We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a pretty awful hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Saint-Louis Saintonge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Saint-Louis Saintonge
Ranked #1,112 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is a pretty awful hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The room was small and dark (no window). It felt damp. The shower was broken in the bathroom and worst of all the wifi did not work. The room was cleaned on daily basis but the maid was very careless with my possessions which I didn't appreciate. I was very disappointed and felt deceived as this hotel is described as 3* but it is far below the mark for 3 stars.

I would never recommend this hotel to anybody and would like to warn everyone against staying there.

Room Tip: I suppose there are some rooms with windows so it might be important to request one. I made my reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FranKublik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    57
    22
    19
    46
See reviews for
11
80
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here in the weekend of 6 july 2012. The hotel rooms are not the prettiest and are a bit outdated. Ofcourse the room was small, its Paris!?

However, the room was clean and the bed was good and the shower was spacious. The Hotel is very well located in the Marais. I also did not really like that the window came out on a small corridor, where people could pass by and could come in, however this is not different in many other hotels (taken into account that not many people will have such intent, especially since it would only concern other hotel guests and not people from the street).
Overall I think that the hotel offers what you are paying for. Since I have stayed in many hotels in Paris, I would say that this does not differ from many other hotels. I you want luxury or at least a modern hotel room, prices will vary between EUR 300 and EUR 500. For EUR 112 a night you can stay in Hotel Saintonge, I would consider staying here again since its cheap and pretty much ok.

I would recommend it to other people, but please dont have high expectations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnyday99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Unfortunately My room was very small but that is acceptable in Paris, yet it also was dated, worn out and lacked privacy, I had to sleep with my window open (which was on the internal shaft/corridor and people could easily come in) since there was no cooling and although the temperature was not that hot it was boiling. the room furniture along with the bathroom were dated big time and the bed sheets had holes & the safe was broken and detached from the wall, The Plusses were the very friendly staff who are the reason why i gave it a 2* and the location which is quite central and close to the Marais. As for breakfast I cannot comment as I never have breakfasts in hotels.

Room Tip: avoid room 24, and internal rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank russellsammut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

I booked rooms at this hotel and then found the poor ratings on this site. I decided to cancel the booking based on these reviews. I cannot get anyone to cancel the booking! I went through France Hotel Guide and neither they nor the hotel respond to their emails, the "cancel booking" button on my confirmation page on the Guide's webpage does not work, and hotel employees say their is nothing they can do to cancel the booking (talked to two different employees two different times).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Having in been in Paris several times, i decided to experience staying closer to the centre of the city in the Marais district. While the location of the hotel is convenient, everything else is terrible. The room meant for two people, could barely fit in one person. It had no windows, it was dirty and unclean. mould everywhere, ceiling seemed to be caving in, the concierge was very unhelpful, free wifi (as promised on our reservation) was not available.
For the same price you can stay anywhere else in Paris and receive much more value for your money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Turi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

I would never in a million years choose to stay at the Hotel Saintonge. You couldn't pay me to stay here again. I was tricked into staying here when I arrived in Paris after 15 hours of traveling I found their sister hotel, the previously gorgeous and well-located Hotel Saint Merry, had closed and not notified me of their closure. I was directed - by a weathered paper sign on the board where the door used to be - to go to the Hotel Saintonge, the sister hotel of Hotel Saint Merry. Despite being closed and boarded up for months, Hotel Saint Merry is still accepting reservations!

My room was filthy. So filthy that I never let my socks or feet touch the floor. I wore shoes even to take the 2 steps from the bed to the bathroom. The room was small, dark, dingy and the only chair was covered in stains. With ONE electrical outlet in my room, I had to chain all of my electronic devices to recharge anything (phone, camera, laptop). There is free wifi for about 4 hours no matter how long you stay. 4 hours of internet was not enough to find another hotel. I attached photos. One window opened, but it opened onto a noisy street full of businesses, one of whom was moving in and making an obscene racket for 12 hours (except for lunchtime). No ventilation or air circulation even with the window open. Plus, the offices across the street can see directly into the rooms. I had to close the heavy curtains to change clothes.

In my first floor room, the front desk clerk could be heard loud and clear from the lobby starting at 8AM. I could also hear all the guests around me. The walls are paper-thin.

The elevator isn't big enough for one person and their luggage. The steep stairs aren't lit and are very treacherous. The security is non-existant. I won't go into security lapse details to protect other travelers, but I took as many of my valuables as I could carry with me each day. The night clerk is worthless. He was unwilling to even leave a note for the manager when I asked. Also, the maid came once in 3 days. It took me a day to find the pillows (which were in the closet, not on the bed). I always travel with my own pillowcase and this time I was darn glad I did!

The location is not technically in the Marais despite its claim. The neighborhood is a maze of tiny streets with inconvenient Metro stops and no cute cafes or shops. The streets are dark and lifeless at night. Walks from the Metro after 11PM were downright scary for a single man who is 6 feet 225 pounds.

I called a dozen hotels. I went to the front desks of another dozen. I tried to book online. I spent 3 days in Paris looking for another hotel rather than enjoying the arts and culture and food and wine. Any traveler knows you can't just get a room for that night at any hotel in Paris in mid-May. The Saint Merry/Saintonge switcheroo ruined my trip.

And, even aside from the bait-and-switch, the Hotel Saintonge is worse than any Motel 6 I've stayed in.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrij B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

I do read reviews but make a decision based on location only as i travel by business and out of the hotel 18 hours out of 24. I never have breakfast in the hotels as there are so many nice places to eat at Marais. The staff at this hotel is VERY nice and EXTREMALY friendly and they always made my days - it is VERY important to me. I stayed four nights a double bed room (room N 44) and i did enjoy my in and outs. The room was of good size, was very clean, the bed was extremely comfortable with nice pillows as well as pretty big bathroom with shower. There was a nice size wardrobe in the room as well as table and little flat TV, there is a free wifi though the booking sites say there is not. It's five minutes from Metro station filles du calvaire. The price of room was very good for this level of hotel, this district and this time of year so I do recommend it. It’s just funny to read the reviews from people expecting 5* room decoration in 3* (or even 2*). I liked my stay and have a very positive aftertaste.

Room Tip: There are no tea/coffee facilities in the room, the hairdryer is a bit weak, suggest you carry yours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Takhmina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel Jacques de Molay
Hotel Jacques de Molay
#783 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel du Vieux Saule
Hotel du Vieux Saule
#1,163 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Emile
Hotel Emile
#1,000 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel du Petit Moulin
Hotel du Petit Moulin
#367 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Le Marais
My Hotel in France le Marais by HappyCulture
Le Marais
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
#324 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint-Louis Saintonge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint-Louis Saintonge

Property: Hotel Saint-Louis Saintonge
Address: 16 Rue de Saintonge, 75003 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais , Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,112 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint-Louis Saintonge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Saint-Louis Saintonge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saintonge Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing