We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Review of hotel in Paris” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Place du Louvre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de la Place du Louvre
Ranked #381 of 1,810 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Review of hotel in Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in Paris. Having stayed in one of the big chain hotels in Paris a month before, this hotel was a nice change as it has a more homey feel to it. Staff are nice and accomodating, the location is great (literally 3 min walk from Pont Neuf Metro stn and walking distance to Chatelet Metro stn). The room which was a duplex was really nice and clean. The duplex is Picasso on the 5th floor (even has a tiny balcony) which has magnificent views of the Louvre, Rue Rivoli and overlooked Saint Germaine church. For those who like to run, nothing beats this location where you can run by the Seine (Seine across the street) all the way to Eiffel... Breakfast room is small, but nice and breakfast a bit overpriced at 15 Euro. All in all, not a cheap hotel, but would definetly recommend it for its location, staff and rooms.

Room Tip: Picasso duplex on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    177
    34
    7
    3
See reviews for
56
177
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Location Location Location...You can't beat walking out the door of the hotel and looking at the Louvre. The building is eclectic so if you're looking for a western/US style room like a Hilton, keep looking. If you're wanting to experience a European style hotel, this is a great place to try. I have another trip to Paris coming up in a few weeks and am staying here again.

I've stayed three times over the last four years for several days each visit. The staff is always helpful and professional. The rooms are all named for artists and each has it's own unique charm. If it's critical that you have a stand up shower or bathtub, make sure to request it since many rooms have only one or the other. The only room that I'm aware of that I don't want to stay in is the one on the top floor with the bathroom at the loft level, up a ladder/stairs. I have stayed in other hotels in the area and have been disappointed and keep coming back to Hotel de la Place du Louvre.

I found the hotel in the Top 10 book and have stayed once during a personal vacation and twice when visiting on business. I'm heading back to the hotel in a few weeks for a personal vacation and I'm excited they had openings that fit my schedule.

NOTE: Taxis don't always know where the hotel is so I use the Louvre or another close location for my drop off point.

The elevator is small (two people, two rolling bags) but it's part of the charm. Breakfast is good and the rooms always comfy. Keep an open mind and enjoy the neighborhood!

Room Tip: If you have a preference re: bathtub or shower, you'll need to request it. I've stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherstburg, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The first impression I have of this charming old hotel is the friendliness of the doorman and his eagerness to help. Although the foyer is small It is lovely with a large winding staircase to the side of it. The staff were very sweet and did all they could to make sure our stay was pleasant. Of all the hotels on this trip this room on the third floor was by far the most comfortable and quite large. The bed was awesome. Large windows overlooked the comedy theatre one way and a park like square with a great fountain the other way. Breakfast was delightful and had quite varied buffet. Croissants...magnifique. Location was perfect. We walked everywhere. I would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beenhereforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here. Location is fab just Ashley stroll to some sites or the metro. We found the room on 1 st floor more than serviceable. Yes they are small but bed was comfy, bathroom was clean recently refurbished and all of Paris is the same. Staff were very helpful and assisted when asked.overall very happy here and would stay again. Our room Chagall

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Madtravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This small hotel is located in a great location. We stayed one night before coming home and had room 303 (Klee) facing the courtyard with double bed, standup shower, mini fridge and small clothing closet. Nothing fancy, but the bed was comfortable and clean. However, we did not enjoy the breakfast offered at the hotel. I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: TIP: skip breakfast at the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigAlTorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, BC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My friend and I spent 4 nights here at the beginning of August. I think the location is fabulous. We stayed in room 402 (Mondrian) and the room had everything we needed; super comfortable beds and nice bedding, a mini fridge, and a great bathroom with a tub and a blow dryer. The wifi was good and the staff were helpful. I find bonjour and merci go a very long way, even if you don't know any more French than that. We did not eat at the hotel, instead preferring to get a few breckie groceries and save a few Euros, so I do not know about the food, but my friend said their coffee was good.

People have commented that the elevator is small, but that is true of many places in Europe. It is really only a concern when you you have your luggage and at that, it is no big deal.

I would not hesitate to stay here again and in fact, I probably will.

Room Tip: Room 402 has a great view of the Louvre and also a church. Great for picture taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CF-AZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Across street from Louvre with two metro stops nearby. 5 minutes from Seine with Tower views. Walk everywhere
Excellent service from several gals and guys at front desk. Breakfast downstairs at extra cost or at nearby locations. Don't expect 4 star rooms but roomy. Why waste money on expensive hotels when you can stay here. Very comfy beds.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HEC140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#80 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Louvre Bons Enfants
Hotel Louvre Bons Enfants
#644 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 580 reviews
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#427 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Britannique
Hotel Britannique
#160 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,451 reviews
Les Halles
L'Empire Paris
L'Empire Paris
#396 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
BEST WESTERN Premier Louvre Saint Honore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Place du Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Place du Louvre

Property: Hotel de la Place du Louvre
Address: 21 rue des Pretres St Germain l'Auxerrois | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #381 of 1,810 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Place du Louvre 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel de la Place du Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing