We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small concert venue”
Review of Le Divan du Monde

Le Divan du Monde
Ranked #354 of 474 Nightlife in Paris
Attraction details
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I travelled to Paris to see Wednesday 13 on the 22nd November. The venue is in the nice Montmartre area and I stayed in the Hotel Andre Gill just across the road. It's a nice small size, probably 500 or so capacity I'm guessing. There's an upstairs balcony which you can go up to if you like. The stage was big enough but the lighting that night was a bit odd and a lot of photos weren't clear (not a problem I usually have). Good sound when the bands were playing.

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank shadowed-raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

8 - 12 of 74 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

Visiting Paris ? Check out the calendar of this venue on their website - and pick the performance of your choice. There is a wide variety of acts favoring this old theater when they pass through Paris. I estimate the maximum capacity at 450 people - so a really intimate experience. Two negative issues to mention... AC does not seem to be present - so dress the part. Second: during the performance of Trixie Whitley (June 27th) the sound system picked up and amplified some mobile phone signals - disrupting the performance.

Date of experience: June 2013
1  Thank jurgenlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was a great venue in Paris the staff were so helpful from the door staff to the bar staff. The upstairs area is a great place to see a band as it is not as loud and not as crowded.

Date of experience: May 2013
Thank bazmc666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The average club inside does not justified the entrance fee, the queue and the streee/violenceof the door guys. Paris is big enough to find nicer places, even in the same district...

Thank gusarapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is where the likes of Baudelaire and Toulouse Lautrec visited in eras gone by. As a book/art lover I just had to visit since I am a book and art fan. Here, Rue Des Martyrs
9th arrondissement is a definite stop for all Indie rock/rock n roll and punk lovers - even electropop and house lovers will like this exceptionally grand club/bar. Drinks and entrance were reasonable, and the concert was great! I had seen Rona Hartner and her Romanian gypsy band. On entry, you are welcomed by a seemingly spacious lounge, where one can browse through the various upcoming gigs and concerts. The theatre/club itself is beautifully set up with fairy lights and glitter on occasion. The music isn't too loud, so one can still resume a decent conversation over drinks, and of course, the red light district isn't far away and neither is the metro. Be careful not to have too much of a good time and get to the metro station later than 1.30 am on Fridays and Sundays!

Date of experience: May 2012
Thank LisaMGrimaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Divan du Monde also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Divan du Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing