We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely unknown attraction in Paris”

Musee des Arts Forains
Ranked #42 of 1,132 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Pavillons de Bercy-Musée des Arts Forains house one of the largest collections of entertainment and fairground art's objects. They are located in ancient wine warehouses built by a Gustave Eiffel apprentice in the end of the 19th century. Discover the site and its four venues: Théatre du Merveilleux (Thetre of Marvels), Salons Vénitiens (Venetian Rooms), Théâtre de Verdure (Vegetal outdoor area) and the Musée des Arts Forains (Museum àof Fairground Art), all displayed with themes such as Cabinet of curiosities, Venetian carnival, Extraordinary gardens and funfairs of the Belle Epoque (End of the 19th century). This private museum is opende throughout the year, only by apointement in order to experiment the spirit of the place in a lively and participative tour. The guides takes the visitor on an out of time journey, enables them to ride carousels and listen to an automaton show. The Pavillons de Bercy are opened to visit throughout the year only by appointment. And exceptionnally without booking twice a year during the European Heritage Days and Festival du Merveilleux. All the venues can also be rented for private events.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely unknown attraction in Paris”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I found out about Musée des Arts Forains from a blog and just had to visit!

Our friends who live near Paris had never heard of this place. We did the tour and it was just a fabulous, magical trip into the past.

Although the tour guide was a bit, um... over the top (think Southwest flight attendant/theater student, etc...) our friends and my wife & I enjoyed it very much!

Amazing old fairgrounds and carnival items, including the merry-go-round from "Midnight In Paris"!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeandMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    606
    225
    29
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I took a group of students on a Summer Study program here and we absolutely loved it. The guide was enthusiastic and full of information. We really enjoyed trying out the games and rides. It was a really magical experience altogether. A new favourite in Paris!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gillian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcoussis
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very cool and off the beaten tracks”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

In about two hours you go throuh the Venitian Lounges, the Marvelous Theater and you finish with rhe Fairground museum. Its a magic world with amazing carousels and sceneries; you can go on some carousels and attend a waiter's race.
You need to book in advance either by phone 01 43 40 16 15 or by mail and you will join a group of about 40 people. It will cost you 16€ /person and its definitely worth it.

When you have finished you can go to local pubs or restaurants located in the former Halle aux Vins in which the museum is located; nice park (Bercy) also to wander at about 200m from the museum

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoelLeclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Read it was in French only but the rides would be fun so a good one for kids. When we got there we found that the bubbly guide was American. We were a group of 2 adults and 4 kids and the whole group was about 25 well- behaved French.
The place is fascinating and the 4 or 5 rides were fun, but....
The guide spoke for an hour and a half in French only - she knew we only knew English and towards the end she finally approached us and asked if we were loving it? I told her she had ignored us completely and the kids were bored in such a magical space. She wasn't too concerned but when the tour had finished she gave us a brief 10 minute summary. Shame- with just a few words here and there we could have enjoyed it with the rest. Potentially a fun place and quirky but you need an understanding guide which we didn't have.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Museeartsforains, L'équipe at Musee des Arts Forains, responded to this review, October 27, 2015
Dear Ellymike,
We are very sorry to hear about your disappointment,
Unfortunately our tours are mostly in French and it is difficult for our guides to give a tour simultaneously in French and English switching from one language to another. This is why the guide politely preferred to give you a brief summary at the end.
We have now tried to improve the tour experience for non-French speakers by providing an English handout to help you follow the guide’s explanations.

We apologize for the inconvenience,
Le Musée des Arts Forains
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Must experience!!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

What an amazing place. Truly stunning. It's home to tonnes of vintage carnival rides and decorations! The tour is in French but you really don't feel too out of place. The man that have us the tour did accommodate us as English people but we were the only English in the group! Seems to be a place that predominantly French people visit!
You have to book a tour in advance and the nearest tram stop is BERCY. It's about a 15 min walk from the station so leave plenty of time! It is probably worth getting a taxi as its easy to get lost. From the station there are lots of restaraunts nearby that are much cheaper than the centre of Paris so it is worth on stocking up or eating there.

Overall one of the most magical places I've been in a while!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee des Arts Forains also viewed

 

Been to Musee des Arts Forains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing