We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid 4-star hotel with some quirks”
Review of Hotel le Senat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel le Senat
Ranked #458 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Solid 4-star hotel with some quirks”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I picked Le Senat for our 3 day trip to Paris based on the positive Trip Advisor reviews as well as the location. Having both been to Paris several times, we love to stay in the Saint Germain area on the left bank. We booked a deluxe room and requested a balcony (which we got - always nice since it's not guaranteed). As a general rule, we like to book a slightly upgraded room when we travel so as not to get the lowest room class in any hotel, which I would recommend doing here. Obviously you should expect small hotel rooms in Paris though which was another reason for our upgrade.

Pros:
Location
Nice modern design/feel and furnishings
Decent room size (deluxe room)
Quiet - our room was internal and we heard no street noise

Cons:
Bathroom - no space for toiletries which I hate! Also, terrible lighting and no magnifying mirror. I found it very difficult to put my makeup on and my husband had a very hard time shaving - bouncing between the room mirror by the bed (where you can at least get up close, but is still dark) and the one in the bathroom (which you can't get as close to).

Shower - while I have come to expect the half-glass door thing in showers in France, it still is frustrating to not be able to avoid flooding your bathroom floor. But more annoying is that the shower head would not stay in the right position so I had to resort to holding it by hand the whole time which is a pain & not relaxing.

Closet space - very limited for 2 people. No drawers (only shelves) and very limited hanging space.

Things that did not bother me, but may bother you:
Room size (deluxe room was ok for 2 people)
Very small elevator and narrow hallways in hotel
Service - we found the staff mixed levels of friendliness and helpfulness. Did not offer to help with bags, did not smile, bare minimum level of service & cordiality.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room for a little more space and ask for interior facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sibroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    254
    59
    10
    5
See reviews for
100
330
34
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed with our baby early March. Rooms were fairly big (compare to other hotels in Paris). Our room had very comfortable kings size bed. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Location is great. We are definitely going to recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoav m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ANGELES
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Booked Le Senat at the Tourist Information desk at CDG after a delayed/cancelled flight. Was familiar with Paris and needed a hotel near the RER for arrival/departure to airport. At check-in, about 10pm. was greeted by two polite gentleman at the front desk. One of them assisted us in making necessary phone calls. Recommended a great french restaurant next door to the hotel. A small grocery store across the street had tooth paste and tooth brushes. Happy they were open at that hour of the night! Also a Bank Paribas ATM was across the street. Our room was small, but to be expected in Paris. The room was very clean with white crisp sheets! Bathroom was adequate with a nice shower/tub combination and complimentary L'Occtaine (sp) shampoo/conditioner & lotion. Breakfast was very good with Pan de Chocolat and other breads/cereal, yogurt, eggs, assortment of meats etc. We were pleased to find out the Marc Chagall temporary exhibit was across the street at the Jardin de Luxembourg. We were there before 10am and very few people were lined up. Decided to go to the Monoprix in the area to buy a few essential items and then returned to find a line with about a 10-15 minute wait. Checked out of the hotel and off to the airport! If we are fortunate enough to return to Paris, this is the hotel we would stay at!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOOKFORWARDTOTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

If you like Paris - than the Senat hotel near the Luxembourg garden is an excellant choice, the hotel is nicely furnished, the beddings are exquisite, and eventhough the room is abit small, you don't really feel it. the bathroom is modern, and on the whole this is my paris Hotel!

Room Tip: rooms facing the street can be a little bit just a little noisy but there is adouble glazing if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluesea31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We only had two days at the end of our trip in Paris. We chose Hotel le Senat and couldn't have been happier with our choice. The staff were very accommodating, they couldn't do enough to help us and ensure that we wanted for nothing whilst we were there. The rooms were new and modern and the terrace had a lovely view of Sacre Coeur in the distance. We were within a few minutes walk to St Germain des Pres, the metro and lots of restaurants. I can't recommend this property enough, it is such a delightful change to larger hotels and has all you could ask for and more. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get one of the suites, it was definitely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
156 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at a small duplex (room 602) for 3 nights in February. We originally booked a superior room. We looked at the superior room and found it very small so we requested to move to a bigger room. Fortunately, they still had a small duplex available with a supplement of only 40 Euro per night so we took it.

The small duplex was much more spacious than the superior room that we saw and it was quite well equipped. It was relaxing to go back to the room after a whole day out. The room was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. We slept very well all the 3 nights.

The location of the hotel is nice. It is just a few steps away from the Luxembourg Garden and it takes less than 10 minutes to get to the Odeon metro station. If you like to walk, it is a 30-minute walk to the Notre Dame Cathedral. The area was safe and we walked back to the hotel after dinner every night.

The staff of the hotel was friendly and helpful especially Erwan who greeted us when we arrived at the hotel.

We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone who would like to stay in a quiet area. However, you should consider booking the duplex if your budget is not tight and if you have large suitcases.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidcoVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We visited Paris for the first time last week and decided to stay at this hotel due to its location, price and reviews.

Upon arriving at the hotel we were greater by very polite staff and had been upgraded complimentary to a deluxe room. The deluxe room was of good size for Paris, sofa, huge bed and very nice bathroom.

Although we didn't eat in the hotel we did order coffee to the room which was very prompt and access to the honesty bar was a nice touch.

We ate out three nights all on recommendation from the hotel staff, all meals were very good especially in the little restaurant next door (out of door turn left)

When we return to Paris we would definitely have no hesitation on returning to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonandTanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#96 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#395 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#175 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Louis 2
Hotel Louis 2
#568 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Senat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Senat

Property: Hotel le Senat
Address: 10 rue de Vaugirard, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#257 Business Hotel in Paris
#263 Family Hotel in Paris
#274 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#327 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Senat 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Le Senat in hotel Paris is an elegant hotel for those with exquisite taste. Our hotel is located in central Saint Germain, on the leftbank ( rive gauche) close to the Seine river, a hotel in the Latin Quarter, close to the breathtaking jardin du Luxembourg. A central paris hotel, in the most romantic region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel le Senat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Senat Hotel
Le Senat Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing