of 1,803 in Paris
427 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Timhotel Le Louvre
Timhotel Le Louvre
#1,088 of 1,803 in Paris
824 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Louvre Sainte Anne
Hotel Louvre Sainte Anne
#677 of 1,803 in Paris
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Opera Maintenon
Hotel Opera Maintenon
#1,025 of 1,803 in Paris
205 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Pavillon Louvre Rivoli
Pavillon Louvre Rivoli
#1,208 of 1,803 in Paris
432 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Louvre Bons Enfants
Hotel Louvre Bons Enfants
#827 of 1,803 in Paris
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montpensier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montpensier

Address: 12 Rue de Richelieu, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#482 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $96 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Montpensier 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Montpensier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montpensier Hotel Paris
Montpensier Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing