We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good spot, worth a visit.”

Paris Flea Market - Insider's Tour
Ranked #299 of 1,098 things to do in Paris
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Paris Flea Market has more than 2,500 ‘stores,’ the world’s largest Flea-Market is a unique Paris treasure – an exhilarating, sometimes daunting, adventure land. Let us show you ‘who is there’, ‘how does it all work’, and ‘where do I find that ‘uniquely me’ object’, including:-How to make the difference between top-notch and shoddy goods-Flea-Market negotiation lessons. Paris-styleJoin our insider’s tour and make the most of the Flea Market.Like 200 000 visitors every weekend Find out why the Flea Market of Paris is a major Parisian attraction.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good spot, worth a visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Ideal way to spend a Sunday morning. Markets you hit first are a bit Gangsta! To coin an Australianism - boganish. If you want Paris souvenirs the first part of the market is the place to shop. Everything you wish to take back for presents a lot cheaper than around the usual Parisian attractions. Second part as you pass underneath the arch leads you into
more clothes type shopping then a bit further down there's a veritable Aladdins cave of all manner of antiques.
Well worth a trip on the metro, shows off the diverse nature of Parisians. Happy to have ended our trip with some interesting nick nacks to take back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
15 Thank WAPlacetostay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    16
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentic Paris Tour. Lasting memory. Kids and Parents loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Paris Flea Market is one of the best places to visit in Paris. This is one of Paris secret treasures. It's truly a wonderful tour with insight into the history of the market, it's hidden treasures, and a few negotiating tips. Most people in our tour group found something. Alex was a hugely positive and engaging tour guide. Incredibly flexible despite the challenges of wandering through a maze of antiquities.

The Flea market is divided into sections and there is no way to do the whole market on the tour. I would leave at least 2 more hours after the tour finishes to enjoy the market, stop for coffee, and just chat with the dealers.

It's already on the list to visit when we go back!

Jeff

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Very interesting hearing about the history of the market and finding the hidden gems rather than the touristy bits

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank linda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great tour for shoppers and history buffs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Our tour guide Alex was very friendly and helpful. We came as tourists interested in the history of the market and wanting the knowledge of a local to guide us through the many stalls and alleys. Many wonderful finds for serious shoppers and curious tourists alike. Learned lots about the origins of the market and how to deal with the sellers. Alex even gave us some bargaining tips! Excellent if you have the time, but wear warm clothing if you go in the winter!

Helpful?
4 Thank LilT1082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thomas was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Three sisters from Chicago wanted to go to the flea market.....we signed up with Discover Walks and Thomas met us on a gloomy Sunday morning. He was upbeat, funny and very informative. He knows antiques from his family business and knows Paris history...... His enthusiasm made the cold morning walk fun and informative. We learned what markets to avoid and how to negotiate with the dealers. We found a "nana" and negotiated a great deal on two gorgeous vintage brooches. Fascinating day spent looking at chandeliers that would fill an entire American dining room to vintage clothing and lithographs. Well worth the trip and plan to spend the day. Our advice.....ask for Thomas!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank 409Jane13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paris Flea Market - Insider's Tour also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Paris Flea Market - Insider's Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing