We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel le Senat - nice location and property”
Review of Hotel le Senat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel le Senat
Ranked #479 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hotel le Senat - nice location and property”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel was recommended to me by a friend and we were very happy with our choice. Very accommodating staff (who mostly spoke English). This small boutique type hotel was redone earlier this year. The rooms were very clean with nice furnishings and he bedding was great! The price was very reasonable. Small rooms, but you should not be spending too much time there...you're in Paris and in a fantastic neighborhood. A convenient location to wake up and cross the street to Luxembourg Gardens for a run, then stop at a bakery for croissant and coffee. I'm keeping this hotel on my list of recommend and will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhodges71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    255
    60
    10
    5
See reviews for
100
332
34
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, California, USA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was a great, VERY reasonably priced hotel in Paris in a wonderful area of town. Walking distance to all Paris attractions. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are quite small (had to rearrange to get our suitcases in at the same time - 2 people), but newly decorated - which means everything was clean and nice. The bathrooms had all new fixtures as well. It got a bit loud, but apparently we had a large party of people staying next to us. When they checked out we couldn't hear anything. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDStravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Le Senat hotel in Paris, is perfectly positioned for every traveller to Paris. It is well priced, has
friendly staff who are only too willing to help with all your needs. The rooms are not huge, but
clean and well appointed and maintained. The area is close to many good restaurants, which is
a real bonus! This was our second stay at Le Senat and we stayed with friends who were also
very pleasantly impressed with this boutique hotel. For a hotel in such a great location, it is
par tros cher, not too dear.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a small balcony view which is worth asking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, Rhode Island, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed at Le Senat for ten days in July, 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed it. My room was small but lovely and stepped out to a little terrace that I liked. Each member of the staff --from the front desk to the breakfast room to housekeeping, aimed to please, and left me smiling. The little extras in the rooms were nice, too: I liked the Hermes soaps and lotions, the super-clean feel to the room, the bottle of spring water the day I checked in, and the superb box of Ladurée macarons left for me on day two. I had booked a walking tour of the Latin Quarter the very first night I was in Paris, and this increased my appreciation for Le Senat's location, because I learned how close this hotel is to great attractions like the Luxembourg Gardens, the Cluny Museum, the Pantheon, St. Germain de Pres, the Sorbonne famous academic institutions, superb shops, restaurants, and cafes, theaters, and all the superb elements of Paris life to be savored along the Boulevards San Michele and San Germain and the charming side streets. Night life at the cafes was lively and festive, and I felt safe walking around there even late at night. One tip I would give is to try and learn the streets a bit before getting to Le Senat. I don't have the best sense of direction, and easily got lost. As far as the hotel though - all was quite wonderful - the breakfast fare was robust and delicious and the maître d' so welcoming to everyone. Staying at Le Senat made in this, my first visit to Paris, pleasingly extraordinaire.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room, not too too tiny, and with a terrace. The second morning, when housekeepi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed here three nights and enjoyed every minute of it. The desk staff were friendly and helpful, and there are two wonderful downstairs lobbies where we relaxed several times with friends, who were staying at another hotel. Because our room was so small, it was nice to have this extra space. However, despite the size, the room was comfortable, elegant, and clean. There were no problems with noise, and the AC worked great. Breakfast, while pricy, was delicious. Our one disappointment was that they did not serve cappuccino or espresso, only coffee or tea. However, there is an espresso machine in the lobby available for an additional cost.

The location of this hotel is also fantastic! We were only minutes from the Luxembourg station and Gardens in one direction, and a 10-minute walk from Boulevard St. Germain. There are two small groceries within a block of the hotel, one right across the street, and many restaurants and bars to choose from. I highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eat2prevent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Well placed for tourists to see all the sights.Looks like it was recently refurbished so rooms were good and clean.Breakfast was fine.For some reason the bar was not working but there was a very pleasant cafe within 20 metres.
Staff pleasant and helpful.Ideal hotel for a quick Paris visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank readingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on Sunday 15th and Monday 16th July 2012. On both occassions there were major problems with the 17 Euro Breakfast Service. On the Monday morning there was no electricity which led to guests having to use the torch app on I Phones to see what was on offer and then eat in total darkness, not even an apology was forthcoming!!! On the second morning I was departing the hotel at 7.30am by which time no hot food was still available, despite breakfast service being advertised from 7am. The staff were both rude and unhelpful when questioned about this. Overall an over priced, poor experience!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrisbond58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#386 of 1,801 in Paris
568 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#103 of 1,801 in Paris
371 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#102 of 1,801 in Paris
1,076 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Villa Madame
Villa Madame
#106 of 1,801 in Paris
650 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Senat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Senat

Property: Hotel le Senat
Address: 10 rue de Vaugirard, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#257 Business Hotel in Paris
#263 Family Hotel in Paris
#292 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#327 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Senat 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Le Senat in hotel Paris is an elegant hotel for those with exquisite taste. Our hotel is located in central Saint Germain, on the leftbank ( rive gauche) close to the Seine river, a hotel in the Latin Quarter, close to the breathtaking jardin du Luxembourg. A central paris hotel, in the most romantic region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel le Senat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Senat Hotel
Le Senat Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing