We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly beautifuly gardens with hundreds of rose bushes in Paris”
Review of Parc de Bagatelle

Parc de Bagatelle
Ranked #123 of 1,120 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazingly beautifuly gardens with hundreds of rose bushes in Paris”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I was taken here a couple of years ago by French family friends whom I have been visiting in Compiegne, north of Paris, for more than fifty-five years. I did not go in the chateau. I am not sure if it was even open but we spent about two hours wandering around the wonderful rose gardens. I videod many of them because they were so beautiful but the air was perfumed with the scent of so many roses. There were lots of lawns and huge trees to sit under in the shade and lakes etc. There was also a restaurant which we did not go into. However, there was another even more beautiful smaller garden laid out further away from the entrance and to sit in this peaceful garden with the scent of roses and looking at all the other plants there as an absolute joy and I can highly recommend visiting it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank excellento9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    76
    14
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
112 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lots of OPEN space and a beautiful setting for a concert”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The only thing to dislike if it matters to you is that finding a taxi is not so easy. However, if that doesnt matter to you...than what a wonderful place to spend a day, play football, attend a concert, camp...I dont know use your imagination. Whats more, you can feel nature all around you and be happy that the concrete jungle right in front of you is so near and yet so far. It will bring a smile to anyone's face.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SUTANU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
378 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“where else can you feel like if you are in Stourhead, still 20' from Arc de triomphe?”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Let's face it, Parc de Bagatelle is one of many Paris' wonders: a superbly set English garden with stunning views on La Défense' business sky skrapers in the horizon from given points, yet perspectives where you hardly see any sign of civilisation as the parc is 24 hectares big. It houses a wonderfull Marie-Antoinette "Folie" (small castle built in the matter of weeks), a pride of self assertive peacocks and patagonian geese, but above all a wonderfully set collection of roses, clematises, glycines and trees.
my only regret: the City of Paris increase every year the summer entrance fee (currently EUR6), making it an expansive "promenade" for substantial families (no discount).
At the end of the day it definitely is worth the price for people who want to discover how an English excentric could afford himself a corner of paradise at gun's shoot from the heart of paris.
A bus directly leads you there from Porte maillot's metro station (leave by Neuilly's front exit as if you leave at Paris's back exit you'll have to walk half a mile through Place de la porte maillot, a nightmare by all means).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank famille_LENIQUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely beyond words”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is the perfect place to go in the month of June when the roses are in bloom! We stayed in Paris for two weeks and this was the highlight of our visit. The only problem is not being able to find the place. People living in the area did not even know where it was! It took us several hours to finally find it but was worth it. I can't even begin to tell you how to get there. The Bois de Bologne is HUGE! You could walk for a day or more in the bois! Good luck in locating the place....seems like Neuilly was the name of the bus stop which we took to get back into Paris center.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie_M_of_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A lovely garden with a story”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

The park, situated within Bois de Boulogne, was created in 64 days, by Louis XVI brother, gaining a bet against Marie-Antoinette. It is a lovely garden, worth visiting. One warning: transportation to the park is by bus bus 43 or 244 from métro Pont de Neuilly. Do not try to walk over there, unless you are already in the Bois, or you are an athlete..

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank zevbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parc de Bagatelle also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Parc de Bagatelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing