We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, exceptional!”
Review of Au Royal Mad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Au Royal Mad
Ranked #70 of 137 Paris B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 22, 2013

For the price you are paying, this hotel exceeds all expections. rooms are always clean and tidied every day. There's a fridge and microwave, with a supermarket 5 mins away it's really convenient and saves us huge amount of money. We stayed there for 5 nights, totally enjoyed it!

tips:
1. bring ear plugs, can be real noisy with travelers coming back late and setting off early
2. take shower as soon as you are home, to avoid having to use flooded bathrooms


The bathrooms, though are shared and not available on all floors you could choose the rooms on the same level as the bathrooms if you check in early, and they are always clean. Only problem certain inconsiderate travelers leave it flooded after their showers. But you can always use other bathrooms.

Helpful staff that allowed us to check in as early as 11am, no question asked. (we had to wait for the cleaning lady to finish cleaning our room though!)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sansanwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for Au Royal Mad
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 258 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

When I checked out from the hotel on November 19, I asked to leave my suitcase in the lobby until the evening. Then I took it back, came home and saw that my computer was not in the bag! I called to the hotel, but they said that there was no computer at all. It means that some person of the hotel staff stole the computer from my bag. Be careful with this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Neljusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I am on a trip around the world, the London to Singapore segment by train. I booked every hotel in every city based upon Trip Advisor.
Au Royal Mad Hotel is the third stop of my journey. The location is good. ½ block from the hotel is a major intersection with bars, restaurants, a food store and access to the subway. A 3.5 km walk to the Louvre, and from there you can head towards Place Concord and places beyond. I had to check Trip Advisor to remember why I selected this hotel. I had the squeakiest bed on planet earth. The circular stairwell serves as an echo chamber amplifying every step late night arrivals and early risers take on the wooden stairs. Through the night you can hear every toilet flush and in the morning, every alarm clock. I would recommend ear plugs if you are a light sleeper, a regular sleeper, or even a sound sleeper. The room has a fridge and a microwave, so if you bring a cup it is easy enough to make tea, coffee or Mr Noodles. I am traveling on a budget, so none of these complaints are enough that I would pay much more to do without them. I should add that the staff are very hospitable, accommodating and willing to help. I rode my folding bike over 100 km during the 3 days I stayed at this hotel. Walk or cycle or transit, this hotel has a good location to explore downtown Paris and even Versailles.
Previous Hotel – Melbourne House Hotel in London England, next Hotel - Comenius Hotel in Berlin, Germany.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TelegraphHarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my 5 nights at this basic but extremely affordable hotel. Located in Voltaire you are not far from all that Paris has to offer. Catch the M9 and you're 4 stops from st. Michels (Notre Dame, the Lourve etc). I had a single bedroom with shared showers. My bathroom was directly across from my room so it was extremely convenient. The fridge and microwave is a nice touch to the room and makes staying on a budget more attainable as the hotel is also around the corner from a super market. I was on the fourth floor (no elevator but the porter can assist you if need be). The staff are friendly, can speak English if need be (try and talk French if possible). Very comfortable atmosphere and very secure. The tv in the room only plays French local channels but that's kinda a good thing. You're in France! For the price you pay I wouldn't go anywhere else!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Best word to describe this place, dormitory. My wife and i felt like we were back in college. The rooms are small, beds are twin size, and there is no AC, standard for many places in Paris. The beds arn't to the softest, but they are manageable. There a shared shower and toilet for every 4 rooms, which we never had to wait for, and there are extra single toilets in the
Staircase (there are six floors, stairs only). This place is for a fairly fit clientele, and for those that like late nights.

Negatives:
Thin walls, you can hear everything in the rooms around you
No AC
Small room
Can be hard to find, look for a hotel sign in red letters
Breakfast is not included and very small.

Positives:
Very close to metro.
Cheap compared to most places in Paris

Overall, id say this establishment is a good option for those who want a cheap place to stay. Has a hostel feel to it, but all rooms are private and have locking doors.

Room Tip: 6 floors high, so request a lower level room if you have problems with stairs (no elevator)
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel is essentially a hostel with private rooms. The bathrooms are toilets that are shared by about 6 rooms per floor, and there are 2 showers for the whole hotel to use. These are situated down narrow stairs, which can be a pain when you want to use the bathrooms during the night etc.

The rooms themselves are small but mine had a fridge and a microwave, although no kettle which seemed unusual as that is the first appliance you would imagine a room would have. The main issue is that the fridge in my room was right next to the bed and so noisy during the night that I had to turn it off, even with foodstuffs inside it.

The rooms have laminate flooring and the other rooms and hallways/stairwells have nothing to block the noise, so there is a lot of noise from other guests that carries throughout the building.
The stairs are very difficult to carry suitcases up as there is no lift. However there is free wifi throughout the hotel.

The location is good, about 5-10 mins away from the nearest metro stop (Voltaire) and there is a supermarket right next to the metro stop so it is good to get water and snacks/lunch cheaper than in the centre of Paris during your daily sightseeing. There are a lot of Franco-Italian restaurants nearby which are reasonably priced, usually with an offer on a set menu. If all else fails, there is a McDonalds right in the centre.

At nighttime there are drunks who sit on the benches in a sort of bushed area near the train stop, but just walk around them, they seemed uninterested in causing bother.

I have stayed in a nicer hotel in Paris but in a rougher area, for this price nothing is perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lhobbs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel, is a very good value for money. One minute walk from voltaire train station, the area is nice there is a lot of bakery, café, pub...
The room was very clean, with a fridge and a tv, wifi and the heating. I was a bit scared of the share bathroom but it was really clean, they clean it every day and you share the bathroom just with 2 over room. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lea o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Hotel Tolbiac
Hotel Tolbiac
#1,461 of 1,804 in Paris
347 reviews
Montmartre
Le Grand Hotel de Clermont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel de Menilmontant
Hotel de Menilmontant
#93 of 137 in Paris
44 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Montmartre
Hotel Montmartre
#28 of 137 in Paris
127 reviews
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Hotel du Roussillon
Hotel du Roussillon
#34 of 137 in Paris
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Royal Mad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Royal Mad

Address: 68 rue Sedaine, 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range: $58 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Au Royal Mad 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Au Royal Mad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing