We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great area”
Review of Hotel le Senat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel le Senat
Ranked #479 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Kenpasadena
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great area”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Three factors in Hotel le Senat's favor: Close to RER stop, quiet area, close to heart of Paris. The hotel itself is very nice, comfortable and large rooms (for Paris). I enjoyed running in Luxembourg gardens - which even in November was crowded with other runners. Walked to all the major sites - Louvre, St. Germaine and D'orsay, very close to Ille St. Louis and Marais. Staff was very acoomodating and friendly. I will put it high on my list for a return visit to Paris.

Room Tip: Good choice for runners and joggers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenpasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senat01, Directeur général at Hotel le Senat, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment posted on Tripadvisor.
Please be sure that we will be sure to share your positive feedback with all of the team.
Your comment is very appreciated.
Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again

S.Peccatte
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    255
    60
    10
    5
See reviews for
100
332
34
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Novo Sancti Petri, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My family loved this hotel is quiet, comfortable, away from the noise. Very beautiful setting, greens, a very positive atmosphere and beautiful interior. In walking distance of the park Luxembourg. We have a very friendly and warmly welcomed, wonderful staff polite.

Room Tip: If you are tired of the hustle and bustle, I recommend staying at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tatiana904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senat01, Directeur général at Hotel le Senat, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guets,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to read that you like the location of our hotel, and also the staff and our atmosphere.
We are looking forward to welcoming you in a near future.
Best regards

S.Peccatte
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed for two nights in December. Greet service before, during and after the stay. Requested a room overlooking the street with a view and they informed me they would do their best but only had one in our category. Unfortunately it wasn't available so the view was of the not very inspiring courtyard. However the room was furnished as per all the pictures so can't complain too much. Lovely location too. Would return.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuffyTy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senat01, Directeur général at Hotel le Senat, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you writing a so positive review about Hotel Le Senat.
Each positive comment is a great pleasure for all the staff.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.
Sincerely Yours

S.Peccatte
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Our travel agent suggested this hotel as she stated the location would be very good for us. She was not wrong. Located in the left bank about a block from the Luxembourg Garden, and easy walking to many other attractions as well. This is a small boutique hotel. Nice decor throughout. Our room was a bit on the small size but not too tiny either. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom modern. The lobby area has a nice sitting area where you can also pour yourself a drink at the "honesty" bar, just note on a card what your served yourself, what room you are in and drop it at the front desk. The elevator is very small and a bit slow. We often took the stairs instead which we had no problem with. They serve breakfast every morning in a room that although is in the basement, feels nice and adequate for morning meal. The food was nothing super great, scrambeled eggs, bacon, sausage, meats and cheeses, yogurt etc. along with different breads. This worked well for us as I am one who must have an early moring meal and my boyfriend does not care so while he got ready I had some coffee and eggs. The hotel was also near other nice restaurants and bars. After traveling around the city to many of the main attractions I really must say this was in a perfect location. I would stay here again and would recommend to anyone I knew who would be going to Paris.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seattlegirl720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senat01, Directeur général at Hotel le Senat, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you writing a positive review about Hotel Le Senat.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.
Sincerely Yours

S.Peccatte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This hotel was offered me as a replacement.
Location is great.
Interior is very old stylish.
As soon as I entered the hotel a bad smelling was noticed.
Room size was ok, but seen I was send here by Hotel Relais St Jaques, I was very disappointed in the interior.
breakfast is not worthwhile to spend the Euro 17 on it.
Staff was friendly.
Can do with a serious refurbishment

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiger62Antwerpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senat01, Directeur général at Hotel le Senat, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Sir,


Thank you for taking the time to post your comment regarding your stay with us.

About renovation, Hotel Le Senat has been entirely renovated in 2012 but like we have a high level of occupation, more than 90 % we have to do some maintenance work. But for some, it is difficult in high season, we are now in low season and we will work on some painting works for example.

About our standard's level, we don't decide by ourself about rating's star. Only french Ministry of Tourism decides and you have to success about 246 standards. I give you the link ( sorry it is written in french ) if you would like to check :

http://www.legifrance.gouv.fr/affichTexte.do?cidTexte=JORFTEXT000021530180


We hope to see you back in Hotel Le Senat.

Sincerely Yours

S. Peccatte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This trip was our first to Paris. Le Senat was recommended by our travel agent due to its convenient location and safety of the area. It is a small boutique hotel that has been renovated in recent times [1-2 years?] and is in excellent condition thoughout. We had an entry level room [i.e. Superior] on the third floor which was smallish but had a 2 seater couch and desk & chair. Our window looked over a small court yard [way below] and some other buildings. This was a quiet environment and we could leave our window open overnight if we wanted. As Rue de Vaugirard is very quiet in this location you could probably even leave a window open if you had a room at the front.
The breakfast room was rather small but adequate and the food was just fine. The Lounge/Bar with honesty bar and coffee works well.
All requests made of staff were quickly and efficiently dealt with. [eg glasses, cork screw, travel/tourist advice etc]
We would certainly return on our next visit to Paris.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We arrived at Hotel Le Senat and were shown to our room at the top of the building. The 6th floor area had a strange aroma of air freshener and damp carpets.
In our room, the toilet was not en-suite, but down a flight of stairs. Not very practical during the night time!
There was also an incessant droning noise of an external rooftop air conditioner which made staying in the bedroom impossible. I was advised by reception that the noise would stop at 8.30pm. Fortunately I didn't want an afternoon rest!

We returned to our room at around 7.00pm when we noticed that the smell of what seemed to be wet carpets had got a bit stronger. We went out for dinner, returning at around 10.00pm. We now realised that the smell was not wet carpets, but that of open drains, or sewer smells which had become quite overpowering. I explained what we had encountered to reception and we were given another room.
The night time porter appeared to be on his own, so I had to move all the luggage, suitcases, hand luggage etc by myself, down the narrow flight of stairs in the room and through the two doors.

Even in this new room, there was still a feint odour of sewers, but we had no other options available so made the best of it.

On checking out the following morning I was presented with a bill for over 400 Euro's.

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jethro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#386 of 1,801 in Paris
568 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#103 of 1,801 in Paris
371 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#102 of 1,801 in Paris
1,076 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Villa Madame
Villa Madame
#106 of 1,801 in Paris
649 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Senat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Senat

Property: Hotel le Senat
Address: 10 rue de Vaugirard, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#257 Business Hotel in Paris
#263 Family Hotel in Paris
#292 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#327 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Senat 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Le Senat in hotel Paris is an elegant hotel for those with exquisite taste. Our hotel is located in central Saint Germain, on the leftbank ( rive gauche) close to the Seine river, a hotel in the Latin Quarter, close to the breathtaking jardin du Luxembourg. A central paris hotel, in the most romantic region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel le Senat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Senat Hotel
Le Senat Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing