We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in Opera Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Grand Hotel de Normandie
Ranked #860 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
“Excellent Hotel in Opera Paris”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel twice and as long as I choose to stay in Opera district, this will remain my hotel of choice in Paris.This hotel might be small but it is new, clean, chic, great value-for-money and strategically located in one of my favorite districts in Paris. Above all, Mr Gal Stern, the hotel manager / Director is an exemplary service personnel and a delight. This is one of my favorite hotels in Paris. If you are looking for a great hotel at reasonable price in a prime area in Paris, look no further.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLautan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    190
    53
    20
    9
See reviews for
94
152
38
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I was unbelievably happy with my stay last month at this hotel. The hotel manager Guy really went above an beyond to make my stay comfortable. Even though I had booked my reservation on hotels.com and had neglected to tell anyone that this was an engagement trip, Guy took it upon himself to upgrade our room to a 6th floor accommodation with 2 terraces overlooking the eiffel tower, in addition to a few treats which were left in my room.

That being said, even without the amazing upgrade, the hotel was pretty great. Everything was clean and the rooms were fun and well sized by European standards. The location was great because the hotel is located right across from the St Lazare train station, which is easy to get anywhere to the city from, including the airport. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the Opera and the Grand Boulevard, and a 20 minute walk to the Siene and Tuileries gardens.

Breakfast wasn't included, but was delicious and reasonably priced for a continental style meal.

cons - wouldnt say this is a super family friendly hotel; no concierge but the desk staff was friendly and helpful when we needed advice, towel warmers were not super effective (i realize i'm stretching here, but there wasnt much negative to say ;-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Place :


Very Well located
Near the best shopping places in Paris. (Like the Galerie Lafayette, And *Les Champs Élysée* romantic place haha!!! )
Very convenient for tourism in Paris ( near all the Famous attractions like the Eiffel tower, museums, And many many things )!!!
Métro station just 2 min ( Walk )

You can find near all kind of food restaurants ( from normal to luxury restaurants )

Hôtel :

New hôtel *** stars very confortable
Staff : just need to ask! Then are very caring And help you ( for exemple to find some place )
Breakfast : with many different choices.
Internet wifi on m'y room : fast ( also available on reception )

Room : quite big , clean, And new.
Coverlet : have a feeling to be at home... You Will love

Ohhh yess , i forgot the priceeeee!
You Will Check on internet, that the price is very competitive when you compare the others if you heed the place , confort And service...

I came with my husband and we Will Back for Christmas hahaaaaaaaa, hope to find availabilities

SO, YES WE CAN!!!
( hope this comment to be useful for all!!! )

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xiang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I am not sure why they call this the Le Grand Hotel de Normandie. I get the Normandie part, but the Grande is a bit overboard. Nothing about the hotel is Grande. Tiny room, tiny bed, tiny soap, tiny shower..But then again, the price was pretty reasonable, so one should not expect too much Grande. And there can be no denying that this is not a convenient location, sitting right across from the train/metro station of Saint-Lazare. The picture of the hotel building is completely misleading, by the way. On the plus side...there is the good location and affordable price, so if you don't expect too much in a 3 star hotel in Paris, this may fit your needs. I have been told by friends that three star hotels in Paris can be pretty ratty. This one is surely NOT 'ratty' and has the benefit of being newly refurbished, with nice linens (tiny!) and curtains, a decent bathroom (tiny shower and stingy toileteries) and decent bed (t.). The staff was very helpful and friendly. However, on the morning of my departure, I was given vague and wrong directions to the CDG airport bus stop, and that was troublesome to say the least.
Just an aside, but an important one....I saw several tourists being assaulted by groups of gypsy women at the Opera, which is about 10 minutes from the hotel. Please be careful!

Room Tip: Ask for a big room...I suspect those facing the street may be noisy, as I could hear trains even tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupertpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Ideally located, the hotel is next everything:

- 1minute walk from the metro door

- 5minutes walk from Opera/Auber/Saint Lazare Station

- 5minutes walk from department stores (Galeries Lafayette)

- 10minutes walk from “place de la concorde”

- 2minutes from supermarkets (food & other primary necessary)

Basicaly! In the center of Paris & everything!


i've been in Paris several times, and in various hotel...i noticed that for a 3 stars our room was bigger than usually. Our room was on the 6th floor and we had a direct view on the top of Paris and even the Eiffel tower!

Small fridge to put drink and food and safe book are available for free in the room!

The hotel is totally new and we really feel it! I think it’s the only one in that case…


The breakfast is gorgeous! Continental!Tropicana juice, tea, coffee…french baguette, cheeses, eggs… and the most: The hotel warms its owns vennioseries (croissant, "pain o chocola"…) so you have a delicious smell starting in the morning when coming to have a breakfast.

I can’t finish without writting a special thanks for all the hotel staff. All of them are very welcoming and helpfull whatever the day of the night receptionist! Good advices regarding nice locations to visit, restaurant, and information about Paris.

Also a big thx for the cleaning time that are only guys!!! Now i can confirm than man cares about your room better than women’s do!!!

The hotel has also daily shuttle for the airport (very useful)


My advice: book directly on the website cause you’ll be sure to have the best rate

http://www.grand-hotel-de-normandie.com/


As terminator would have say, "i’ll be back" in the Grand Hotel de Normandie!!!!

Room Tip: Room 604: direct view on the top of Paris and even the Eiffel tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Super close to Metro and RER station. Easy to reach there with serveral lines option.
A fast food shop just nearby that safed me from hunger during my late night check in.
I got double balcony which can see the top of eiffel tower.
Improvements: Staff could be more friendly,
Perfect if offering slippers.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Phileas Hotel
#474 of 1,801 in Paris
270 reviews
Timhotel Opera Madeleine
#1,050 of 1,801 in Paris
677 reviews
Austin's Saint Lazare Hotel
#934 of 1,801 in Paris
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Londres et New York Hotel
Londres et New York Hotel
#907 of 1,801 in Paris
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hotel de Normandie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel de Normandie

Property: Le Grand Hotel de Normandie
Address: 4 Rue d Amsterdam | OPERA - Gare Saint-Lazare, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#378 Family Hotel in Paris
#385 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#410 Business Hotel in Paris
#417 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Grand Hotel de Normandie 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a new hotel located in the center of Paris, close to the Opera and the famous Galeries La Fayette, and in front of the train station Saint Lazare. We have 53 rooms, and handicap access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Grand Hotel de Normandie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing