We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Montpensier - great position, good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montpensier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montpensier
Ranked #786 of 1,812 Hotels in Paris
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    383
    173
    27
    21
See reviews for
209
252
49
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London England
Level Contributor
491 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst on a short city break in Paris and found the hotel to be of a good standard of quality.

We had the deluxe family room even though there were only two of us staying here and found it to be very spacious,clean,well equipped and quiet in the evenings/mornings.

The hotel did appear to be undergoing some sort of renovations at the time of our stay so some of the decor in the hallways was a bit shabby but that's no reason to decide to stay elsewhere.

The location was perfect being literally a stones throw from the Lourve and a few minutes walk from the gardens and a metro stop.

The staff were typically French and not very welcoming but I wouldn't go as far as to say they were rude they just wouldn't win any prizes for charisma of the year.

I would go back here if I was in Paris again providing that I could get the room for the same rate of cheaper as the price was a little on the steep side when compared to other cities but this is to be expected in a place like Paris.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Preyom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I booked this hotel for my parents and visited their room a number of times while we were in Paris. It is literally a 5 minute walk from the Louvre and the Louvre's metro stop. Excellent location and a phenomenal price for this location. Some of the reviews indicate complaints about the quality of the facilities. We must have received a renovated room because there were zero issues with the room. Hallways were being improved while we were there in late September, so work is still going on at the property. Definitely a recommendation. Free wifi in lobby too.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Drewdini123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

The hotel photos are better than in real life, the lift is very interesting, 1 person and a bag if you can fit it in with you. Have never seen a lift this small, it states registered to take 3 people. They must be 5 year olds, normal sized people would not have any chance. They charge for coffee, tea and chocalate, no soap or water in your room. We have a room at the 5th floor, beware the ceiling slops and is very tight in places. The rooms are clean and the shower works well. If you can, use the stairs. It will keep you fit and away from the lift.

Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is old (which isn't unusual) and not in the greatest shape. Considering the location (about two blocks from The Louvre and a Metro station) and the price, that's about as expected. The carpeting on the stairs leading up to the 1st floor was covered with some sort of foam (being renovated perhaps). The bathroom light in our room was hanging by its wiring.

The room had some sort of strange arrangement where you had to leave the key plugged into some receptacle or the lights would not work. You also had to leave your room key at the reception desk when going out.

We had a room facing onto Rue de Richelieu. On a hot night you probably want to leave the window open. We were there for four nights and it was OK leaving the window open except on the Saturday night. That night, people kept walking down the road until almost the next morning talking loudly so it was hard to sleep. The hotel does not appear to have an ice machine and you can only get a small glass of ice grudgingly from the reception desk.

On the bright side, the breakfasts are tasty and on par with most other hotels in France that we've stayed in. The price is reasonable if you're not expecting a lot and the location is quite good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rieslingca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were only staying in Paris one night on an extended trip, so I went cheap on this hotel. It worked out to be a good choice; a great area of town, near the Louvre, and exactly what we expected. It is quite quirky inside, with an obvious amount of renovations either in progress or hopefully planned. If you're not the adventurous type I would not recommend it, BUT, if you want to see Paris and not spend a lot of money on accommodations, it's ideal. The room we had was on street side, so very noisy if we left the window open. I reserved a twin room, so it was probably the least 'nice' of their variety of rooms. The bathroom had the essentials and it was reasonably clean. the breakfast was okay, so don't set much store by that. The elevator was the smallest I've ever seen. And yet this place has great potential due to it's location. The area was safe and we felt fine walking around. The front desk staff person who greeted us was very pleasant, although when we tried to call the front desk from our room no one answered. A quick trip down the slightly lopsided stairs took care of it. So, be adventurous, be flexible, and save your money for touring and dining out in Paris.

Room Tip: I'm pretty sure there were rooms not facing the street which would have been much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SayJax50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We made a reservation of 5 nights in this hotel, and after two nights we left...
The staff is ok, but they have an elevator tiny, wich it is ok but the elevator has a fence and a glass door, so when it is going up or down, you can see the floors and it is incredibly dirty... Then we got a room in the 5th floor, not luxury at all but the toilette was renovated so it was fine... Then i proceed to install my self, so i open the doors of the closet to put mu clothes on it , something jumped to my face... It was a package of old rotten salami!!!! Giuuuud!!! I guess the staff didnt see it before but come on!!! It was with animals inside... So after two night we decide to change because we found another one much cleaner and almost the same price...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ValeriaGLinCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Opera Maintenon
Hotel Opera Maintenon
#930 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Prince Albert Louvre
Hotel Prince Albert Louvre
#892 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Londres Saint-Honore
Hotel Londres Saint-Honore
#1,251 of 1,812 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Louvre Sainte Anne
Hotel Louvre Sainte Anne
#566 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Timhotel Le Louvre
Timhotel Le Louvre
#1,149 of 1,812 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 697 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Louvre Bons Enfants
Hotel Louvre Bons Enfants
#645 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montpensier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montpensier

Property: Montpensier
Address: 12 rue de Richelieu, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#483 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Montpensier 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Montpensier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montpensier Hotel Paris
Montpensier Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing