We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pretty good value for Paris at a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montpensier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montpensier
Ranked #772 of 1,810 Hotels in Paris
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty good value for Paris at a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights here. There were 2 of us travelling. The hotel was a little difficult to find at first (considering that my friend and I both do not know French and travelled to Paris by train), but we were lucky that we met a good French Samaritan that actually walked us to the street from Chatelet les Halles. My advice is to take the train to the Pyramides station if you want minimal walking distance to the hotel. The Chatelet les Halles is walking distance (about 15-20 minutes) if you know the direction and if you are not lugging luggage with you.

But other than the difficulty in finding the hotel at first, it is actually at a great location, it is near the Lourve (and if you walk from the Lourve, it is possible to reach a lot of the main attractions by foot) and train stations. The hotel was reasonably priced by Paris standards and gives a vintage sort of feel to it. The lift was like one of those old school small lifts that can only just fit 2 people which my friend and I thought was quite cute. The staff are also great and very helpful. We arrived early (before our check in time) and the staff tried to check us in as soon as possible without charging us any extra. So we waited for only about 30 mins and was given our room. The hotel provides free wifi that works for both computer and smart phone which is really handy. The room was pretty small and basic but as we were out sightseeing most of the time, so we were satisfied with it. The room and toilet were clean, and the room itself was pretty cozy, quiet and comfortable. They have a system of leaving your room key at the reception whenever you are out which is a little different, but it didn't bother us much.

There also seemed to some renovations going on at the hotel while we were there but it didn't bother us much as they only worked during the day time when we were out anyway.

All in all, a pretty reasonable value hotel for Paris if you are after something that provides good location, and clean rooms and toilets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ngf_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    382
    171
    27
    21
See reviews for
208
251
49
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jonkoping, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It was very nice to stay in this hotel. It seemed like little bit expensive for two stars hotel but it's worth it since it's located in the heart of Paris. You can easily walk to the city center, finding restaurants (from five stars to food stalls) and shopping centres. Even Louvre is just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The staffs were also very helpful and friendly. The only disadvantage was just the elevator is too small. It's just only for 1 person. And perhaps a bit tricky to use the room key because it had unusual way to open the door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nidauluswah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Where do I begin? I looked at the ratings this hotel had and it looked ok, there were some negative reviews which I chose to ignore - big mistake. Ok the location is excellent, but cabs and the metro in Paris is so cheap, who cares?

1) My room (31) smelt like a cheap chinese take away
2) The walls are paper thin, the chattering of the Spanish in room 32 was as if they were in the same room.
3) It was a building site with building material stacked on the stairs.
4) It was very shabby with missing roof tiles in the false ceiling.
5) The decor was from the 1970s
(I took some pics so can prove points 3-5)
I was staying for 2 days on my own and then joined by my wife and daughter for a further 3 nights - as soon as possible we checked out and went to another hotel which cost €15 per night more and was paradise - Hotel Alison.

Put simply - do not stay here, you have been warned

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Gavin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
491 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst on a short city break in Paris and found the hotel to be of a good standard of quality.

We had the deluxe family room even though there were only two of us staying here and found it to be very spacious,clean,well equipped and quiet in the evenings/mornings.

The hotel did appear to be undergoing some sort of renovations at the time of our stay so some of the decor in the hallways was a bit shabby but that's no reason to decide to stay elsewhere.

The location was perfect being literally a stones throw from the Lourve and a few minutes walk from the gardens and a metro stop.

The staff were typically French and not very welcoming but I wouldn't go as far as to say they were rude they just wouldn't win any prizes for charisma of the year.

I would go back here if I was in Paris again providing that I could get the room for the same rate of cheaper as the price was a little on the steep side when compared to other cities but this is to be expected in a place like Paris.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Preyom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I booked this hotel for my parents and visited their room a number of times while we were in Paris. It is literally a 5 minute walk from the Louvre and the Louvre's metro stop. Excellent location and a phenomenal price for this location. Some of the reviews indicate complaints about the quality of the facilities. We must have received a renovated room because there were zero issues with the room. Hallways were being improved while we were there in late September, so work is still going on at the property. Definitely a recommendation. Free wifi in lobby too.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Drewdini123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Prince Albert Louvre
Hotel Prince Albert Louvre
#873 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Opera Maintenon
Hotel Opera Maintenon
#885 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Londres Saint-Honore
Hotel Londres Saint-Honore
#1,274 of 1,810 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Timhotel Le Louvre
Timhotel Le Louvre
#1,155 of 1,810 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Louvre Sainte Anne
Hotel Louvre Sainte Anne
#555 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Saint-Roch
Hotel Saint-Roch
#1,236 of 1,810 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montpensier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montpensier

Property: Montpensier
Address: 12 rue de Richelieu, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#483 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Montpensier 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Montpensier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montpensier Hotel Paris
Montpensier Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing