We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't stay here!”
Review of Hotel Royal Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Royal Opera
Ranked #1,360 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
North Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“don't stay here!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Tiny room - I guess that's why they have a little entrance hall to leave your luggage. No air conditioning and with the extreme heat, we asked for a fan - they just laughed at us! With the windows open onto the road, the noise from the buildings across the narrow street was very loud - needless to say, no sleep for the 2 nights we were there. Only plus is the location and a lovely patisserie across the street.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else in the summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bokki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
16Massena, Directeur général at Hotel Royal Opera, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour
Nous sommes désolés que votre séjour au sein de notre hôtel n' a pas répondu à vos attendes, sur le site de l'hotel il n'est nullement indiqué que l'hôtel est climatisé ce qui devrait être réalisé pour le printemps prochain
Pour vos bagages que le hall d'entrée soit petit ne gêne en rien la possibilité de les laisser et ça depuis des années
En espérant vous accueillir lors de votre prochain séjour afin de vous montrer notre attachement a rendre chaque séjour agréable pour nos clients
Toute l'équipe se joint à moi
Bien à vous
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    81
    45
    17
    15
See reviews for
27
66
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have stayed at HRO 4 summers during the TdF. I love the entire staff, they feel like family. The hotel underwent remodeling but is still in need of the extra touches. The location could not be better. The hotel is now a 3 Star so the price is higher. I have recommended this hotel to several friends. It is within walking distance from the Roissybus stop at the Opera and 1 minute from the Madeleine metro station. This is my go to hotel in Paris.

Room Tip: Choose the back, much more quiet. No air so ask for a fan. Lower floors WiFi connects better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRPLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
16Massena, Responsable réception at Hotel Royal Opera, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Google Translation
l'équipe est très heureuse que vous ayez ressenti notre convivialité et notre envie de rendre votre séjour le plus agréable possible, en effet notre force est d'être assez petit et très familial
en effet nous avons commencé a refaire l'hôtel les parties commune sont rénovées et nous commençons les chambres durant le mois d'aout
nous espérons vous accueillir de nouveau
Virginia et toute l'equipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I planned to be 2 nights in the hotel. First night was a nightmare. I couldn't sleep at all!
Extremely hot, with no air conditioning and opening the window there was the back of a market, with lot of noise since around 5:00 am, when the market activity was starting.

So terrible that I changed to a different hotel for the second night!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esmonav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
16Massena, Directeur général at Hotel Royal Opera, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Google Translation
Madame, monsieur
il est vrai que les temperatures de ces derniers jours sont assez elevees, mais il n'est nullement note sur notre site que l'hotel est climatisé a ce jour
pour ce qui concerne le bruit des restaurants presents a l'arriere de l'hotel , nous ne pouvons helas pas intervenir dans leurs horaires d'activités
je suis sincèrement désolée de ne pas avoir su vous satisfaire et nous vous prions de bien vouloir accepter toutes nos excuses.
karine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

It's great find for its value night in the middle of Paris. The room is small, but clean with basic amenities. the staff was friendly. Location is strategic. It is near by Madeline, Gare St Lazare, Opera, and major shopping center such as Printemps and Gallerie Lafayette. It is 10 mins walk from place de la Concorde. There are plenty of restaurants nearby and a good boulangerie just across the street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
16Massena, Responsable réception at Hotel Royal Opera, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Google Translation
Toute l’équipe se joint à moi pour vous remercier d'avoir pris le temps de mettre un commentaire sur notre hotel, et vos remarques nous permettent de corriger ces petits desagrements
en esperant vous revoir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Hotel is small, the decoration is a little bit poor. Room is clear but the shower water's temperature is not stable. Reception is nice and the location is the best! We can walk to lots of place and it is safe!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pch013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This Hotel is in a good position for visit Paris, the tube station is not so far and the district is quite and rich, we travelled in two people and we realized that is really different from the website especially the management, it was really an management unacceptable! there was rude and unreliable!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller707_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Hotel is well located in the centre. This is our second time there (could have been third but last time it was not availabe). Very friendly personnel, though the room was very little and modest. It is a good hotel for tourists like us. The street is quiet during the night.
Paris is really the Capital of Love!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pentti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Massena
#1,063 of 1,800 in Paris
214 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel du Triangle d'Or
Hotel du Triangle d'Or
#316 of 1,800 in Paris
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Queen Mary
#678 of 1,800 in Paris
222 reviews
Madeleine Haussmann Hotel
#416 of 1,800 in Paris
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Opera

Property: Hotel Royal Opera
Address: 5 rue de Castellane, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,360 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Opera Hotel
Royal Opera Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing