We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-located but pretty basic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Grand Hotel de Normandie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Grand Hotel de Normandie
Ranked #842 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well-located but pretty basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in May with DH for an anniversary trip. Proximity to Gare Saint-Lazare (right across the street) was great! Cab ride from Gare du Nord was about 10 euros if coming in on the Eurostar. Room was very basic and small but we were expecting that. Mini fridge did not work but we didn't bother requesting a new one. Irons must be requested from the front desk (and returned that day). The bed was quite hard but we were so tired it didn't really matter. Some street noise could be heard as our room was in the front of the hotel on the 3rd floor but nothing disruptive. Some workers' English was better than others but my limited French and their abilities got everything taken care of. Did not eat breakfast there but it is available at an extra cost. Used the phone to make one call when our flight was cancelled unexpectedly. It cost only 80 cents for about 10 minutes. This hotel was fine as you're not in your room much anyway most likely.

Room Tip: Rooms in front have a nice street view but choose a higher floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvsAGetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    179
    46
    18
    8
See reviews for
89
146
34
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I checked in with my wife and 13 month old baby and had one of the best experience so far. A baby cot is prepared, the room is clean, nice and cosy, the reception staff (Gal) is friendly and thoughtful, and the housekeepers are considerate. It gives me the impression that Gal owns the business from the effort the he puts in. The location is good and within walking distance from Gallerie Lafayette.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woodstockz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Before we even arrived, the staff was quite helpful. I first emailed wondering about check-in time because our flight was landing at 11am. I received a reply (in English) within 20 minutes. I then called about setting up car transfers from the airport to the hotel and Martin called me within a few hours to set everything up.

When we arrived, we were a few hours before check in and the room was not yet ready, so we dropped our bags in their locked baggage room and came back later, checking in to room #303. The room was well-decorated and the room & bathroom seemed recently remodeled. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was fairly spacious for a European hotel (in my limited experience).

For location - it was well situated and wasn't too touristy, however was right across the street from Gare St. Lazarre - a large train station. This was nice for getting around the city, however did result in fairly constant rumblings as trains came and left the station. Note that the noise wasn't too loud in the hotel room, however you could hear it when awake (it never woke us up at night). Also, the hotel was a fairly easy walk to the Louvre/Champs-Elysees areas and there were plenty of good restaurants and patisseries around.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKLangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked the hotel knowing it was a bit away from the downtown area. With that being said, there are many restaurants, cages, and shopping nearby. The Metro is literally 30 feet from the hotel, and the train station is right next door. They do offer free wi-fi, which after reading some of the reviews, we were able to use for two devices. We had a balcony room on the 6th floor and we were able to see the Eiffel Tower from the distance.

The room is very cozy. It's literally like a bedroom rather than a hotel room. It is small and there is little space of either side of the bed. Our room also had a Pack and Play in the room.... We have no children so not sure if this was from a previous guest and not removed, or if that is standard. Either way, we weren't in the room enough to make a deal out of it. The room is very modern and looks freshly painted and finished. The bathroom is also quite small with little vanity space, but that is to be expected. The toilet my husband said is made for a giraffe. It's a bit high so your feet kind of hang... Funny actually.

All in all, the hotel is great for the location. Close to the Eiffel by metro. The staff are ok. They didn't seem to really gout of their way for anything. We landed and tried to check in around 1:30 and were told they had no room available, so we the desk agent directed us to a nearby restaurant. When we came in each evening someone was at the lobby, but no "hellos or welcome backs". Like I said, just there, not really friendly.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy-Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

HIIII EVERYONE,

This is the second time that i sleep in this Hotel.
and once again, everything is WONDERFUL!!! ( i was with my husband and some friend )

With this holel, you totally feel like a PariSian!!!!!
The Brand New Hotel is in front of St. Lazare train station and 2 minutes walk from the Galeries Lafayette. A very pretty decoration, very lovely staff, good varied breakfast, and quiet rooms in the heart of Paris.
Ideal Parisian hotel for business or weekend getaway or with familly.
Many Japonese and Korean people on it.
For the second time ,the hotel is FULLLL i think thanks to his good reputation!

Price: cheaper than all the hotel in the Area!
Comfort: Totaly high!
Location: Very very near the best place in PARIS (Galerie lafayette 2mn, Eiffel Tower, Trocadero, THE CHAMPS ELYSEES AMAZINGGG ... SO ... only 5-1Omin)
Breakfast: FRENCH! SO DELICIOUS!

I REALLY RECOMMEND YOU TO GO THERE!!!

thanks everybody!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xiang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I loved staying at the Hotel Normandie. The staff was super friendly, very helpful , caring and knowledgable. They went out of their way to help you especially if you got lost trying to find a Paris landmark. The hotel was very quiet and peaceful which was perfect for me. If you're looking for a place of peace and quiet, this is the perfect place. It is located near the Metro station which is very handy. If you want to use taxi instead of the Metro, I would highly recommend the taxi service that the hotel uses although it can be expensive that way. I found the Metro station too confusing for myself and it was better for my nerves to use the hotel taxi service. My taxi driver was super friendly, very helpful and looked out for me because I was by myself. All in all, I highly recommend staying at the Hotel Normandie.
Leslie G.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leslie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had rented a flat in Paris, but it didn't work out, and we had to find a hotel room for three for a week, my husband, myself and our eight year old daughter, with no advance notice. This hotel had a room available at a reasonable rate. We loved it.

The location was great for us. The area is very safe. The train and metro are across the street. It's a few stops or a modest walk to Place de la Concorde, the Louvre, Opera, etc. There are restaurants, cafes, patisseries, fast food, and grocery stores nearby, even Starbucks and McDonalds, as well as fabulous shopping. Lafayette is a short walk.

We had room 211. It was very spacious and bright. It had a king and a single bed. When we first saw the room, it had a twin size cot in it from the previous tenant, and there was still plenty of space. The mattresses were excellent, firm but not hard. The room had a minifridge, which happily was empty. We personally don't want a fridge prestocked with overpriced beer and munchies, we prefer to buy food our own food. The bathroom had a hairdryer with a built-in US power outlet and a big shower stall. Our room had the toilet in a separate room.

Our room had three floor-to-ceiling windows that opened onto the intersection in front of the train station. We had the windows open during the day, and we loved the bustle and activity, and when the windows were shut, most of the noise was gone. By nighttime, when the traffic died down and the sidewalks were less busy, the room was quiet. My husband, who is a light sleeper, slept very soundly.

This is not a posh, overtly fancy hotel. It is a stylish, comfortable and very clean hotel. I'd equate it with some Manhattan hotels we've stayed in, The Hilton in Times Square and the Affinia-50, but with bigger rooms.

We had two ipads with us, and we were able to get both on the hotel's free WIFI. Some reviews we read said they could only get one device on, but both of ours worked at the same time.

The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly.
We did not have breakfast at the hotel, only because we met family at a local patisserie, but it looked very good.

We were very happy with this hotel and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imchauncy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.1 mi away
Austin's Saint Lazare Hotel
Austin's Saint Lazare Hotel
#947 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phileas Hotel
Phileas Hotel
#369 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Ouest Hotel
L'Ouest Hotel
#750 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Londres et New York Hotel
Londres et New York Hotel
#855 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Timhotel Opera Madeleine
Timhotel Opera Madeleine
#1,018 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Paris Opera Garnier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hotel de Normandie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel de Normandie

Property: Le Grand Hotel de Normandie
Address: 4 Rue d Amsterdam | OPERA - Gare Saint-Lazare, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#379 Family Hotel in Paris
#386 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#399 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#410 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Grand Hotel de Normandie 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a new hotel located in the center of Paris, close to the Opera and the famous Galeries La Fayette, and in front of the train station Saint Lazare. We have 53 rooms, and handicap access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Grand Hotel de Normandie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing