We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be 3 stars”
Review of Hotel le Senat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel le Senat
Ranked #626 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This hotel was offered me as a replacement.
Location is great.
Interior is very old stylish.
As soon as I entered the hotel a bad smelling was noticed.
Room size was ok, but seen I was send here by Hotel Relais St Jaques, I was very disappointed in the interior.
breakfast is not worthwhile to spend the Euro 17 on it.
Staff was friendly.
Can do with a serious refurbishment

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiger62Antwerpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senat01, Directeur général at Hotel le Senat, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Sir,


Thank you for taking the time to post your comment regarding your stay with us.

About renovation, Hotel Le Senat has been entirely renovated in 2012 but like we have a high level of occupation, more than 90 % we have to do some maintenance work. But for some, it is difficult in high season, we are now in low season and we will work on some painting works for example.

About our standard's level, we don't decide by ourself about rating's star. Only french Ministry of Tourism decides and you have to success about 246 standards. I give you the link ( sorry it is written in french ) if you would like to check :

http://www.legifrance.gouv.fr/affichTexte.do?cidTexte=JORFTEXT000021530180


We hope to see you back in Hotel Le Senat.

Sincerely Yours

S. Peccatte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 657 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

This trip was our first to Paris. Le Senat was recommended by our travel agent due to its convenient location and safety of the area. It is a small boutique hotel that has been renovated in recent times [1-2 years?] and is in excellent condition thoughout. We had an entry level room [i.e. Superior] on the third floor which was smallish but had a 2 seater couch and desk & chair. Our window looked over a small court yard [way below] and some other buildings. This was a quiet environment and we could leave our window open overnight if we wanted. As Rue de Vaugirard is very quiet in this location you could probably even leave a window open if you had a room at the front.
The breakfast room was rather small but adequate and the food was just fine. The Lounge/Bar with honesty bar and coffee works well.
All requests made of staff were quickly and efficiently dealt with. [eg glasses, cork screw, travel/tourist advice etc]
We would certainly return on our next visit to Paris.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We arrived at Hotel Le Senat and were shown to our room at the top of the building. The 6th floor area had a strange aroma of air freshener and damp carpets.
In our room, the toilet was not en-suite, but down a flight of stairs. Not very practical during the night time!
There was also an incessant droning noise of an external rooftop air conditioner which made staying in the bedroom impossible. I was advised by reception that the noise would stop at 8.30pm. Fortunately I didn't want an afternoon rest!

We returned to our room at around 7.00pm when we noticed that the smell of what seemed to be wet carpets had got a bit stronger. We went out for dinner, returning at around 10.00pm. We now realised that the smell was not wet carpets, but that of open drains, or sewer smells which had become quite overpowering. I explained what we had encountered to reception and we were given another room.
The night time porter appeared to be on his own, so I had to move all the luggage, suitcases, hand luggage etc by myself, down the narrow flight of stairs in the room and through the two doors.

Even in this new room, there was still a feint odour of sewers, but we had no other options available so made the best of it.

On checking out the following morning I was presented with a bill for over 400 Euro's.

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jethro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 25th anniversary in Paris, and stayed here on the recommendation of our travel agent. Fabulous location (easy walk to Notre Dame and local train station, just a few feet from the Luxembourg Gardens) and a wonderful staff. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collins C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We arrived at Le Senat on the recommendation of close friends for a quick 2 night stopover en route back to Australia. We received a very warm welcome at this gorgeous boutique hotel and were accommodated in a lovely roomy (we were pleasantly surprised) suite on the 6th floor. Such a romantic hotel and the view from our suite overlooked the rooftops of the Latin Quarter.

The hotel has a wonderful sitting room that is stylishly furnished and cosy for a pre-dinner aperitivo (honesty bar), late night drink which also doubles for express breakfasts in the mornings at € 7. There is another larger area and if weather permits a small courtyard.

The staff (who couldn't do enough for us) recommended excellent dinner locations in close proximity to the hotel (note Parisians eat late).We made an early reservation at Le Chillout, a 1 minute walk. Sadly, it was the last night as this establishment, the owner was very helpful and went to great lengths to make us welcome and speak English with us as we had little French, don't fear as it is opening under a new name in 3 weeks. The second night we ate at la Bouillon on Racine. A more authentic French styled restaurant fitted out with a gorgeous art nouveau mirrored interior. Great food and a little more expensive and a little less English, which made it a little more challenging. This place was very popular with the locals and had a really upbeat vibe.

On the recommendation of a French national we met in Rome who told us to walk around Paris if the weather was fine, we spent our first day on foot. It was easy to navigate - once orientated to and from the hotel. The Metro was close-by and a short walk to pick up a Batobus on the Seine (relaxing, easy and cheap way to see all the sights). Le Senat is in such a great location and so good - when we visit Paris again we intend to stay here for at least a week (they have special rates).

Byron Bay VIP Travel recommends this hotel

Authors Mary Mac & Anthony M. Byron VIP Travel Writers

Room Tip: We enjoyed the view over the rooftops from the 6th Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ByronVIPTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Recently returned from weekend in Paris where we stayed at Le Senat, a well positioned, small, efficiently run hotel on the Left Bank. The staff are friendly and eager to help. The rooms are small but comfortable. We stayed in a suite on the 6th floor which had a sofa bed (used by our 10 year old son) and a glimpse of Notre Dame. The breakfast was delicious. Metro/RER stations are very close by. There are plenty of cafes and restaurants near the hotel, the restaurant next door is excellent. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again on future trips to Paris.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have stayed at the Senat many times when my husband was in France on business and separately as vacationers. We enjoy the friendly atmosphere. The property is very cozy, as are the rooms. The service is fine: there are very few people on staff, but they do all they can to help with restaurant reservations, umbrellas, tableware (we like to do picnic lunch), and general advice on where to go and what to do. The location, if you enjoy the left bank ambience, couldn't be better; steps from Luxembourg Gardens, the Senate, Blvd St Germain and Blvd St Michele. There are restaurants galore in the neighborhood and many of them are quite good (see my review of Le Maison du Jardin). The hotel is not glamorous, but it has recently received its 4th star which is a great sign that it continues to improve. We would not stay anywhere else in Paris.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the street get more air and light. There is little noise on Rue Vaugirard, so facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marji H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#96 of 1,804 in Paris
412 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#427 of 1,804 in Paris
597 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Louis 2
Hotel Louis 2
#698 of 1,804 in Paris
445 reviews
Quartier Latin
Le Lapin Blanc
Le Lapin Blanc
#39 of 1,804 in Paris
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Senat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Senat

Address: 10 rue de Vaugirard, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#256 Business Hotel in Paris
#326 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#353 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $149 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Senat 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Le Senat in hotel Paris is an elegant hotel for those with exquisite taste. Our hotel is located in central Saint Germain, on the leftbank ( rive gauche) close to the Seine river, a hotel in the Latin Quarter, close to the breathtaking jardin du Luxembourg. A central paris hotel, in the most romantic region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel le Senat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Senat Hotel
Le Senat Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing