We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For an overnight stay, ideal.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Place du Louvre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Place du Louvre to your Saves list
Hotel de la Place du Louvre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 rue des Pretres St Germain l'Auxerrois | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France (Les Halles)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #423 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“For an overnight stay, ideal.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Clean, comfortable, pleasant staff, no frills, but great location for Louvre etc. Well priced and surprisingly quiet for its location. Hotel breakfast expensive but there are plenty of cafes nearby, so take a stroll.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Touringthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    170
    33
    7
    3
See reviews for
51
174
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Just came home from 6 days in Paris. All of the things other reviewers are saying are true about this hotel - room size small, location excellent, very quiet, beds very comfortable) I would like to add just a few things. My room - 503 - was kind of odd and wouldn't work for everyone. There were a dozen steps up to a loft area and bathroom - kind of treacherous narrow slats on the stairs. Inexplicably, the closet was up in the loft - as if you would make trips up and down to unpack and pack your suitcase. A weird configuration for a room. If you are up during the night, the climb to the bathroom is a little unwelcome. Also, this bathroom did not have a stand up shower and as an American, this was a little awkward. The person I traveled with had a different room on the same floor with a normal walk-in shower. Also, my room did not have a safe so if that is important to you, make sure you ask. I put my passport, etc. in my companion's safe while we were there. The internet connections from the rooms are very hit or miss. The staff was friendly, but when we were there they seemed to have some "fill in" type of staff and they couldn't always answer our questions (although they were nice). The elevator is REALLY TINY - only room for two average size people. My companion gets a little freaked in small elevators, so she ended up walking up every time. I also had to go up and down with our bags coming and going (there is no bellman). The hotel doesn't really offer any extras at all, so if you are looking for a more "hotel'y" kind of experience, this is not for you. If you just want a quiet clean place close to everything, than you will be satisfied. People mention a view of the courtyard - not sure where that would happen. I left my windows open every night, but my view was very limited as another building was right beside this one.

Room Tip: Make sure to clarify if you need a safe and also, ask if the room has a loft. That might not work f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JazzgirlWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I love this place, I always stay here when I am in Paris. The rooms are small but for a solo traveller, this is fine. The location is what I really appreciate, it is a quiet street, but being next to the Lourve makes it very convienant. With the little french door windows overlooking a courtyard, I dream that this is my own little Parisian apartment. The staff are helpful on all matters.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missycitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

It's amazing to find a hotel on a quiet street that sits practically next to the Louvre, but here it is. I stayed here two nights, March 22-23, in a larger-than-average European room with a large, sunny bathroom. I was able to get a decent rate on the hotel's website, but I wasn't traveling during a peak time either. Everything was clean, comfy, modern, and well-maintained. While the location is convenient for the Louvre and to shopping on the Rue de Rivoli, you will need to walk a bit further to get to interesting cafes and restaurants, but not more than 5-10 minutes. That said, I would stay here again. And it was great to be able to walk to Les Halles to catch to train to CDG.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ciaosole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I spent three happy days in Paris and loved staying at this hotel. It's a narrow building in a quiet street in a great area - right next to the Louvre and very close to the islands, the Marais and Les Halles. The staff were very welcoming and efficient and my double room for single occupancy was light, bright, cosy and welcoming. I saved money by choosing a room that looks out onto the rear of the hotel (a courtyard open to the sky) and it was just fine. Breakfast was beautifully presented with high quality croissants, bread, yoghurts, cereals and juices and extremely good coffee! I look forward to staying here again.
PS Tip - if there's a long queue at the Pyramid entrance to the Louvre, walk over to the Porte des Lions entrance (at the end of the part of the building nearest the river). There are usually no queues at all here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Spent 3 nights at this hotel (from 3rd to 5th April 12). Staff friendly and helpful. Free wifi and a laptop Pc for general use in the hotel foyer. Room was very clean and comfortable, and a good size for Paris. Bedding immaculately clean with lovely soft pillows. Very quiet at night. We had a pleasant view, and the Louvre was just a few yards away opposite the hotel. Ideal position for Louvre, Rue De Rivoli and the Red tourist bus 'hpo-on, hop-off' bus stop is just across the road. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiggywiggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinetops, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The location of the Hotel de la Place du Louvre is absolutely perfect! A metro entrance is just around the corner. Notre-dame is a short walk and if the Louvre were any closer you'd be sleeping with Mona Lisa by your side. Location alone is the reason to book a stay at this hotel. The rooms are very small. For one person, room size shouldn't be an issue. For two, a bit cramped. But my wife an I were out and about everyday so it really wasn't an issue. Very small elevator, better to take stairs. The hotel is outdated and needs some updating by American standards. That said, European is European. For the price, it's a good deal in Paris and it has everything you need. The help at the front desk is excellent. They will arrange private transportation, make suggestions, etc. The hotel didn't impress me by any means, but it didn't have to - the surrounding area takes care of that. I would stay there again if that's any help.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JONATHAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#61 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#488 of 1,811 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Britannique
Hotel Britannique
#151 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Louvre Bons Enfants
Hotel Louvre Bons Enfants
#661 of 1,811 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 567 reviews
Les Halles
L'Empire Paris
L'Empire Paris
#408 of 1,811 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
BEST WESTERN Premier Louvre Saint Honore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Place du Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Place du Louvre

Property: Hotel de la Place du Louvre
Address: 21 rue des Pretres St Germain l'Auxerrois | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #423 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Place du Louvre 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de la Place du Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing